We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Nearby Hotels
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Backpackers(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
US$41
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Borneo Seaview Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$19
US$16
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nature Lodge Sepilok(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$416
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$241
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,353)
Filter reviews
1,354 results
Traveller rating
590
565
148
33
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
565
148
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolclub roomthe executive loungespg membershopping mallsea viewfish marketcorner roombreakfast buffetfirst floorsulu seamodern hotelwater frontlocal marketlocal foodstayed here for nightsturtle island
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,354 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Yes it is on waterfront. Yes it is better than most in sandakan.Bar is nice and welcome relief from unrelenting dry area of time. Very much Muslim. Market next door is OK but now is also devoid of Chinese traders.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lankylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Lankylee,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit. We are glad that you found our bar to be nice and the hotel in general was better than most within the vicinity.
We look forward to serving you again.
Hospitably yours,
Peter Padman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Being near the water front gives this hotel a great view. We had a very comfortable stay especially after a hot day's touring around the island. The breakfast is fine but it would be best to have some diversity especially when you stay for a few days.. was a bit monotonous, especially with the western food. The staff is very courteous and helpful. We were glad to come back here after a tired but good day of seeing the island. There's a street food place just a few minutes walk from the hotel at the water front. The hotel will help you with any of the sightseeing you want to do as well.. Sheraton is always a great chain of hotels to stay in..

Stayed: April 2018
Thank wimalaratnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear wimalaratnej,
Thank you for your feedback and constructive comments on the breakfast which we will certainly work on. We are glad to note that our staff has been helpful. Good to also know that you managed to explore a little about the area and for your compliments we thank you once again.
Please do visit us again when your travels bring you through Sandakan.

Hospitably yours
Peter Padman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is located right on the waterfront. Most rooms offer sea and or city views. It’s a relatively busy seaway with lots to see. Unfortunately pollution is starting to effect the environment in a more significant manner than when we were last here.

The hotel offers all the facilities of a good quality hotel. The pool deck and main restaurant for breakfast are on the 13th. Great views are here.

The service and friendliness of the staff make YouTube stay worthwhile.

We moved room to 1503 which has a connecting door to 1505. Great if you are a family, not so good if like us you had some very chatty guests in that room. The soundproofing of the doors wasn’t the best.

This is our second stay here and I would recommend becoming a SPG member for free prior to booking. You will get some really worthwhile benefits.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bernie47801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear bernie47801,
Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay and also for the feedback on the sound proofing which we have taken constructively. We are glad that you are reaping the privileges and benefits of being a SPG member. You are indeed a great ‘ambassador’ for us!
It is indeed a chore to get the surrounding area cleaned up as the municipality has been tirelessly educating the residents to be more civic minded. We will continue to strive to make this radical change as we understand how it can affect the hotel’s image. Should you have some suggestions on how we can make this happen, please email me at peter.padman@fourpoints.com
Thanking you once again and looking forward to serving you again.

Hospitably yours,
Peter Padman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of family holiday trip around Sabah.
Once you've survived the frustrating security lifts the rooms are nice with a lovely view.
Walls are a little thin as you can hear the next room activities.
Pool is ok but there is a shortage of chairs even when its not busy. Someone needs to clean the glass pool fence so you can see the view.
Check in was VERY SLOW and I was given a room that hadnt been cleaned. No apologies from check in except to tell me they were busy. After a few heated words a clean room was found.
Breakfast is plentiful however the cooks at the egg station are very slow ( their uniforms are also filthy. )
While the hotel is fair value for money do not expect it to be up to the usual Sheraton standards.
On a different note the adjoining shopping mall has mostly empty shops and the surrounding neighbourhood feels unsafe.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank btifgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear btifgo,
Thank you so much for your comments from your recent stay. We definitely have failed in our services and humbly apologise for not being able to deliver our standards during this holiday of yours. As we need to dive deeper into the details, could you please email me at peter.padman@fourpoints.com ; we would need to know your dates of your visit and the name you registered under.
While awaiting for your reply we are certainly sorry for having put you through this poor first impression where check in was uneventful. This is the most important part of your first impression and we need to seriously look at improving our service delivery in terms of speed and internal communication.
We await your reply and remain
Hospitably yours,
Peter Padman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

I like this new green initiative by Four Points. It's not a huge tag but by not placing it around the bottles it really saves and can be used for a longer time! Good idea Four Points! The bottle tags were placed under the glass countertop.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Cassie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Cassie F,
Thanks so much for the positive and supportive message. Our Sustainability Team will be pleased to read that their initiatives have not gone to waste. We look forward to serving you again and should you see interesting ideas from you visits to other properties, do keep us posted.
Hospitably yours,
Peter Padman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews