We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but BRING EAR PLUGS!!!”
Review of Thyesza Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samosir Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thyesza Guesthouse
Ranked #22 of 28 Samosir Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Stayed at Thyesza's for about five days and has mixed review. First thing first - location. It's in a very tranquil part of toba called Ambarita (not Tuk Tuk as google earth shows). Good thing is the guest house has a very nice water front where you can sit and just watch time pass, the bad thing is it's absolutely far away from everything. There are no taxi services in Toba and the only way out is if you rent a bike for about 150,000Rs/day. Having seen how the local drive in Toba, we gave it a miss. It seems to be incredibly popular with locals who drive their vehicle onto the island.

The guest house is very basic with paper thin walls where you can hear your neighbour sneeze. We were unfortunate to be there over the New Year period and Barbara Guest House next door were having Karaoke from 1am-3am, no one can sleep a wink! During the day there will be screaming kids, during the night karaoke. We had intended to have some quiet time and it was frustrating that we couldn't get rest.

The good parts, the lake is beautiful and Theysza is a lovely family. We spent time watching the dog chase the cats and their 7 kids running around the huge compound. Being so far away, it is almost impossible to go anywhere else for food... but luckily, Thyesza is a fabulous cook so we enjoyed every meal. Her ayam mentega, bbq chicken, fried fish, gado gado are absolutely must-trys.

So would I recommend friends? I guess... it's pretty decently priced but don't expect hotel standard facilities and services. (Expect the usual asian problems with toilets) The room is absolutely basic but the garden and lake is so beautiful anyway that you don't really want to stay in the room. Bring ear plugs for sure, no amenities such as towel, soap, toothbrush or towels. And ask the owners to help arrange a tour around the island if you don't feel up to biking around toba.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livresse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2010

We had fantastic time at Thyesza. Mama Thyesza is a wonderful woman. She was so caring & warm when we got to her hotel at night (after long tiring day). She cooked WONDERFUL dinner. We decided to have dinner every night at the hotel, we had great meal everytime we were there. She is really taking care of her visitors. The room is large & clean, the bathroom is surprisingly very clean & has a nice view of the mountain. We had very good times at her guesthouse. Well worth trip to Samosir indeed!

You can see pictures of this wonderful guesthouse at my photo website:
http://karinaboese.smugmug.com/Places-in-The-World/My-Indonesia/Indonesia-Trip-2010/12702083_adX4G#915262859_gzNG3

I'm glad that we decided to stay at Thyesza guesthouse!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kboese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We spent 3 Nights at Thyesza Guesthouse and really enjoyed it!
The Toba lake is already a quite place, but if you want to be for yourself you don't go to the backpacker busy palce Tuk-tuk but to the Guesthouse Thyesza!

You can swim alone on the large lake or have a delicious dinner, cooked by Ibu Thyesza.
The Guesthouse also provides a tour arround the island of Samosir.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VincentU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

My hubby and I visited Samosir (may 2010) and had a awesome holiday staying at Thyesza Guesthouse. Thyesza is located next to the lake. You can practically just jump in for a swim. The water is clear and cool - wonderful to cool down on a hot day. In front of us is this massive volume of clear cool water and behind us are the mountains - what a sight!!! For the more adventurous, you can go hiking or trekking, then follow by canoeing/snokerling in the lake.

The nite the best time with its cool breeze and watching the clear skies, drinking cool BIntang beers and fresh BBQ fish from the lake. The nite is cool so you do not need air-cond in the room. However, a fan will be nice in the room.

The price is fantastic and the whole 3 days/2 nites - real value for money.

On the 1st nite, we were treated to a BBQ with fresh fish from the lake. The sauce that came with the fish ( slightly spicy) was heavenly. On the 2nd nite, Mama Thyesza prepared satay and it was delicious. Don't forget to try the french toast with honey for breakfast.

To reach Samosir you need to take a boat or ferry from Parapat. Parapat is est. 4 hrs drive from Medan. We recommend you hire a private car to pick you up from the airport and go straight to Parapat and then a boat or ferry to Samosir. Can or email Mama Thyesza and she can arrange for someone to pick you up at the pier to the guesthouse. I recommend taking the boat rather than the ferry - which is faster and ore comfortable.

99% of the people leaving in Samosir are the Batak folks who are Christians. They are warm, friendly people. They sings beautifully as e hear the music and singing coming out of the many churches around Samosir on Sunday.

Samosir is a place to relax with friends and loved ones, enjoy nature - one of the few place on earth that had yet to be spoilt by too much development. If you looking active activities - disco/karaoke/shopping, then this is not the right place for you.

We going back to Samosir and staying at Thyesza again in July 2010.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimchinglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We discover the beautiful place when we round island by motorbike after visited The Stone Chairs & museum at Simanindo having stop at guesthouse for break. Mama Thyesza was great chef & nice person preparing cake, tea & all meaks- feeling like stay at home! View of lake was fantastic really have a great stay on following day!

Pohye from Penang, Malaysia

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pohye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samosir Island hotels
34.1 km away
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
#4 of 7 in Samosir Island
18 reviews
5.3 km away
Samosir Villa Resort
Samosir Villa Resort
#11 of 28 in Samosir Island
233 reviews
6.6 km away
Reggae Guest House
Reggae Guest House
#1 of 10 in Tuktuk
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Horas Family Home
Horas Family Home
#1 of 28 in Samosir Island
391 reviews
5.6 km away
Toba Village Inn
Toba Village Inn
#2 of 28 in Samosir Island
230 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#1 of 7 in Samosir Island
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thyesza Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thyesza Guesthouse

Address: Ambarita | Lake Toba, Samosir Island, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Samosir Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Samosir Island
Price Range: €3 - €6 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thyesza guesthouse and restaurant is beautifully situated on the waterfront of Lake Toba. Enjoy tranquility and sweet idleness; try delicious Indonesian and European cuisine; take a swim, or go on an adventurous hike up the mountain and get a phenomenal view onto the lake or enjoy the hot springs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing