We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breathtaking view with outstanding crews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bagus Place Retreat
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2017

My friend and I stayed at Bagus Place Retreat from 15 - 17 May 2017. We had a very memorable stay, great food, great friends and great experience. Can't wait to tell all of my friends to have the same experience too... Bagus Place Retreat is the best place to get away fro your daily routine. I will be back for sure!

Kindest regards,

Erwin Rachman

Room Tip: All challets come with great view. If there is an option, boat house is the preffered one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BagusPlace, General Manager at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Erwin, Greeting from Bagus Place Retreat! Thank you for choosing our retreat, and for taking the time to write a review! Our retreat aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to give you a pleasant experience with us. On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future.

Warm Regards,
Aliza Sara
Sales & Marketing Manager
Bagus Place Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

We have stayed 3 nights at Bagus in a rainforest cabin. We were not very lucky with the ferryschedule, so we had only 2 full days to spend at the resort.

The cabin was good. Everything you needed was there, but nothing more. A good bed and working airconditiong is most important to us, they were there. You can sleep with the sound of nature. The patio outside was really nice as well! The only things I missed was a chair in the living room and an extra towel for my long hair. But, I have not requested for one. It would probably be possible to get one extra.

The surroundings, the nature and the resort jetty that makes it possible to have an easy acces to the water with its coral and fish are amazing! Also the view on the island with its mountains from the jetty is really special. This is THE reason you book this retreat. We loved it.

Staff were relaxed and friendly. Breakfast and lunch (lunch is not included in the price) were good. The main thing we were less happy about was dinner. I have to say, I'm not an easy eater. But we have been 3 weeks in Malaysia and food and drinks were great! But there was not much choice at Bagus, the food got cold very quick and I just did not like a lot of dishes I do like normally. The exception is the vegetable soup on the evening we arrived, that one I really liked.

I think the price is kinda high. I understand the exclusivity of a small resort in these surroundings is a big part of the price. But I think that lunch and more, warm and good dinner options should be included.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Madelon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BagusPlace, Director of Sales at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Madelon,

Greetings from Bagus Place Retreat! Thank you for your kinds words and the time you took to share this with us. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest ensured, that we will take your comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure personal service and hospitality to be better than before. Be informed, that we will also enhance our menu in the coming weeks thanks to your constructive comment. On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future. :)

Warm Regards,
Aliza Sara
Sales & Marketing Manager
Bagus Place Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Bagus Place is a small rustic resort with just 9 or 10 chalets. We stayed for 4 days and would have stayed longer if we could. The Hawksbill Turtle Chalet has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms are new with great showers. The AC in the bedrooms was great, we had to turn it off as it got too cold! The chalets are very simple but comfortable.

The staff at Bagus Place were amazing, friendly and very helpful. Eric was always on hand to serve drinks, answer questions or just play a game of darts!

The food is simple home style Malaysian cooking and very good. There isn't a huge selection and it's not fine dining but what we had was great.

The snorkeling of the jetty is fantastic with plenty to see. If you want to dive, the neighbouring resort has a dive shop.

We have stayed at other resorts on Tioman with more facilities but would choose Bagus every time from now on.

Bagus Place is small with no real facilities but if you are looking to get away for a quiet retreat this is the place.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank SingaporeSlinger72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BagusPlace, Guest Relations Manager at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

On bahalf of Bagus Place Retreat, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would also love to have you longer if we could! Living within the natural surrounding, it can indeed be cold especially at night. It's a paradise on its own if you enjoy a quiet retreat to just rest and relax.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again at Bagus Place Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

"Another day in Paradise" -- their slogan aptly describes the daily experience at Bagus Place. The scenery is breathtaking, the staff is very nice and helpful. The food is delicious and the cuisine is local. Not a fan of sea food or meat? The team will inquire about your dietary wishes and plan accordingly.

Nature lovers will find wild life both at sea and at land to explore and cherish -- just a dive from the location's private jetty or a walk into the deep forest away. If you stay for more than a weekend, make sure to plan a walk to swim at the waterfall!

We stood at the Tree House, a really nice chalet that literally embraces nature. Do you like waking up to the sound of the waves? Do you love to watch the sun go down on the South China Sea from your elevated veranda? This chalet is for you!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BagusPlace, Director of Sales at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Daniel, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care and we hope to see you again real soon!

Warm Regards,
Aliza Sara
Sales & Marketing Manager
Bagus Place Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Tioman is a great island with plenty of resorts to choose from, but if you really want to relax and have a care-free holiday, Bagus is the place to be! The complete resort has this “chill-relaxed-vibe” going on and it’s impossible not to catch this vibe the minute you set foot on the great jetty.
Don’t expect 5 star luxury like the nearby Japamala, if that’s your thing think twice before going here (eg, there’s a buffet dinner instead of a la carte), but we stayed in both and can honestly say we liked Bagus better because of the total picture.
The resort itself is very well maintained, we had a tree house chalet and it was very comfortable. Since you’re in a real tree house, it’s a few steps up, but the whole experience (and the view!) are great.
The resort is very well situated, even though it’s not completely secluded (there’s one resort next to it), you don’t notice that at all. The view from the jetty (preferably with a cocktail) is very nice, overlooking both the ocean and the impressive twin peaks (the highest point of the island).
It has been mentioned in a lot of other reviews, but the whole staff is indeed amazing! They make you feel at home and take great care of you without overdoing it.
We did both snorkel trips to Coral & Ringgis Island and they are definitely worth it (we were lucky enough to see both turtles and sharks!). The house reef is also very nice and easy accessible.
We loved every minute of our stay and will definitely come back one day!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTvdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
4.8 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 20 in Pulau Tioman
542 reviews
0.5 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
7.6 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 20 in Pulau Tioman
83 reviews
10.2 km away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0.3 km away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#4 of 20 in Pulau Tioman
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagus Place Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagus Place Retreat

Address: | No 1C, Pasir Sarang, Kg Mukut, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: €149 - €299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagus Place Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagus Place Retreat is nestled quietly on one of the most beautiful islands in the world called Tioman. A peaceful sanctuary of breathtaking natural beauty, we invite you to rejuvenate body and mind and be enchanted by the sights and sounds of nature. Our guests will find luscious and unspoiled paradise. Clear waters and lush jungles provide plenty of opportunities for outdoor activities such as jungle trekking, snorkeling, kayaking and diving. If you're lucky enough, Mr. Bagus our sea turtle mascot will come by and say HELLO at our long wooden jetty. It also provides exciting sunset walks and a fascinating look at coral fish. Snorkellers will be rewarded with views of the living tropics reefs of Tioman Island. Bagus Place aims to work in harmony with the environment and the local community, offering a unique holiday experience to our guests. The only ALL-INCLUSIVE RESORT in Tioman Island. Another Day in Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bagus Place Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagus Place Retreat Hotel Pulau Tioman
Bagus Place Retreat Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing