We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bagus Place Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$152
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$168
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Tioman Dive Resort(Pulau Tioman)
US$67
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
Impian Inn(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Cheers(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Beach Shack Tioman(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$46
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Minang Cove Resort(Pulau Tioman)
US$223
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$180
US$173
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$432
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
269
60
24
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
60
24
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock houseboat houseother guestsfishjetty bartwin peakshoneymoon couplehigh tidemonkeys jumpinggiant squirrelstar luxurylong jettysea breezewonderful daysevery eveningboat ridenatural beauty
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We wanted a short, realxing break to get away from the busy world of Singapore and we got that and so much more. Picked up from the airport by speed boat, drink on arrival and friendly, relaxed service throughout our stay. Bagus Place isn't five star luxury but it really does allow you to escape in a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. No mobile service, no internet, bliis! Oh - and swimming with turtles was just one of the highlights. There's a development being built just along the beach - we hope it doesn't take away from the small, intimate charm of Bagus. Thanks to the Bagus team for a great stay - we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The accommodation was gorgeous (we had the Tree House) and the food and tranquility excellent. We discovered snorkelling for the first time and loved it, plus we thoroughly enjoyed our excursion to the waterfall and the walk back through the village and forest.

Room Tip: We thought the Tree House was delightful, but I'm sure they're all good.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KazDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Bagus Place is relaxing and a very nice place with very friendly staff. My boyfriend and me stayed for 5 nights and it was fantastic. Enjoy the place, the great snorkeling and diving opportunities and the walk to the waterfall. In May we will go again :-)

Room Tip: We liked the rock house!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marytom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed at bagus for three nights during our honeymoon. It was everything we hoped it would be - beautiful, secluded and the snorkelling just off the pier was really good. It is so rare to find somewhere so beautiful that is accessed only by the six rooms. We stayed in two different rooms as the rooms reserve very earlier - the tree house especially we found amazing - how often do you get to stay in a room with a tree growing through it!

We got the Bagus boat to drop us to the waterfall and then it was a very nice walk back where we saw monkeys and a monitor lizard.

The buffet dinners were very good. If I was to make any suggestions it would be the lunch menu was a little limited (didn't change) and portions were a little small (maybe I'm just greedy!). Also drinks prices once your there were quite expensive (I know that everything needs to be shipped in but other places on the island didn't seem to have quite the same mark-up - although I recognise this retreat does just cater for the six rooms!)

Overall though this is definitely one of the most exclusive places I have ever stayed - not necesarily the most luxorious but as a place to excape to where you won't be hassled and you can enjoy paradise this place I would suggest is almost unrivalled!

Just as a suggestion to anyone planning on staying here (especially if on honeymoon) and also staying in KL - the traders hotel with access to the traders exclusive floor overlooking the Towers was seriously luxorious.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed there in October 2011. It was ok, but did not met our high expectations for two reasons: 1. Tide effects with very low tide during daytime made it difficult to enjoy beach and water during the day at that time of the year. At arrival in the afternoon the coastal area appeared like moon surface. So the first impression which we got was quite strange 2. Building of a new resort right next to the resort brought noise to the resort. The new resort is very close to Bagus and will become quite big. Therefore it may give Bagus Retreat a hard time in the future because the exceptional atmosphere of the former jungle feeling of Bagus Retreat may suffer. We may not come back for that reason. Anish and Krishna did a wonderful job, but they could help for the issues mentioned above.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Traveler1103Ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews