We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
26
9
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
9
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hut signal boat paradise beach sea nature accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Overall: I think that this is the best among the seaside accommodation. I would like to come back to Nipah, lovely place again.

1. Location
The chalet is on the beautiful and quiet beach in Kampung Nipah. Completely isolated from busy and noisy city. Landscape changes drastically between low tide and high tide. This is one of my favorite place on the earth.

2. Chalet
There are 2 buildings; one has 10 guest rooms (2 rooms are only for staff), and another has reception and restaurant. Guest room is not well-maintained, but I can feel the atmosphere of village life. There are no internet or cellphone connection. I have been clam during my stay.

3. Dinning
Guests have meals at the restaurant of the chalet because there are no other restaurant, shop or bar. Meals cooked by manager's wife are delicious but simple.

4. Airport transfer
I have booked airport transfer by phone. The fare is RM 150 one way. Make sure that there is no ATM around the chalet. It took half an hour from Tioman airport to the chalet by boat.

5. Staff
Very kind and friendly. I have never met such staffs of accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazuya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

After a hectic time travelling around Australia we had arrived in Singapore crossed the border into Malaysia and were contemplating where to stay on Tioman island - our plan was to island hop up the east coast of Malaysia having done the west before Australia.
We arrived in Mersing and went to BLUEWATER to book a ferry and the guy there convinced us to stay in Bersatu Nipah Chalets after we told him we wanted total relaxation. He said he would refund us if it wasn't quiet and relaxing - so we booked 6 nights.

On arrival we were dropped at Genting pier and then promptly picked up by our water taxi to be taken to Nipah beach. The island is gorgeous and you get a good view of how jungle clad it is from the water taxi, with just little beaches sporadically appearing inbetween tumbling green jungle karsts. It was pure beauty.

The beach chalets are basic, but comfortable, perfect for an island and beach like this. They have good balconies and are facing the sea right on the beach. There is an estuary running alongside the guesthouse which in April got deep enough to dive in but when we returned in July was so low we had to drag the boat across the sand and shallow water. You can go in the boat and be taken on a little estuary jungle trip around the back of the guesthouse where you might be lucky to spot the resident snake which is huge - and may have a big bulge in its tummy from that days catch!

The guesthouse next door which is set back of the beach has a good restaurant if you want variation of menu and the staff are lovely - the two older women don't speak much English but the young lads who overall run the gh do, and are lovely. They have a resident one armed monkey which they rescued from the jungle.

Every evening there is a game of volleyball with the staff and residents of both guesthouses which is a good bonding/meeting new people. Every now and then they have a beach fire and BBQ which is nice for everyone from both guesthouses attending. Nipah is a magical place, just small and for people who want a low key recharge of the batteries in surrounding natuaral beauty. It's a place I will return to every now and then to see how the island changes (and also to check up on the coconut tree I planted there). The staff who run the guesthouse are lovely and accommodating, a married couple, the guys best friend from school and a few others who are all very friendly. It's the Malaysian way!

Activities on the island are abundant, they include: diving, hiking, snorkelling, fishing trips, boat trips, visiting the other beaches on the other side of the island, and general chilling out, reading a book, having a beer, eating traditional Malaysian home cooking. Some of my best memories of travelling on this little beach in Malaysia. :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slipski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

A lot of travelers always have a few places that are close to their hearts, that they like to think of it as "their little secret", a place that not many others know about, a place that reminds you what it might have been like to travel in South East Asia before the onset of a multitude of hotels and touristic development. For me, this place is one of them.

I stayed 3 nights during a one month trip around Malaysia.

Firstly, the setting is amazing. The place can only be reached by a small speedboat (it is possible to reach here by trekking through the jungle but it would be a very hard slog), so this inaccessibility gives it a very secluded feel. The mountains rise dramatically from the beach to the mountains, the natural sounds of the jungle, the greens and blues of the natural scenery and the sounds from the jungle all add to the appeal. It is very beautiful.

The longhouse comprises of 10 fairly basic rooms. They are clean, water is available all day from the shower, the rooms always seemed to feel chilled and comfortible during the nights, they are right on the beach literally. They are all very quiet. 60RM a night.

Once you have called and booked up they will organise someone to come pick you up at the jetty (the first stop of the main ferry from Mersing...so don't miss it). Its a thrilling ride past other beaches and around headlands that build up anticipation.

The staff are some of the most friendly and genuine people you could meet. They really set out to make your time here memorable. If you want something they try and sort it out immediately and they are always there to give you smile, a chat, information or whatever. If you want to leave the beach and find another spot you can be taken out by boat and the staff members are very well-informed about the best snorkling spots.

The snorkling off the beach was very good. You have two main options, the headland to the right of the longhouses and the rocks about 150M to the left. We saw sting rays, a multitude of fish and a few sharks that came down to have a look. The water is clear and when you come up from the water and look back to the island its a lovely view.

There isn't a lot to do except lay on the beach, relax, read, sleep, swim. Its very relaxing. We were sharing this beach with only two other families. Not bad for 13 pounds a night right?

The staff are always ready to smile, laugh and joke. I never felt that it was forced or "part of the package". Come breakfast, lunch or dinner, you ask what they have (there is a menu available but some items might not be available), alternatively you can ask for a fusion of things that are on offer. The food was very good (try Amy's prawn curry). You don't need money, you just write it down on some paper and the total can be paid when you leave (although you can also pay on the spot if you worry about your cost adding up).

Incredibly good value, wonderful people (Ali, Don, Api and Amy), beautiful scenic spot, not many other travelers. Forget ABC and Salang (i stayed at these places either before or later), Nipah is a wonderful spot. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lardylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We spent a few days there in April and loved every minute of it. Thank you for keeping your doors open at Nipah and being the great friends you are.

Nipah had a lot of snorkeling to offer just off the beach, or lazing in the sun, taking a walk in the forests behind to a stream above.. lots to do. We had our days full and evenings with lots of chatter and fun. Emi, the food we had there was the best we had on our trip - a favourite was the Nasi Goreng with the fried anchovies. Jalil, it was such fun just being there - and real sorry about dropping your key into the sea.. I don't think I'll forget the look on your face for a while :)

Don, thanks for all the stories and music - we did have an awesome group around the bonfire. Have started plucking away at my guitar now.. also thanks for the most awesome boat rides - take care and hope to see you all soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We really enjoyed staying in Bersatu Nipah Chalets. Nice rooms straight on the beach. Great swimming, snorkeling and hiking in jungle and waterfalls. Staff of this place is super friendly,and food was very good.
We stayed at neighbour hotel too, but this was better. You can choose with ac or not, and rooms are bigger and better, restaurant is bigger and better too.
Here you have only softdrinks in cans and beer too, so if you like to have wine etc. bring it with you. You can buy it in Genting, or staff can bring it if you ask.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews