We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
49
177
78
28
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
177
78
28
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant great rooftop bar one night western style food included breakfast nasi lemak limited choice sea view budget hotel lin bath waterfront kettle
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018

The rooms were pretty average, has everything we needed for 1 night. The rooftop bar was what really made this hotel - its a lovely space and kept really well with a lovely atmosphere. Nice menu - I had a lovely vongole. The staff are lovely, we had very enthusiastic waiters/waitresses with great attention to detail, the breakfast was nice but perhaps took a little longer to come than would be expected of croissants.
Good value for money though and perfect for a budget hotel,

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachellouiset1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night when first arriving in Sandakan. Hotel is approx 20 mins from the airport and a taxi cost 30 ringgit. Hotel is slightly dated but room was comfortable and clean. Shower had good pressure but bath was not attached to the wall so was a little unstable. Breakfast included in the cafe next door - good portion size and tasty. Staff were excellent, very welcoming and helpful. We arrived late and asked where a 7Eleven was to get some snacks and they took us personally. We also left a phone in the room when we checked out and called them about 2 hours later. They had the phone and kept it safe for us for 3 days before we returned to collect it. Hotel is undergoing renovation, which should improve the aesthetic. Overall a nice hotel, just needs a bit of a facelift.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Harriet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

It is located within minutes to the Mall , FourPoint hotel & wet market.
It is an old hotel but not bad for the price i paid.
I stayed in the family room with my group of friends . Spacious. 1queen bed & 2 single beds & sofas.
The aircond are superb especially coming back from excursions on the hot day! The only slacked i am not happy about is the toilet.
Their bath tub are not fixed properly . It was moving & it can be dangerous if someone were to slip & fell. No shower curtain so the water splashing all over the bathroom. I do hope the hotel management cud look into this matter for safety reasons. Don't wait until one incident to happen & it will be a bit too late. Tq

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank NSafinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel has a lot of charm. The decor is quirky, the staff are helpful, and there’s even an elevator! (So nice after doing so many stairs at other hotels on our trip.) This hotel has a couple of things going for it - namely upstairs and downstairs.

Upstairs is the fantastic Ba Lin Rooftop Bar and Restaurant, which has the best view in town and really great food for a reasonable price. I would definitely recommend the Smoked Duck and Hoisin pizza and the cocktails. Downstairs is the San Da Gen Kopitiam, a really cute restaurant where breakfast is provided by the hotel. The coffee was great, and we particularly enjoyed the Nasi Lemak, and the French Toast with Kaya.

The actual rooms at this hotel are nothing to write home about. They’re very basic, and probably could use some extra cleaning, but the beds are comfortable and our room was nice and quiet even though it was next to the elevator. This hotel was founded in the mid-1960s, and our room looked like it hadn’t been renovated since then - but we actually kind of liked the retro charm.

There is no wifi available in the rooms - only the lobby - and it didn’t work very well at that. Note that the restaurants both have wifi and theirs works better than at the hotel.

The bottom line: This is a budget hotel, and I think that the price is right for what you get. The location is really great, the staff are helpful, and if you’re not going to be spending tons of time in your room it’s totally fine.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank amflhu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Our room was spacious and reasonably attractive with big views of the harbor. Bed was big and comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and willing to help. Included breakfast at next-door Sandagen Café was good, although limited choice. Had nasi lemak one day (good) and French toast the next (excellent). Great rooftop bar with fabulous views Big problem was no internet in room and erratic, slow internet in lobby, otherwise might give 5 stars..

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews