We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
284
65
24
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
65
24
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat houseflying foxtree houseeagle viewfishtwin peakslaid backgiant squirrelthe dragonthe south china seamonkeys jumpingstar luxurylong jettyblack tip sharkslittle piece of paradiseboat ridesmall sharks
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Me and my husband went to Tioman Island in April and stayed 4 nights at the Bagus resort for our anniversary, we have never seen anywhere like it. The island itself is beautiful, we were picked up from the airport and took a 25min boat ride to the resort. The view was amazing, it was like a postcard. We met the staff who were all so helpful and welcoming.
We stayed in the new Rumah Laut chalet, i would definetly recommend this chalet if you can get it. It was spacious, and located closest to the sea with a fantastic view. The four post bed was so comfortable and pretty.
The food was really tasty and there was a great variety, something for everyone. We had fresh fish on the beach one night by the bon fire.
My husband did some snorkelling which he really enjoyed, i saw some baby sharks and colourful fishes without even getting in the water. We also did a trek to the waterfall led by Krishna, I wasnt sure about going initally, not my idea of fun but i actually really enjoyed it and was so glad i went after seeing the waterfall area.
Overall we had the most relaxing time here, the view and nature is like nothing we have seen before. I will definetly be going back.

Room Tip: i would definetly recommend Rumah Laut, best chalet on the resort!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This place is magical....
When we got picked up at the airport by Krishna we knew this place was going to be special. The boat ride was a smooth 25 minutes to Bagus. When we arrived it looked spectacular. Just like a postcard. Anish met us at the bar and we got advised of how Bagus worked, the staff and had a complementary drink. And shown to our chalet. The rock house is amazing. We spent 3 nights here and every night we fell asleep with our door open listening to waves and watching the water from our bed. Amazing.
There is no pressure into doing anything so you can snorkle, read or relax on a sunlounge when ever you want. The trip to the waterfall is a must. When you get there it is refreshing, cold flowing water.
The food was good. I loved our first dinner the most (indian), although bbq night was good eating on the sand, gazing at the stars, with a bon fire.
Yono was a great man to talk to, he provided us with alot of info.

Room Tip: All the chalets have different characteristics, choose what you feel suits you.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Amazing place with nice staff. Very relaxing with a great reef for snorkelling. Massage available and simply pure relaxation at its best.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rohan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

That is what they have printed on their souvenir T-shirts and how true it is. Difficult to know where to start with the superlatives for there are many. The location itself is idyllic and with just seven well-hidden, chalet-type houses on the edge of the jungle and almost on the beautiful beach. Plenty of space at the resort to find your own private space. Excellent library with the top-class massage facility above.
The Boat House was comfortable and cleaned every day. Nice to awaken every morning to the sound of the monkeys scrambling about and the endless chorus of exotic birds. Free use of the kayaks and snorkling gear and diving trips arranged at the drop of a hat.
It would be easy to write a review just about the food. A good breakfast and lunch and a dinner which would be hard to better. Five or six dishes each evening. We were there for 13 nights and didn't have the same dish twice! That takes some doing and speaks highly of the cook.
A well-stocked bar with excellent service is a place to unwind after a difficult day just enjoying life and those few hours interrupted only to watch the reef sharks being fed.
A hidden attraction was that the place was full of like-minded people. People who appreciate nature and a relaxed, quiet life.
Our hosts, Krishna and Anish and all the staff could not have done more to make it a special holiday and yes, every day at Bagus Place is "Another Day in Paradise."

Room Tip: Difficult to generalised. Depends on age/fitness or whether there are children in the party, but before booking, Claire on their email address will give you every assistance and the benefit of her intimate knowledge of Bagus Place.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monsoonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed for one week, 2 adults & 2 boys aged 6 & 7 years - we loved it!
Just a natural beach, we started snorkeling directly from the beach to the colorful corals at your footstep, we took tours in the free canoes..... - we all loved it!
Very friendly people and a set menue at lunch time & dinner - perfect for us - there is a little choice menu for the kids in case they did not like the local fresh food (which ours did).
All day long and in the evening, you can get a cold drink or cocktail at the bar on the water - a dream location.
The rooms are "in the trees", perfectly simple with no windows - so the monkey visited us day & sometimes at night - a great adventure in the nature.
No place for luxury-ressort-addicted travelers (mobile phone reception only sometimes & no TV :-).....), but a paradise for those travelers in search of nature & calm & no "artificial or electronic" animation - but only hermit crabs to play with ;-).

Room Tip: every "tree house" is different, so look up on the web-side
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews