We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kapas Island Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Qimi Chalet(Pulau Kapas)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prinzpark Terengganu(Kuala Terengganu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
TY Hotel(Kuala Terengganu)
View Hotel
Seri Indah Resort(Kuala Terengganu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Permai Park Inn(Kuala Terengganu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Batu Burok Beach Resort(Kuala Terengganu)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
3
5
16
12
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
5
16
12
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate islandnew managementbasic amenitiestranquilitystatelocals
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2009

DO NOT COME HERE UNLESS IN EXTREME POVERTY!! This place totally spoiled my vacation!The swimming pool was looked like hadnt been cleaned for weeks..the water was green which reminded me of sewage water.The food and rooms were equally horrible.'The food in an orpanage would taste better.The air con didnt function properly,and we had to walk all the way back to the reception twice just to get someone to fix it.There's no phone,heater,room service,shampoo.The extra mattresses we asked for were filthy.The reception counter is just an old desk and a plastic chair and there's usually no one there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotelcritic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

A well known travel guide describes Kapas Island resort as the best option, however take no notice, it is dated, dirty and unkept.

First off rubbish sacks are piled along the beach close to the jetty, next , a line of wheelie bins greets you as you enter the Kapas Island Resort, OK rubbish has to go somewhere but so close to the the restaurant ? The bins smell of vomit.

We had booked a deluxe chalet (that was all that was offered). The toilet didn’t flush, broken pipe work was on top of the cistern. Litter could be seen around the perimeter of the chalet and behind.

We left shortly after we arrived - we did get our money back without any problem.

This resort does not offer good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mags064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I visited this 'resort' with 10 friends. It was a long weekend (Merdaka Day) and also during Ramadan. However, the resort was quite busy with various Chinese Malay tour groups.

We paid MYR80 for triple rooms - 'Deluxe Garden View'. These rooms had a/c (which worked very well), a fridge, kettle, cod shower, reasonable sized balcony and t.v. (with 2 channels!). Various things needed sorting (a/c, fridges not working) and our kettle had bug larvae in.

Basically the resort hasn't been maintained very well- which isn't unusual. But for the price and location charm, these little issues didn't spoil the stay. However, the 'brochure' price was MYR240 and we would have been more than a little annoyed.

There is a basic restaurant, a pool, a large screen and karaoke on site. There is a jungle trek starting from the rear of the resort.

However the beaches are the main draw here. Snorkling is pretty good. There are several bays becoming more remote the further away from the main jetty. There are a couple of places to stay with restaurants on the bay next to the 'main' one.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We booked a de-luxe sea view room at this resort, and was very excited at the thought of spending a couple of nights on the idylic island with a good standard of accommodation...we were in for a shock!!!
The room must have been classed as de-luxe cos it had a kettle and A/C. The bedroom was basic (which I don't mind) but the bathroom!!! No hot water, the sink was unsafe (moved if you touched it), back of the door (metal cover) was hung off with sharp edges stuck out and the toilet and floor were dirty. Oh and someone had left their flip-flops in there. However, we could see the sea...if when stood on the balcony you looked to the left, you could catch a flimpse of the sea.
A swift return to reception to complain, whereby we were shown another room...which was no better. The manager instructed housekeeping to clean the room again, whilst we went to the gorgeous beach. Don't be fooled by the luxury of the very small pool - it looks dirty and you cannot even sunbathe around it, cos their aren't any sunbeds/chairs - which is exactly the same at the beach!
The food isn't very good either, we had a walk up the beach to Qimi chalets for food/drinks and also went to Turtle Valley for some excellent food.
We decided to stick it out at this resort, mainly due to only being there for two nights. An observation made when we was leaving (Saturday), was that the place went into overdrive...cleaners and gardeners were everywhere!! Maybe this was due to an expectant arrival of daytrippers?!
Beautiful deserted beaches and a very short boat trip from mainland, but this resort is a Dump!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UK-jenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Absolutely deplorable conditions! Had to cut the trip short. The deluxe seaview chalets are in name only! The trash bins are stored on the beach right in front of the seaview chalets, especially Chalet #1. Had to hold our breath everytime we went past the bins on our way to and back from the diding room; short of throwing up!. Elected to go through the Garden View chalets to avoid the trash bins, but the stench from the clogged drains of the kitchen was as bad, if not even worse! Food recycled at every meal. A pale looking cabbage vegetable first served during lunch reappeared in the Tom Yam soup in the evening and made another appearance again in the Bee Hoon Soup the next morning! Child suffed a bad case of food poisoning. Toilets do not flush. Shower drips water. The WC did not work most of the time. Had to pour water into the comode. Swimming pool had water that looked green. We did not notice anyone swimming at all!
When we wanted to check out early, they returned part of the amount paid at the resort but refued to return the pre-paid portion. Management refused to refund even after we pleaded our case. Badly managed. Not courteous. Do not really seem to care if the patrons had a good time or not! DO THEY PROBABLY THINK THEY ARE DOING US A FAVOR?

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheObserver_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews