We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bagus Place is amazing. Tioman Island is beautiful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bagus Place Retreat
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed in "Big Chief" for 4 nights. Tioman is a beautiful island. We enjoyed a trip to the waterfall, snorkelling at Ringis Island, kayaking infront of the resort and diving with the neighbouring hotel (which has a dive school and can organise both boat dives and shore dives easily).

Snorkelling off the end of the pier was great - we saw turtles, rays, bat fish, black tip reef sharks etc. There is lots of dead coral beside the pier (I think because of a warming event) but there is still plenty to see.

The stretch of undisturbed beach is great. Really quiet and idyllic....although a group of monkeys did chase us away one day!!

The staff were very friendly and made a very relaxed atmosphere throughout our stay. The restuarant is in a lovely location and the food was good.

We really enjoyed our stay. It was very romantic and everyone in all the lodges got on well and made it a great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona_and_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 256 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2009

Very small resort
Restaurant good, people very sympatic.
We were in the tree house room, view is nice, room very spacious and very confortable.
The huge beach is just for you, quite large and sandy.
You go to swim from the jetty because from the beach going in the water there is a lot of rocks.
Go there to rest, read, play volley in the afternoon, walk in the forest and discover the nature, animals, have fun going around...
Nice place to discover.

Tip:
From Kuala Lumpur flight with Berjaya from Subang airport, less than 1 hour flight
If you are diver, contact the resort just 5 minutes walk (almost no beach) from here to arrange your dives before going.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garcia33610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We've stayed at this resort only for one night and then we moved for another 2 nights at Japamala. This resort is located in a beautiful beach and the staff is very friendly! We went to Renggis Island and the snorkeling there was amazing! I've seen a turtle and a very big jelly fish and hundreads of colorful fishes!

In the morning near the jetty at Bagus we couldn't snorkel due to the stings of sea-fleas; I was bitten a lot and it was not possible to snorkel comfortably like that! So I quit after 2 minutes!

We've stayed at the tree house. It was comfortable enough, with no frills, but very clean. One con for me is that you couldn't throw paper in the toilet... It feels that we were camping...

The food was OK and we enjoyed our 2 lunches and dinner (nothing out of this world, but good).

Between Bagus and Japamala, I preferred Japamala. However, Bagus is a good value for money and the beach itself is a bit better than the one at Japamala (although at Japamala we could do snorkelling by the jetty without being stinged by sea-fleas).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CIVOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus_Place, Owner at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2009

It is quite ok to dispose of toilet tissue in the normal fashion and it is not necessary to dispose of it in the bin. We are sorry for any misunderstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I have just recently returned from a 2 week honeymoon in Malaysia and Singapore. We stayed at Bagus Place Retreat for 7 nights. The resort is built with eco friendly principles in mind, trying to minimise the impact on the island and they really have achieved this. When you arrive, from the end of the jetty you can only see 2 of the buildings, it looks as though there's no one there, let alone a hotel! Krishna and Anish could not be more welcoming and all of the staff are wonderful, always smiling. I was worried that a week would be too much for me as I'm not normally much of a beach person but I really needn't have worried. The snorkelling is incredible and the wildlife around the island is amazing. The snorkelling trip and waterfall trek are well worth doing as well. Krishna is qualified in complimentary therapy and her full body massage is a real relaxing treat!

The food was delicious, we never went hungry! Breakfst is cereals, toast, panckakes and eggs. Lunch was a choice of sandwiches, pizzas, noodles and rice etc. Dinner was a buffet always consisting of a rice dish, a meat dish, a fish dish, a veggie dish and normally some roti, popadoms or something to that effect. Some people here have complained about the lack of choice but I don't understand what they could have expected! On an island, staying at an eco friendly resort with only a small handful of guests you can understand that they're not going to buy in and import huge mountains of food!

We stayed in the boat house and whilst I will agree with previous reviews that it is a little small, it was perfectly ample for what we needed. It was comfortable and clean and with such a beautiful island to explore who would spend all their time inside their chalet anyway? All day you felt like you had the whole beach to yourself and at night time all the guests would come together and talk about their day over dinner and drinks...it's a really nice, relaxing way to spend a week! I don't think we'll ever find anywhere as beautiful as Tioman or Bagus Place again, until we go back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pinky07Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed four nights. Loved it - didn't want to leave. Thoroughly recommend it for a romantic retreat, or honeymoon.

The location is stunning. The rooms are nice, clean and the best bit is that it is exclusive - there will never be more than 10 people there, so you really feel like you have the place to yourself.
It is very "coupley" - our last night there 4 out 5 couples were on their honeymoon (including us).
The snorkelling trip out to Regus island was fantastic. We also walked to the waterfall which like most waterfalls in my experience was a little disappointing, though the walk there takes you to some beautiful empty coves, and an interesting villiage, so would recommend doing it. The malay food is delicious (though the western stuff on the menu wasn't the best).
I have two criticisms, but neither enough to make me detract from my 5 star rating. 1) The drinks are a touch on the pricey side, and 2) A little more could be done to make the rooms nicer, cosier or more relaxing.

But all in all, would love to go back. Note: if you're going you have to book in advance. We got the second worst room (I think) and booked 2 months ahead!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenLondonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus_Place, Owner at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2009

Bagus Place is an idyllic honeymoon location (indeed many marriage proposals have been made here!) but we also welcome groups and families. If all chalets were fully occupied, which is rare, the number of guests at Bagus Place would be 20. Nonetheless, the exclusivity and 'get away from it all' feeling is maintained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
4.8 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 20 in Pulau Tioman
541 reviews
0.5 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
7.6 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 20 in Pulau Tioman
83 reviews
10.2 km away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0.3 km away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#4 of 20 in Pulau Tioman
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagus Place Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagus Place Retreat

Address: | No 1C, Pasir Sarang, Kg Mukut, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: €121 - €300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagus Place Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagus Place Retreat is nestled quietly on one of the most beautiful islands in the world called Tioman. A peaceful sanctuary of breathtaking natural beauty, we invite you to rejuvenate body and mind and be enchanted by the sights and sounds of nature. Our guests will find luscious and unspoiled paradise. Clear waters and lush jungles provide plenty of opportunities for outdoor activities such as jungle trekking, snorkeling, kayaking and diving. If you're lucky enough, Mr. Bagus our sea turtle mascot will come by and say HELLO at our long wooden jetty. It also provides exciting sunset walks and a fascinating look at coral fish. Snorkellers will be rewarded with views of the living tropics reefs of Tioman Island. Bagus Place aims to work in harmony with the environment and the local community, offering a unique holiday experience to our guests. The only ALL-INCLUSIVE RESORT in Tioman Island. Another Day in Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bagus Place Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagus Place Retreat Hotel Pulau Tioman
Bagus Place Retreat Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing