We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
45
49
11
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
49
11
9
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We stayed at The Hotel Tropicana for two nights over the Christmas holiday. The bungalows are small, but cosy, well-designed and comfortable. We used the safe without any problems at all and did not have any problems with security. The pool was a delight in the heat of the season and many of the guests enjoyed relaxing around it during the day and using the free wireless provided. With so many bungalows around the pool, I expected it to be noisy at night, but it was very quiet and peaceful.

Even though we had had a misunderstanding regarding our laundry, the staff washed it late afternoon for us so we would have clean clothes for our voyage the next day. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gail o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

i stayed at Tropicana for two nights with my husband and we immediately loved the place. the garden is amazing, bungalows are clean, simply but fresh and cozy, staff and owner are very nice and helpful. Tropicana is also very well located, it's easy to reach the downtown. plus the restaurant serves delicious food. defintely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scocci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2014

The Hotel was clean, staff was very friendly and the place was just great. The service was excellent and the surroundings enjoyable. The pool in the middle was great and the mango trees surrounding kept dropping fruit into the pool and around it. The warm water actually worked (after a while). The reason I only gave 3 stars is because someone in the staff went through my stuff and stole 55 €. It was there in my wallet on the first day, but when we left, it was all gone.. They did have a safety deposit box inside the bungalows, which I didn't use. It explains why it was easy for someone in the staff to steal, but it does not excuse them stealing, which is why I am writing.
I wrote to Tropicana explaining this and hopefully they'll get back to me soon. I'm not sad for the money, but the action bothers me as it left a bitter taste and Tropicana doesn't deserve that.

Room Tip: In case Le Tropicana doesn't care about this action, I say- lock everything of ANY value up and if you have something that doesn't fit inside the safety deposit box, like a computer or a tablet, make sure you pester the reception and make them lock it up at your demand everytime you're out. And if you find the cleaning lady sneaking around your door and when encountered and confronted, in a panic, starts pretending that she only came around to show you how to use the mosquito net- that's a warning sign.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The hotel is located on a very potholed street and is not much to look at from the outside. Once inside, the hotel has a pleasant welcoming garden with a pool. The poolside seating and dining areas are also very pleasant.

The hotel rooms are average and our bed sagged in the middle, although others said their beds were better. The bathroom is just OK, but there was a shower curtain, which we didn't have other places we stayed in Madagascar.

Just one warning. Don't leave your clothes on the floor. Even though we were told that we should put laundry in a basket with a form for cleaning, the maid just picked up random clothes off of the floor and sent them to the laundry. Money in the pockets came back missing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acscf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cigales84, Propriétaire at Hotel Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews