We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
49
177
78
28
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
177
78
28
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant great rooftop bar western style food included breakfast nasi lemak limited choice sea view budget hotel lin bath waterfront kettle
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We wanted to stay one night from Sep 17th to 18th. After checkin we were shown the first room which was smelling like an old cellar and was also super dirty. After we complained we received an „upgrade“ to a room with sea view but the windows were just to dirty to even think about opening them and on the bed we found hair and other leftovers from guests before us. We decided to leave and found another hotel in the waterfront that was only 20€ more expensive.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bjoern K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

The roof top bar is the highlight of this place. My recommendation is to give it a miss. Either save a few dollars and go for one of the hostels or spend a little more and stay the the Four Points. The rooms look ok on the surfice but they are in real need of some TLC, especially the plumbing. Staff did their best to be helpful.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gina2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Ideal location near the waterfront in Sandakan. The rooftop bar and restaurant has views of the city. It is a bit rustic but the beer is cheap and the food is awesome. The staff are attentive and friendly but I wish people wouldn't smoke when we are eating.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank morgresearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

The rooms were pretty average, has everything we needed for 1 night. The rooftop bar was what really made this hotel - its a lovely space and kept really well with a lovely atmosphere. Nice menu - I had a lovely vongole. The staff are lovely, we had very enthusiastic waiters/waitresses with great attention to detail, the breakfast was nice but perhaps took a little longer to come than would be expected of croissants.
Good value for money though and perfect for a budget hotel,

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachellouiset1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night when first arriving in Sandakan. Hotel is approx 20 mins from the airport and a taxi cost 30 ringgit. Hotel is slightly dated but room was comfortable and clean. Shower had good pressure but bath was not attached to the wall so was a little unstable. Breakfast included in the cafe next door - good portion size and tasty. Staff were excellent, very welcoming and helpful. We arrived late and asked where a 7Eleven was to get some snacks and they took us personally. We also left a phone in the room when we checked out and called them about 2 hours later. They had the phone and kept it safe for us for 3 days before we returned to collect it. Hotel is undergoing renovation, which should improve the aesthetic. Overall a nice hotel, just needs a bit of a facelift.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Harriet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews