We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We originally booked the reef resort but after discovering cockroaches in our rooms late at night we went to the laguna beach resort. There the room was clean and the food was good, even though it is more oriented on the asian customers. A Highlight was snorkeling with the seaturtles. Definitely would come to that resort again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Badcall P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Well, if you are a couple wanting a nice relaxing getaway from the noise and expecting some peace and quiet by the beach with some good waiting service, this is not the establishment for you. However, if you are a group, family who wishes just to have a simple holiday with the general term Malaysians fondly call..."Its ok la..." or "It'll do..", then this is the place for you because the 3 star tagging of this establishment is about accurate. Everything in this place is beautiful if we were to close an eye and just convince ourselves that there are not many more days to go. Some of the cons were:

1. Dont expect beach/deck chairs to come with the corresponding cushion. You need to walk all the way to the pool station, get one, and bring it yourself to the poolside or a further walk away, to the beach. Reason, many were taken away by others since the beach is shared with other resorts. Many would just forego because, its ok la. But how would you lie down on a hard wood beach chair for hours just to relax and not have a pain in the butt.

2. Staffs are under trained. Only three were very helpful in my opinion. Karen (front office), Mr T (Chief Security) and Saiful Nizam (Eddy) from the pool station. Worst was Tupai Bar waiting staffs. Their looks were venomous, got a feeling that we owed them something. I am probably right to say that perhaps their frustration at other tourists made them bore a brunt to others. Most staffs do not even know what a 'Happy Hour' is. Also, when order is placed and we were at the beach, they said they cannot bring the orders to the beach because its a regulation even though the beach area is just 15 steps away (yes I counted the steps) from the serving area... and it was just a nice bucket of beer. So, no beers or pina coladas while enjoying the nice beach on the deck chairs unless you bring them there yourself. However, the staffs at the buffet area are to be given a pat on the back. Dont know how they do it or deal with rude, unkempt and wasteful tourists... Kudos!

3. Speaking of which, prices vary between the poolside bar, Tupai Bar (beach bar which only opens at 3pm) and the lobby bar. The cheapest is still Tupai Bar but with animated characters.

4. The rooms are dated. If you are not fussy and 'Its ok la"... after a generous amount of fun and sun soaking hours at the beach, snorkeling trips etc, and wishing to come back to the room for some clean wash down, then the only room that presents itself a bit better is the most expensive Laguna Suite in the establishment. The rest are quite dated and in my opinion, the washroom looks dirty. Not surprising because it hasnt been refurbished with the times for the last 12 years. The shower and toilets are separated and the space is actually quite small. Too restricted for my liking but if you are not fussy, then its good. The room part is good but not the washrooms.

5. Food. *sigh*.... they tried their best. There are plenty of options to be honest, but the quality doesnt seem to be there. Carving stations are meant to be highlight in some places, but this one is to be forgotten. Not unless you apply more sauce to the meat and close one eye.... then it'll do, if not, the meat seems to be leftovers from previous days and reheated. Tough as hell. The buffet spread is good but not the quality. Stayed there for 3 nights and breakfast was mundane and the same for those 3 days. Lunch and dinner was a bit better with variants but it lacked the quality. The local Nasi Dagang served was pathetic by all means which should have been the highlight. Vegetarian options are available in a separate menu (since my wife is a Vegetarian).

6. This establishment caters for the masses most especially tourists from the mainland (amongst others)) and that speaks volume for those who are looking for a nice quality, peace and quiet time by the beach. No malice here. There are locals too but again, the emphasis is on a quiet day by the beach and this is everything else but.

7. Tractors traversing back and forth the beach ferrying hordes of tourists to other resorts is also an annoyance but theres nothing much to be done there since the beachfront is shared.

8. Snorkeling trips as part of the package is a disaster and a safety concern for me when you have 3-4 boats ferrying about 150+ people jumping into the open waters (and some struggling to come up including very senior citizens) is a cause for concern. What more when there's traffic with some people holding up (first timers remaining at the deck and taking almost 15 minutes to go down the open sea) and there's only 1 hour to snorkel. Again, there's always a paid option to snorkel or dive in small private tours but thats really not the point. You want to be able to snorkel in comfort and not worry or wonder about the rest which looked like a scene from the sinking Titanic.

9. There's no porter service. Bags are brought from the lobby to the room by yourself. But who are we kidding? As said, this is a 3 star establishment for the masses.

10. That goes without saying too....there's no Room Service. If you are hungry by 12am... you need to sort it out by yourself.

The cons were: Free snorkeling right at the beach front with lots of fishes, bleached/healthy corals and baby sharks, and the beach was pristine white sand!


Prices are a bit steep actually if you ask me. With no proper refurbishment over the last 12 years done to the rooms, inept waiting service at the bar,... lack thereof either here or there... it really depends on what you are looking for. If you have been to a properly facilitated, butler/porter service oriented establishments, then this is not for you. However, if you are going there for the marine life, beach and for a bit of fun, then yes.

Room Tip: If you are a bit picky on hygiene, the Laguna Suites is probably the best there is. Others in my opi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank RayC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and what a lovely resort it is. Was a bit apprehensive when we arrived due to the fact that it felt like a cattle market, simply due to the number of people arriving at the same time. That said check-in was very efficient and our room was ready just after lunch. We stayed on the FB package and the buffet meals were of a good standard, with plenty of choice too. The beach area is lovely, and the water was very clear. A huge swimming pool too if you prefer, the hotel is generally quiet when the snorkelling trips are out which is twice a day. So if relaxing by the pool is your thing then it's quiet up until mid afternoon. Would definitely recommend staying here and we'll certainly return too.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank JAMSTERLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Overall, it is a good resort, more for family & friends since it is large & crowded, not very suitable if you are looking for romantic & private /quiet place. The beach is beautiful and they have very good dive shop with big boat & all equipments. The food is a bit boring as it is almost the same for 3 days we were there.

Cons - the bathroom is too small and in old style.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The hotel is nice and the rooms large but be sure you do not have a room overlooking the swimming pool (so noisy) or facing the small restaurant at the left hand side of the hotel (with your back to the beach)
as to the food: very large breakfast, "all you can eat" dinner with great variety of options, a nice beach bar and lunch restaurant
If only they had an adequate number of deckchairs and beach umbrellas! You have to wake up early to get one!
Long beach, where the resort is placed, hosts a very large number of resorts that are not of a very high standard; consequently the beach is really crowded by very noisy people.
If you are a diver I would suggest to chose another island since Redang does not offer great diving sites.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the forest and definitively not a pool room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacicalamaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
2.6 km away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,333 reviews
3.8 km away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Pulau Redang
165 reviews
0.6 km away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Redang Derimba
Redang Derimba
#5 of 31 in Kuala Terengganu
33 reviews
0.4 km away
Redang Pelangi Resort
Redang Pelangi Resort
#4 of 12 in Pulau Redang
208 reviews
38.2 km away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Redang Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Redang Island Resort

Address: Pasir Panjang, Redang Island | S-5, Wisma Tenang, Jalan Sultan Sulaiman, Pulau Redang 20000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range: €133 - €155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Redang Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Redang Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Redang Island Hotel Pulau Redang
Hotel Laguna Redang Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing