We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bagus Place Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Minang Cove Resort(Pulau Tioman)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Tioman Dive Resort(Pulau Tioman)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Alang's Rawa(Mersing)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
D'Coconut Resort(Pulau Besar)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
263
61
24
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
61
24
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock houseboat houseother guestsfishjetty bartwin peakshigh tidemonkeys jumpinggiant squirrelstar luxurythe south china sealong jettysea breezewatch the sunwonderful daysevery eveningboat ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at Bagus Place at the end of our three-week honeymoon around Malaysia and Borneo, and I have to say it was the highlight of a fantastic trip. We'd done all sorts of activities along the way, so really wanted the last leg to be a chance to just relax and enjoy being in each other's company, in a beautiful place - which is exactly what Bagus Place gave us.

We couldn't fault the hospitality. Yono, the owner, clearly loves what he does, and has created a unique place; and has got some brilliant staff to help him. We stayed in the Rock house chalet, which I would definitely recommend for couples wanting to get away from it all. The accommodation reflects the style of the whole place; simple, authentic, understated and with a natural beauty that fits in perfectly with the feel of the island and its jungle. Don't come here expecting posh, formal surroundings; it's much more modest than that. The bar is a wooden hut on the end of the jetty, as is the restaurant. But it has everything you need for a perfectly relaxing stay.

Apart from one trip to the waterfall, we did little other than relax on the beach and on our balcony, reading, playing scrabble in the bar and even had an in-proptu sing-along session one night with the staff and other guests. We had cocktails upon arrival, a complimentary bottle of wine as the honeymoon couple, and on the first night we were lucky enough to have a beach bbq, where the guys cooked beautiful fresh fish, caught that day. (The food the rest of the stay was great; huge tiger prawns, yummy curries, noodles - and a lot of it).

So, in a nutshell, go here! We couldn't fault it. We just wish we could go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: We loved Rock house Chalet. But they are all pretty good from what we heard. And there are only 6 or 7 chalets in total so it never feels busy - it's often like you have the whole place to yourself.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is a delightful place to have a holiday when you want to do absolutely nothing. Other reviewers have explained the beauty of the place, the friendliness of the staff and the soul of the place so I wont go over that.

Firstly if you don't live in KL or Singapore this is quite a difficult place to get to. Either you travel by road to Mersing and take the ferry which is slow or you catch the plane operated by Berjaya Air. This airline is owned by the operator of the largest hotel on the island so if you wish to stay at their hotel then I would suspect that it is easier to get a seat. If you want to book by the internet site it can be quite difficult indeed.But once there the transfer by boat to Bagus is quite seamless.

The facilities at Bagus are at "the edge" of comfortable and are certainly not luxurious. Our Big Chief hut was one of the first built and although maintenance people are busy all the time the basic facility of the bathroom really now needs major overhaul with paint peeling off the wall, cracked hand basin, split hand basin surround and items such as heavily corroded toothbrush holders. The owners need to reassess their capital expenditure policy against their client base.

This hotel advertises itself as responsible tourism. In many ways they are right, but when plastic flotsam is not picked up off the beach for several days and rubbish such as plastic bags, old tyres and rubbish collection areas are visible only 40 metres from the restaurant one wonders. This is in contrast to gardeners carefully watering and tending the gardens down the other end of the resort. All that needs a little more discipline.

The housekeeping - absolutely immaculate.

Snorkelling - excellent - clown fish, bat fish, green turtles

The food - really really good when they cooked their Malaysian dishes. It was fine but not outstanding when they did their western dishes. The wine list needs a bit of attention, but then maybe there is not high demand.

I may have given the management a bagging but this an ideal place for young and old couples and also for couple with young kids. The honeymooners have their privacy and the kids have a safe beach .

The hotel next door deserves attention. Comments abound in other reviews. Really this is a very large and ugly addition to the bay. It starts only 100 metres from the Bagus restaurant and runs across half of the bay. There is no beach down that end of the bay so the sea will wash up over the accommodation at monsoon high tide. Amazingly the units are built to face inwards and not to the sea so the toilets face the sea. Clearly this resort is built for a different market to that of Bagus but one wonders if the patrons will decide to come down to the Bagus beach changing the feel of the place. So if you are think of coming here get here quick and take those lovely photos of just the Bagus half of the bay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevanDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus_Place, Owner at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank-you for your honest and balanced review. You are a TripAdvisor veteran! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bagus Place.

We would like to apologise that you could see litter on the beach and we do try to sweep the beach every day - clearly this had not been achieved when you were there.

Regarding the wine list, we are rather dependent on the supplier on Tioman Island as to what he has in stock. As you rightly say, Tioman Island is rather remote, so we are unable to offer such a comprehensive selection of wines as you may be used to.

Please also accept our apologies that the fixtures in Big Chief bathroom were not up to a good standard - we do struggle very hard with the climatic conditions (humidity, salty air) and suffer a lot of wear and tear on our property, which we try to keep up with as best we can.

We hope you are able to visit again to see how we have improved!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We are more used to 5 star facilities across Asia, so it took a little while to adapt to Bagus Place.
Yet, at the end of a short stay, we felt like the place had a lot of soul and has provided us with the perfect retreat (this is the proper word to use here) : no phone line, no TV, no wi-fi, no papers. Just delicious home made food, superb welcome from the staff and wonderful settings (loved the snorkeling!). While a bit put-off when we arrived by the resort being built nearby, this was no issue at all and we were left to enjoy the quiet (and rustic) comfort of our beautiful chalet.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Frankieandcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

A resort that truly lives up to its picture postcard promise. 7 nights was not enough. True relaxation and peace, charming hosts, delicious food, like minded fellow guests to share a sunset cocktail over the sea. Crystal clear water, perfect weather and not even any mosquitos. The Rock House was fantastic, beautifully simple and comfortable, cooled by the sea breeze. Thank you Anish and Krishna and Yoni - especially for great fun BBQ night limbo and song.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - by the sea or the rainforest
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

With friendly hospitality, excellent food, very comfortable accommodation, great bathroom surrounded by paradise, It had everything I hoped for in a lay back holiday. I'm already planning my next holiday in Bagus Place Retreat.
The walk to the water fall is a must, and not hard to do. More butterflies than I've seen anywhere. The village on the way has an old world charm that you don't find much any more. Carry a few ringets to buy an ice cream.
Snorkling off the jetty is a very convenient way to see hundreds of amazing different coloured fish. No need for resort pool the ocean is so perfect.
I don't feel I've done the place justice with this wrap so check it out for yourself.
Cheers John and Julie

Room Tip: We stayed at the rock house and were very pleased with its spaciousness, simplicity, location, private verandah and ocean view and very modern bathroom. Proper sprung mattresses.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews