We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Reviewed 14 August 2009

The beach fronting Laguna Resort was so beautiful that we couldn't wait to jump into its crystal clear waters the very moment we arrived. We stayed two nights in the deluxe room facing the pool. The room was well-kept and could accomodate 4 persons. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly - the staff at the restaurant, housekeeping or dive shop and the staff in charge of the snorkelling trips were professional and pleasant. We were so busy snorkelling and diving, two full days were simply not enough. Although it was a big resort that catered to many groups, we could still easily find a spot to ourselves at anytime of the day out at the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWELSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 583 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2009

Not a hotel for travellers who seek a quiet relaxing holiday. I am sorry that no one mentioned this in the reviews I read before going, but the hotel is tailored for Chinese tourists (a very famous Chinese movie was filmed there) - the food, entertaiment, all follow that. There's about 200-300 people at all times at the buffet, you have to wait in a line before being allowed to enter the restaurant, the food is definitely below average; snorkeling trips are also for about 200 people for each ride (lots of noise!), entertaiment means KTV competitions at the beach, so forget staying at the beach late. Otherwise, the beach really is nice, and the water is crystal clear. Great snorkeling and diving.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ClickBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

The hotel location was just ideal with extremely white sandy beaches. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. However I do not like the bathroom, quite old. The hotel was nice and they have excellent facilities! We did the tattoo and we went for all the snorkeling trips. I must say that the the two guides that did the tattoo for our kids were very nice and patient even when my baby was crying so much.... :-) And also the guides that took us for the snorkeling trips were indeed very friendly, helpful and patient. We enjoyed ourselves very much. Though some of us can't swim but thanks to the help of the guides who really encourage and supported us a lot. The pool was quite nice too and our kkids enjoyed the baby pool as well. However there is this slide at the baby's pool which we find it quite dangerous cos it can be quite steep and when fall into the water, we may even hit our bottom. as for the food, every day the meal is in the coffee house. It was quite bored after having the same meal almost every day. Not much variety and the food quality and taste is just alright. however we enjoyed their keropok lekor very much!
Overall we had a fantastic holiday and we will definitely come back to this resort!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visakha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

It was our first trip to Redang. We took the 3D/2N package with the hotel, went at the start of the season (March) and stayed in the Garden Room.

1. Transfers
Airport transfer (KT airport to jetty) was easy and painless in an air-conditioned coach. It was a bit chaotic at the jetty - there were already hordes of people all bound for Laguna Redang Resort. There was no one to give instructions on what to do nor any signs as to what to do etc. We approached the resort staff (all uniformed so easily recognizable) and they were all very friendly and helpful. Basically you have to go 'check-in' in a room, then they issue you with baggage tags as well as a slip to tell you which boat you'd be on. You then go to the resort staff outside who'd collect & tag your baggage (make sure the tags correspond with the boat you're on and ask what time your boat is scheduled to depart). You can then either hover and wait outside (hot) or go to the a/c waiting room which was very very packed (hardly any standing space at all). The wait for the boat was painful. We were relieved to get on the boat. Boat ride was 2 hours plus.

That part of the transfer was the worst part of the trip for me personally. I think if the Resort could improve that part of the journey, The return transfer was less painful. We had a long wait for our night flight - we didn't opt for the tour to Chinatown (way too hot) and were driven to the Resort's waiting 'room' (away from the jetty, pretty much in the middle of nowhere). The room had a/c though it wasn't the most effective; it was a long long walk to get food. We finally found a 7-11 after getting directions from quite a few people. Might be an idea for the Resort to print out a brief direction map of where one can find food and the 7-11 in the vicinity.

I understand the mainland jetty to Laguna Resort has moved to Merang Jetty (the one we went to was Shahbandar I think) in June so perhaps addressed the discomfort I experienced no longer exists.

2. Arrival
Upon arrival at the resort, everyone goes to the briefing room and gets told what to expect, timing of meals, snorkelling trips etc. Felt a bit like school but it was useful information and quite necessary to make the most of your trip. Didn't have to worry about the luggage. Once briefing concluded, we proceeded to the lobby area, went to the allocated desk to get our room numbers, went for lunch.

3. Food/Restaurant
All meals were included in the package. I've read some reviews about the quality of the food / seating etc. I really don't know what the complaint was. While the numbering system would understandably put some people off, it was definitely effective and served its purpose. This is a resort that has a capacity of over 1,000 guests. And as big as the buffet restaurant was, one can imagine the chaos without the order. We're always lucky to get tables that have the most spectacular view of the sea and it was here that I first fell in love with Redang Island. I spent a lot of time at each meal just sitting out and looking out at the blue sea and white sand. It was postcard perfect. I absolutely love the food too - there was always plenty of food, lots of variety, food was constantly being refilled, loved BBQ night, there was always at least one or two cooked vegetable dishes on top of the salads. Best of all, the food was of a decent standard, especially for a buffet. Not once did I saw the need to go to the A-la-carte restaurant.

4. Rooms
We booked the Garden view room (cheapest in the package). Even though there were only 2 of us, there were one queen (I think) sized bed and two single beds. Aside from the suite, ALL the rooms had the beds enough for 4 people. The room was clean, had a balcony, not much of a view, garden or otherwise but it wasn't what we were there for anyway. There were bottled water, slippers provided. The bathroom - it had a separate toilet, separate shower room and the basin was just outside the both. The one thing I really didn't like was the shower room. It was literally just a very basic shower head with a tiny triangle metal holder for soap/shampoo. The room wasn't the usual 4 star hotel but hey, it was still the best one can get on the island (aside from Berjaya Resort which was more expensive). We checked out all the other resorts along the beach and Laguna was by far the best.

We also checked out all the other rooms for future reference - I'd be willing to pay more if there's a decent shower. Deluxe Garden, Deluxe Pool and Deluxe Sea are all EXACTLY the same (same 3 beds, same shower rooms, same balconies), except for the views. Premier Sea room was exactly the same too, except for the balcony. Premier Sea room has a really really long balcony that faces the beach. Laguna Suite was the only one which had a decent bathroom and looked completely different from all the other rooms - it's a proper suite with a king sized bed, sitting area, bathroom etc. Alas, it costs a lot more so I'd have to stick to the little shower room.

5. Staff
Every member of the staff & guides who took us out snorkelling was very friendly and helpful. For those who couldn't swim but wanted to snorkel and were afraid despite having the life jackets on, fret not. Just tell the guides/instructors and they'd literally hold your hand to drag you along and keep an extra eye on you.

6. The beach & the sea
It was AMAZING. I've completely fallen in love with Redang. Clear blue sea, fine powdery white sand. On top of the snorkelling trips that come with the package, we also snorkel in the sea right in frnot of the resort. Literally just 30m into sea in waist deep water. There're more fishes where there're corals. The beach in front of the resort was very fine and powdery, great for children and adults who're afraid and can't swim - there're some corals a little way out where fishes are in abundance. If you want to see even more fishes, go left from the resort (facing the sea) to where you can see the shadow of the corals. Lots of fishes there. Just watch out for the sharp corals.

Redang's even more beautiful that I'd imagined. I hear from some friends who'd been in past years that parts of the beach was dirty - I saw none of that. Perhaps they've cleaned up the beach since. Whatever it is, it's certainly a place I'd go to as often as my finances would allow. Preferably before peak season cos the crowd can get a bit much.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

If you like a well-organised holiday, this is the place to go. Everything runs like clock-work from the moment you reach the jetty. No worries about carrying your bags on board as there are porters who will do so at each point. We stayed in the garden view room. The room is big.. 1 king-sized bad and 2 single beds. good enough for a small family with a couple of children. the rooms are clean. You can dry your clothes in the balcony. It'll be good if you buy a few bottles of mineral water from the jetty before you board that they don't refill the complimentary mineral water after the first round. The buffet food is fairly decent.. Not that I enjoy every dish but I do find something enjoyable for every meal. The snorkelling trips are ok.. There are guides who will take photos for you using their cameras. However, each trip is fairly crowded with like 3-5 boatful of people each trip.
What puts us off... If you intend to buy the photos taken by the guides during the snorkelling trips, please take note of this. Apparently there was this unspoken rule that
each person must purchase at least 2 photos. By the way, each photo costs RM5. My hubby and i selected 3 photos and were told to top up at least 1 more photo (due to the unspoken rule). When we asked to review the rest of the photos, the guide told us he has already deleted and it cannot be retrieved. He opened up another folder in which contains underwater scenery photos and told us to select one from there. He was very impatient and tried to hurry us to make the decision. To be honest, anyone can easily google for those beautiful underwater images. We decided not to buy the photos as we were quite put off by his attitude and pressure-selling tactic. Lesson learnt.. choose your photos carefully unless you are prepared to top up with photos that are not yours. If you wish to take your own photos, you can go to Redang Reef or Redang Beach resorts to rent one. It's about RM50-60 for a day. They will burn all the photos into a CD-ROM. We would recommend the Redang Beach one as the guy in charge is super friendly and accomodating!
On the whole Laguna is a very commercialised resort, if you like something more rustic and less touristy, you may want to consider the nearby resorts. On the whole, we have a fairly good time except for the experience with the guide who tried to sell us the photos.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canriann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
2.6 km away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,328 reviews
3.8 km away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#9 of 12 in Pulau Redang
165 reviews
0.6 km away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Redang Derimba
Redang Derimba
#5 of 30 in Kuala Terengganu
32 reviews
0.4 km away
Redang Pelangi Resort
Redang Pelangi Resort
#4 of 12 in Pulau Redang
208 reviews
38.2 km away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Redang Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Redang Island Resort

Address: Pasir Panjang, Redang Island | S-5, Wisma Tenang, Jalan Sultan Sulaiman, Pulau Redang 20000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Redang Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Also Known As:
Laguna Redang Island Hotel Pulau Redang
Hotel Laguna Redang Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing