We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$152
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Minang Cove Resort(Pulau Tioman)
US$159
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$90
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$159
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$380
US$320
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Impian Inn(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Aguna Resort(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$45
US$41
Priceline
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
279
61
24
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
61
24
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat housetree housefishtwin peaksthe south china seamonkeys jumpinggiant squirrelblack tip sharksstar luxurylong jettyboat rideevery eveninglittle piece of paradisenatural beautygenting jettystayed longersmall resort
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Very small resort
Restaurant good, people very sympatic.
We were in the tree house room, view is nice, room very spacious and very confortable.
The huge beach is just for you, quite large and sandy.
You go to swim from the jetty because from the beach going in the water there is a lot of rocks.
Go there to rest, read, play volley in the afternoon, walk in the forest and discover the nature, animals, have fun going around...
Nice place to discover.

Tip:
From Kuala Lumpur flight with Berjaya from Subang airport, less than 1 hour flight
If you are diver, contact the resort just 5 minutes walk (almost no beach) from here to arrange your dives before going.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garcia33610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We've stayed at this resort only for one night and then we moved for another 2 nights at Japamala. This resort is located in a beautiful beach and the staff is very friendly! We went to Renggis Island and the snorkeling there was amazing! I've seen a turtle and a very big jelly fish and hundreads of colorful fishes!

In the morning near the jetty at Bagus we couldn't snorkel due to the stings of sea-fleas; I was bitten a lot and it was not possible to snorkel comfortably like that! So I quit after 2 minutes!

We've stayed at the tree house. It was comfortable enough, with no frills, but very clean. One con for me is that you couldn't throw paper in the toilet... It feels that we were camping...

The food was OK and we enjoyed our 2 lunches and dinner (nothing out of this world, but good).

Between Bagus and Japamala, I preferred Japamala. However, Bagus is a good value for money and the beach itself is a bit better than the one at Japamala (although at Japamala we could do snorkelling by the jetty without being stinged by sea-fleas).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CIVOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus_Place, Owner at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2009

It is quite ok to dispose of toilet tissue in the normal fashion and it is not necessary to dispose of it in the bin. We are sorry for any misunderstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I have just recently returned from a 2 week honeymoon in Malaysia and Singapore. We stayed at Bagus Place Retreat for 7 nights. The resort is built with eco friendly principles in mind, trying to minimise the impact on the island and they really have achieved this. When you arrive, from the end of the jetty you can only see 2 of the buildings, it looks as though there's no one there, let alone a hotel! Krishna and Anish could not be more welcoming and all of the staff are wonderful, always smiling. I was worried that a week would be too much for me as I'm not normally much of a beach person but I really needn't have worried. The snorkelling is incredible and the wildlife around the island is amazing. The snorkelling trip and waterfall trek are well worth doing as well. Krishna is qualified in complimentary therapy and her full body massage is a real relaxing treat!

The food was delicious, we never went hungry! Breakfst is cereals, toast, panckakes and eggs. Lunch was a choice of sandwiches, pizzas, noodles and rice etc. Dinner was a buffet always consisting of a rice dish, a meat dish, a fish dish, a veggie dish and normally some roti, popadoms or something to that effect. Some people here have complained about the lack of choice but I don't understand what they could have expected! On an island, staying at an eco friendly resort with only a small handful of guests you can understand that they're not going to buy in and import huge mountains of food!

We stayed in the boat house and whilst I will agree with previous reviews that it is a little small, it was perfectly ample for what we needed. It was comfortable and clean and with such a beautiful island to explore who would spend all their time inside their chalet anyway? All day you felt like you had the whole beach to yourself and at night time all the guests would come together and talk about their day over dinner and drinks...it's a really nice, relaxing way to spend a week! I don't think we'll ever find anywhere as beautiful as Tioman or Bagus Place again, until we go back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pinky07Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed four nights. Loved it - didn't want to leave. Thoroughly recommend it for a romantic retreat, or honeymoon.

The location is stunning. The rooms are nice, clean and the best bit is that it is exclusive - there will never be more than 10 people there, so you really feel like you have the place to yourself.
It is very "coupley" - our last night there 4 out 5 couples were on their honeymoon (including us).
The snorkelling trip out to Regus island was fantastic. We also walked to the waterfall which like most waterfalls in my experience was a little disappointing, though the walk there takes you to some beautiful empty coves, and an interesting villiage, so would recommend doing it. The malay food is delicious (though the western stuff on the menu wasn't the best).
I have two criticisms, but neither enough to make me detract from my 5 star rating. 1) The drinks are a touch on the pricey side, and 2) A little more could be done to make the rooms nicer, cosier or more relaxing.

But all in all, would love to go back. Note: if you're going you have to book in advance. We got the second worst room (I think) and booked 2 months ahead!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenLondonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus_Place, Owner at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2009

Bagus Place is an idyllic honeymoon location (indeed many marriage proposals have been made here!) but we also welcome groups and families. If all chalets were fully occupied, which is rare, the number of guests at Bagus Place would be 20. Nonetheless, the exclusivity and 'get away from it all' feeling is maintained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed at Bagus for 10 days and now that we are back home we already want to go again. After a very exhausting trip we arrived at Bagus and received a very warm welcome by Anish and Krishna. During the whole vacation they were there for a little chat, advise and of course a nice cocktail. All the other staff was also very friendly and warm, Mus, thanks for making breakfast, lunch and dinner so entertaining. We didn't do much, but we can recommend the snorkling trip to Ringgis Island and the waterfall trip. Also snorkling from the jetty is a great experience. We did manage to swim with a sea turtle! What more to say, beautiful beach, clear water, clean rooms, nice food, privacy and great cocktails!! We sure want to come back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lunahalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews