We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$114
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Impian Inn(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Aguna Resort(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Cheers(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Beach Shack Tioman(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$172
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$340
US$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
271
60
24
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
60
24
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock houseboat houseother guestsfishjetty bartwin peakshoneymoon couplehigh tidemonkeys jumpinggiant squirrelstar luxurylong jettyblack tip sharkswonderful dayssea breezeevery eveningboat ride
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

We have stayed 3 nights at Bagus in a rainforest cabin. We were not very lucky with the ferryschedule, so we had only 2 full days to spend at the resort.

The cabin was good. Everything you needed was there, but nothing more. A good bed and working airconditiong is most important to us, they were there. You can sleep with the sound of nature. The patio outside was really nice as well! The only things I missed was a chair in the living room and an extra towel for my long hair. But, I have not requested for one. It would probably be possible to get one extra.

The surroundings, the nature and the resort jetty that makes it possible to have an easy acces to the water with its coral and fish are amazing! Also the view on the island with its mountains from the jetty is really special. This is THE reason you book this retreat. We loved it.

Staff were relaxed and friendly. Breakfast and lunch (lunch is not included in the price) were good. The main thing we were less happy about was dinner. I have to say, I'm not an easy eater. But we have been 3 weeks in Malaysia and food and drinks were great! But there was not much choice at Bagus, the food got cold very quick and I just did not like a lot of dishes I do like normally. The exception is the vegetable soup on the evening we arrived, that one I really liked.

I think the price is kinda high. I understand the exclusivity of a small resort in these surroundings is a big part of the price. But I think that lunch and more, warm and good dinner options should be included.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Madelon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BagusPlace, Director of Sales at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Madelon,

Greetings from Bagus Place Retreat! Thank you for your kinds words and the time you took to share this with us. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest ensured, that we will take your comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure personal service and hospitality to be better than before. Be informed, that we will also enhance our menu in the coming weeks thanks to your constructive comment. On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future. :)

Warm Regards,
Aliza Sara
Sales & Marketing Manager
Bagus Place Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Bagus Place is a small rustic resort with just 9 or 10 chalets. We stayed for 4 days and would have stayed longer if we could. The Hawksbill Turtle Chalet has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms are new with great showers. The AC in the bedrooms was great, we had to turn it off as it got too cold! The chalets are very simple but comfortable.

The staff at Bagus Place were amazing, friendly and very helpful. Eric was always on hand to serve drinks, answer questions or just play a game of darts!

The food is simple home style Malaysian cooking and very good. There isn't a huge selection and it's not fine dining but what we had was great.

The snorkeling of the jetty is fantastic with plenty to see. If you want to dive, the neighbouring resort has a dive shop.

We have stayed at other resorts on Tioman with more facilities but would choose Bagus every time from now on.

Bagus Place is small with no real facilities but if you are looking to get away for a quiet retreat this is the place.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank SingaporeSlinger72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BagusPlace, Guest Relations Manager at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

On bahalf of Bagus Place Retreat, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would also love to have you longer if we could! Living within the natural surrounding, it can indeed be cold especially at night. It's a paradise on its own if you enjoy a quiet retreat to just rest and relax.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again at Bagus Place Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

"Another day in Paradise" -- their slogan aptly describes the daily experience at Bagus Place. The scenery is breathtaking, the staff is very nice and helpful. The food is delicious and the cuisine is local. Not a fan of sea food or meat? The team will inquire about your dietary wishes and plan accordingly.

Nature lovers will find wild life both at sea and at land to explore and cherish -- just a dive from the location's private jetty or a walk into the deep forest away. If you stay for more than a weekend, make sure to plan a walk to swim at the waterfall!

We stood at the Tree House, a really nice chalet that literally embraces nature. Do you like waking up to the sound of the waves? Do you love to watch the sun go down on the South China Sea from your elevated veranda? This chalet is for you!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BagusPlace, Director of Sales at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Daniel, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care and we hope to see you again real soon!

Warm Regards,
Aliza Sara
Sales & Marketing Manager
Bagus Place Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Tioman is a great island with plenty of resorts to choose from, but if you really want to relax and have a care-free holiday, Bagus is the place to be! The complete resort has this “chill-relaxed-vibe” going on and it’s impossible not to catch this vibe the minute you set foot on the great jetty.
Don’t expect 5 star luxury like the nearby Japamala, if that’s your thing think twice before going here (eg, there’s a buffet dinner instead of a la carte), but we stayed in both and can honestly say we liked Bagus better because of the total picture.
The resort itself is very well maintained, we had a tree house chalet and it was very comfortable. Since you’re in a real tree house, it’s a few steps up, but the whole experience (and the view!) are great.
The resort is very well situated, even though it’s not completely secluded (there’s one resort next to it), you don’t notice that at all. The view from the jetty (preferably with a cocktail) is very nice, overlooking both the ocean and the impressive twin peaks (the highest point of the island).
It has been mentioned in a lot of other reviews, but the whole staff is indeed amazing! They make you feel at home and take great care of you without overdoing it.
We did both snorkel trips to Coral & Ringgis Island and they are definitely worth it (we were lucky enough to see both turtles and sharks!). The house reef is also very nice and easy accessible.
We loved every minute of our stay and will definitely come back one day!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTvdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We had four nights at Bagus Place and it was fabulous. As a family of four we had the 'Big Chief' hut which had a large living area, a huge twin room with a large bathroom and a smaller double with its own bathroom. So as usual the kids got the bigger room which pleased them! The aircon was effective and we could not hear it over the noise of the waves crashing on the beach (which was quite loud!)

From the moment we arrived every single member of staff was relaxed, helpful and smiling. We made good use of the free snorkeling kit although when we were there the water was quite choppy so visibility wasn't great. We also did an afternoon snorkeling trip to a nearby island which was well worth while. On another day we walked to the waterfall which was hot work but well worth it. We got a water taxi back to Bagus for 50R.

We visited in the middle of our three weeks in Malaysia so we had a lot of luggage, most of it needing washing. They took the whole lot away and brought it back the next day ironed and folded. Not cheap but very much appreciated.

There was a bit of wifi - very low strength, very low speed and very intermittent. Just enough to send the odd message but no more. We bought a 4g sim card in KL but even that didn't work due to poor reception so we had no excuse to not relax.

We opted for all inclusive and breakfast lunch and dinner, which seems like a good option as there isn't really anywhere else to go. All the meals were delicious. There was a good choice and you really cannot beat sitting in the restaurant overlooking the beach. Keep an eye open for the huge monitor lizard that lives near the restaurant.

To get 5 stars I think Bagus just needs to add a little bit of polish. In the accommodation, it needs little things like bedside lights, proper bath mats, and somewhere to hang wet kit to dry. Oh, and a lock on the fridge to stop the monkeys from pinching our stuff which the little b******s managed every day despite the doors and windows being locked. In the restaurant, although the food was superb, they clearly struggle with supplies but nevertheless I was surprised that there was little fruit to be seen. I have been to many places around here and there has always been plenty of melon, mango, papaya, bananas etc. And who runs out of feta? It lasts for ages! And one last thing: no normal tea bags. Plenty of the posh ones, but if like me you enjoyed a nice cup of tea then take your own.

Overall, Bagus really is a fabulous place to get away from it all and unwind. It's not glitzy but the service and location make it an experience to cherish.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank LJ-Suth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews