We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
49
177
78
28
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
177
78
28
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant great rooftop bar one night western style food included breakfast nasi lemak limited choice sea view budget hotel lin bath waterfront kettle
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

I stay here for 1 night only during my travel to semporna from labuan n i stop by sandakan n stay a night at this hotel... Not much expectation from me due to the photo from website its just an old hotel but very classic... The top roof cafe just magnificent with the view of sandakan town... All staff very welcoming n friendly...

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Fazzlee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night at the beginning of a four - day stay in Sandakan. I got a large, clean and spacious en suite room, with a comfy bed, effective air con, a mini fridge, kettle etc.
The family - owned, Chinese feel was upheld by some quirky decor not usually found in hotels of this kind: bamboo blinds, a beautiful willow pattern sink bowl, and pleasant woody detailing.
Service was good and friendly, the complimentary drink in the roof bar was a nice touch and turned out to be a delicious lychee lemonade.

The downsides? It just suffers a bit from its age and wear and tear. The narrow windows, deep down odd angled concrete tunnels restrict an otherwise excellent sea view. The TV was elderly and only picked up three Malay language channels. The plug in the willow pattern sink didn't hold water, and the shower head was weak and leaky. Lastly, and to be honest the only real deal breaker for me was the lack of wifi.

The Ba Lin rooftop restaurant bar is, however, very pleasant. I had a very good mushroom pizza, good drinks and enjoyed a panoramic view of Sandakan and the bay.
Overall, this is by no means a bad mid range option, it's probably just a bit overpriced without a few more mod cons. Just go for a drink in the roof bar instead!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and also ate at the rooftop restaurant.

The rooms had lots of potential but lots of things seems to be in poor or non-working condition. Several floors were either being renovated or left to dilapidated, I am not sure. Missing ceiling tiles, lose wires, dingy lighting throughout the hotel didn't hint towards any improvement anytime soon. The service was ok but the room cleanliness was good!

The highlight was suppose to be the rooftop bar. It has a decent view but awkward seating arrangements and an overpriced menu. Many drink has missing components, were not available or were delivered to the wrong table. The food had similar issues, missing components, and wrong orders.

I felt like I was missing out on potentially better places when spending my time here. Lots of potential but a big miss.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

The rooftop is undeniably the best spot in the whole Sandakan! It is a good place to unwind with lovely music. Come early before dusk to get a good table with amazing view. The room was quite big but not that comfy. The room have ageing sign I must say. Btw, if you happen to sleep in this hotel during the weekend, make sure to wake up early on Sunday. Weekend market was located nearby. Try the foods and the best place to meet the locals.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tafe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We didn't stay at the Hotel for a night. We only had a sun downer at the bar. Go to the top of it and you will have a great sun set. Go for the pizza. If needed you can charge your mobile phone at the bar.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ron575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews