We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
49
177
78
28
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
177
78
28
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant great rooftop bar western style food included breakfast nasi lemak limited choice sea view budget hotel lin bath waterfront kettle
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. Yes, hotel is a bit worn out but still lovely with all the Chinese furniture and decoration in the lobby, birdcage lamps in the rooms and the Chinese bowl as the sink.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfy. And in the end the roof top bar with its herbs boxes and newspaper-menu was superb.
Thank you guys and keep going just the way you are.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Kajar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

The Nak is a taste of Chinese, Sandakan past. A deceptive, grey building which reveals a lovingly restored interior with artefacts such as delicately painted drawers and large, wooden antique chairs in reception to complete the experience. Even an old fashioned typewriter is in use behind reception!! Bamboo blinds, bird cage light surrounds, parasols and cane furniture creates a cool, restful environment.
Staff are helpful, polite and professional.
The added benefit is breakfast served at the Ba Lin rooftop Bar/Restaurant. Breakfast is freshly prepared, tasty, plentiful and enjoyed whilst taking in the best view in Sandakan.
If you want to get a taste of the real Sandakan stay at the Nak.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank jules5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

I enjoyed my stay at the Nak hotel. The rooms were clean, although the decor was a little dated, the showers were hot and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I loved the rooftop restaurant, which is where we recived our welcome drink (non-alcoholic) and breakfast ( both included with the stay). In fact, those caramelized banana pancakes were among the best breakfast I've ever had anywhere! The only downside to this hotel is the rooms do not have wifi, but the lobby and rooftop restaurant do. I would recommend staying here.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TaraTreksTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Established in 1966, NAK Hotel retains much of its heyday charms - antiqued windows, mosaic tiles, Chinese porcelain basins, lanterns, bird-cage lamps, classic Chinese music and hospitable staff. Clean, comfortable and affordable, this quaint hotel still proudly stands in the heart of Sandakan town. To top it all, the famous Balin Roof Garden Bistro & Bar is located on the 8th floor, boasting a picturesque Sulu Sea scene. A welcome drink and daily delicious, complimentary Western breakfast set are thrown in. It's certainly an offer that's difficult to refuse.

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank HK_Wong90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I will begin by saying I did not stay at this hotel. I only enjoyed the rooftop bar, but it was a fully enjoyable experience and I was only there for like an hour. My grad school classmates enjoyed many tasty drinks along with great eats. I enjoyed the amazing view and very comfy yet chic atmosphere. This is a place that allows you to relax and unwind which is exactly what we needed to do after spending two weeks in the jungle. So happy to have visited this place, even for a moment!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yelenyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews