We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It hasn't changed much since it opened..” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kapas Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kapas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Kapas
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It hasn't changed much since it opened..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

We were surprised to see this resort was still operating! We visited this place in oh...1995..when it was fairly new. Nothing has changed. Back then there was electricity only for two periods during the day, the chalets were extremely basic, we were told our air-con chalet was unavailable: they only has 2 back then. When we complained they asked how we had booked the chalets. We replied 'through a travel agent'--and he said they did not accept bookings for ac rooms other than direct to the hotel. Amazing.

We managed to transfer the next day to the Primula hotel in Trengganu which was better but the beach was off limits due to pollution and a strong undertow: it's a man-made beach!

A day trip to Primula resort's Lake Kenyir property showed the company's utter disregard for its clients. Again, electricity was only available for part of the day and the restaurant faced the wall of the dam rather than a view of the lake. And once you were at the resort, which is in the middle of the lake, you were pretty much trapped.

How can these people still be operating ? [And yes, I've been holding on to this for along time...glad to get it out of my system :))]

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C00KSonTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    13
    12
    39
See reviews for
22
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

DO NOT COME HERE UNLESS IN EXTREME POVERTY!! This place totally spoiled my vacation!The swimming pool was looked like hadnt been cleaned for weeks..the water was green which reminded me of sewage water.The food and rooms were equally horrible.'The food in an orpanage would taste better.The air con didnt function properly,and we had to walk all the way back to the reception twice just to get someone to fix it.There's no phone,heater,room service,shampoo.The extra mattresses we asked for were filthy.The reception counter is just an old desk and a plastic chair and there's usually no one there.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelcritic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

A well known travel guide describes Kapas Island resort as the best option, however take no notice, it is dated, dirty and unkept.

First off rubbish sacks are piled along the beach close to the jetty, next , a line of wheelie bins greets you as you enter the Kapas Island Resort, OK rubbish has to go somewhere but so close to the the restaurant ? The bins smell of vomit.

We had booked a deluxe chalet (that was all that was offered). The toilet didn’t flush, broken pipe work was on top of the cistern. Litter could be seen around the perimeter of the chalet and behind.

We left shortly after we arrived - we did get our money back without any problem.

This resort does not offer good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mags064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
224 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

I visited this 'resort' with 10 friends. It was a long weekend (Merdaka Day) and also during Ramadan. However, the resort was quite busy with various Chinese Malay tour groups.

We paid MYR80 for triple rooms - 'Deluxe Garden View'. These rooms had a/c (which worked very well), a fridge, kettle, cod shower, reasonable sized balcony and t.v. (with 2 channels!). Various things needed sorting (a/c, fridges not working) and our kettle had bug larvae in.

Basically the resort hasn't been maintained very well- which isn't unusual. But for the price and location charm, these little issues didn't spoil the stay. However, the 'brochure' price was MYR240 and we would have been more than a little annoyed.

There is a basic restaurant, a pool, a large screen and karaoke on site. There is a jungle trek starting from the rear of the resort.

However the beaches are the main draw here. Snorkling is pretty good. There are several bays becoming more remote the further away from the main jetty. There are a couple of places to stay with restaurants on the bay next to the 'main' one.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

We booked a de-luxe sea view room at this resort, and was very excited at the thought of spending a couple of nights on the idylic island with a good standard of accommodation...we were in for a shock!!!
The room must have been classed as de-luxe cos it had a kettle and A/C. The bedroom was basic (which I don't mind) but the bathroom!!! No hot water, the sink was unsafe (moved if you touched it), back of the door (metal cover) was hung off with sharp edges stuck out and the toilet and floor were dirty. Oh and someone had left their flip-flops in there. However, we could see the sea...if when stood on the balcony you looked to the left, you could catch a flimpse of the sea.
A swift return to reception to complain, whereby we were shown another room...which was no better. The manager instructed housekeeping to clean the room again, whilst we went to the gorgeous beach. Don't be fooled by the luxury of the very small pool - it looks dirty and you cannot even sunbathe around it, cos their aren't any sunbeds/chairs - which is exactly the same at the beach!
The food isn't very good either, we had a walk up the beach to Qimi chalets for food/drinks and also went to Turtle Valley for some excellent food.
We decided to stick it out at this resort, mainly due to only being there for two nights. An observation made when we was leaving (Saturday), was that the place went into overdrive...cleaners and gardeners were everywhere!! Maybe this was due to an expectant arrival of daytrippers?!
Beautiful deserted beaches and a very short boat trip from mainland, but this resort is a Dump!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UK-jenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Kapas
15.8 km away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Marang
1.9 km away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#8 of 33 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Ming Star
Hotel Ming Star
#3 of 33 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#6 of 33 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.0 km away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#14 of 33 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.5 km away
Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa
Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa
#4 of 33 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapas Island Resort

Property: Kapas Island Resort
Address: Pulau Kapas 20000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Kapas
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Kapas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapas Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Kapas Island Hotel Pulau Kapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing