We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveller rating
123
240
212
94
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
240
212
94
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana cafe air con rainforest discovery centre sun bears orang utan rehabilitation centre feeding times deluxe room five minute walk nice pool swimming pool is day tour stayed here for two nights rooms are basic turtle island night walk the river local food
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 725 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

We stayed for 1 night as part of a pre-booked tour in the closest accommodation block to the Front Reception and found the room tired looking. The hand towels were almost threadbare and certainly were not soft in any way, the bowl style sink was a nice touch except that the water came out at such an angle as to almost miss the bowl completely. The sheets looked like they had been in continuous use since the 70's, it all felt a bit tired. As we were only there for one night (and within half an hour of checking in we were out for a couple of tours of the Rainforest Discovery Centre) I am unable to review the grounds, surrounds and pool which was (presumably for safety's sake) behind locked doors when we got back and not yet open in the morning when we went for breakfast. We saw signs of renovation/improvement in another accommodation block so I can only hope that the renovations go throughout the buildings. The staff were friendly and the location practically next to the Orangutan Orphanage and Sun Bear Sanctuary was brilliant but I would not consider staying here a 2nd time unless improvements were complete

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LizL1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Liz L,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are indeed upgrading our facilities. Do give us some time do it. Once it's done, I'm sure everyone will love it.

Once again thank you for your feedback and the compliments on our staff and location.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Yes it might be a bit rustic and overpriced for what you get room-wise compared to other places in the country, but you're paying for the location and the experience. We had a great time here, the owner is so nice and have built this place himself. And he has done a great job making it such a beautiful part of nature. We had one of the staff members taking us for a night tour in the jungle, another one lent us his scooter so that we could take a drive around the area. And the property is filled of wildlife.. snakes, iguanas, fish, turtles, frogs and different birds.. we did also se a slow lore, sleeping birds and scorpions during the night tour. The pool is a welcoming break in the heat, it's also appreciated that they have a restaurant on site. If you're planning on visiting the orangutan rehabilitation centre this is a great place to stay since it's only a few minutes walking from here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank VickyG2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as part of our G Adventures 11 day tour of Sabah. It was the worst accommodation on our whole visit. Our room smelt strongly of damp. The whole place was tired, run down and generally very shabby . Whilst I appreciate a twin room for the night worked out at only about £15, it really was not a great place to stay except for the location. Reception was shut most of the time and you had to go to a different reception which was a bit of a hike from room

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
9  Thank SRBubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear SRBubbly,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We have 2 receptions in the resort. One of them is opened daily from 7.30am to 5.00pm and the other one is opened from 7.30am to 10pm. So it is not closed most of the time.

We have operate for more than 20 years and from the experience we do not have any walk in guests who comes at night. Do note that we are in the jungle.

At the moment, we are upgrading our facilities. Do give us time to do it. Truly, the location of the resort is one of the reason why people are staying with us. We also have beautiful grounds for the wildlife in the area.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Tucked away from two of the local areas' main attraction this resort is functional and clean
Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and a pretty stagnent pond
Its almost lovely
No issue with check in
The rooms are connected by concrete sculptured wood features which are kitsch and a debatable appeal
Rooms were nice enough with a balcony and aircon
Bed fine
Towels thread bare
Bathroom clean but dated
Didnt enjoy the resturant as a vego served me chicken then corrected themselves which was nice enough
Then accused me of trying to not pay my drinks as collegue forgot to charge me
I suggested like you forhot i was a vegetarian? But payed
I elected to skip dinner thar night
Breakfast basic fair
Check out fine
All staff lovely

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank joancollins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

If you are expecting 5 star, you will be disappointed. The rooms are clean and tidy, the aircon was a bit noisy, but the pool are is good, the restaurant food and staff are nice. The surroundings are well kept. Had a couple of very noisy kids in the room opposite, but I gave them some advice which they seemed to take. No more noise !

Room Tip: Two wings of rooms, all much of a muchness
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank swannie00450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear swannie00450,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the positive feedback and your compliments on our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews