We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising and awesome desert experience!”
Review of Milky Way Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Milky Way Ecolodge
Ranked #25 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Reviewed 1 April 2017

When my friend and I arrived at the camp, we received a warm welcome from Louay and Radi. What was supposed to be initially a 2 nights trip, we finally stayed for 3 nights and came back after adventures in Israel. The beauty of the desert is calming and hypnotizing. I would recommend to all type of travelers a visit to the camp for at least two nights. The food is delicious and there is hot water in the showers.
Definitely one of my greatest travel memories!

Room Tip: All houses are well located and with an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2017

My friend and I were travelling without any real plan, we had anticipated spending 2 days and one night in Wadi Rum but in fact stayed for 5 nights! The camp is located in a beautiful area, far from the village, with just terracotta sand and crazy mountains in your view. Despite the camp being remote it was still fully equipped with bathrooms and showers (with HOT WATER!), a proper kitchen and a great relaxation space around the fire. Honestly, I was not expecting such luxury. We had a great time touring around the desert in the 4X4, being shown hidden wadis, ancient inscriptions, huge dunes and best of all the best sunset I have ever seen! As we stayed longer a few days longer and met other travellers we were even able to do some hikes in the desert mountains there, this is something I highly recommend if you have the time. There are amazing local guides that can show you any hike to suit your ability and needs, we were really well looked after, and saw some beautiful, not so easily accessible areas of Wadi Rum. As one last final point, the food is also great, its all freshly cooked on camp, and all traditional Bedouin food, it makes the experience all the more authentic. Nothing is ever too much trouble, we were so overwhelmed by how generous, friendly and helpful people were. All the best to everyone working at the camp, and we hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms are all shared cabins, there is no difference really between them, but all comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Georgie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We arrived around 10:30am to meet our guide Abdalla. Left our car at the village center, then jumped into his 4x4 for the start of the desert tour. The tour was excellent enough, Abdalla is an easy going guy, talked about where we were going. Around lunch time we headed into our camp, dropped off our bags, and had lunch (hummus, cucumber and tomatoe salad, fava beans - ful mudammas, flat bread, tinned tuna ). After lunch we continued on to some other sites which involved some walking which we loved. The desert can be so quiet.

We headed back to camp around 5pm, relaxed and mostly sat around gawping at the amazing vista. Dinner was a bigger version of lunch with roast meat and vegetables. We sat around the fire for a while, then went outside looking up at the milky way, so many stars! Headed off to bed around 12pm, late February, it was COLD! We had to sleep in our thermals and jackets, note that the bed covers are really heavy! So you may be better off and more comfortable with your own sleeping bag. Bathroom was good enough, hot showers, clean. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was quite basic, not far off from lunch. The small huts don't have lighting, good job we brought along a small hanging LED light. I also had some ear plugs as the huts aren't sound proof in anyway so we could easily hear the other guests talking and moving around.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kai_of_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Booking was easy, meeting the guide was easy, and they accommodated all of our requests for a jeep tour, dinner, and camel rides. Fantastic spot for a camp up against the rocks with soft sand for the kids to play in. Tents had basic beds in them and the toilet facilities were clean and one shower even had warm water. Lovely owners!

Room Tip: Bring your own towels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PHPexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We arrived at the Wadi Rum village around 3.30pm, and Khalid picked us up for a 15min drive into the camp. The sun is setting right behind you, so you remain in the shade while watching the light fade all over the desert in front of you for a truly amazing sight.
The tea made by khalid was probably the best I ever had: Black tea with sage and thyme, right amount of sugar.
The 4WD half day tour was superb, mixing drive, walking through canyon and climbing arches. Because there is no light pollution, at night you see an incredible amount of stars in the sky.
Khalid is patient, kind, and always made sure you had all what you needed - I highly recommend this experience!
TIP: Bring a torchlight, trust me you will need it..

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sebastien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
3.7 km away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
4.5 km away
Wadi Rum Sky - Tours and Camp
9.7 km away
Wadi Rum Green Desert
Wadi Rum Green Desert
#23 of 138 in Wadi Rum
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#12 of 138 in Wadi Rum
530 reviews
5.6 km away
Discovery Bedu
Discovery Bedu
#13 of 138 in Wadi Rum
88 reviews
2.7 km away
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
#2 of 138 in Wadi Rum
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Way Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Way Ecolodge

Address: Wadi Rum Protected area, Wadi Rum 11191, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range: €42 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Milky Way Ecolodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wadi Rum Protected Area, the ecolodge Milky Way provides comfort and a magnificent view over the desert. Our accommodation consists in private Bedouin tents that can accommodate one to six people. Each tent is equipped with beds, mattresses, pillows, bed linen and comfortable duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Milky Way Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing