We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Laster Jony's Guest House(Samosir Island)(Great Value!)
US$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$127
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samosir Cottages resort(Samosir Island)
US$39
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Horas Family Home(Samosir Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Judita Cottage(Samosir Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
Toba Village Inn(Samosir Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mas Cottages(Samosir Island)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Sony Guesthouse(Tuktuk Siadong)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Carolina(Samosir Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
10
14
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
14
2
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We had fantastic time at Thyesza. Mama Thyesza is a wonderful woman. She was so caring & warm when we got to her hotel at night (after long tiring day). She cooked WONDERFUL dinner. We decided to have dinner every night at the hotel, we had great meal everytime we were there. She is really taking care of her visitors. The room is large & clean, the bathroom is surprisingly very clean & has a nice view of the mountain. We had very good times at her guesthouse. Well worth trip to Samosir indeed!

You can see pictures of this wonderful guesthouse at my photo website:
http://karinaboese.smugmug.com/Places-in-The-World/My-Indonesia/Indonesia-Trip-2010/12702083_adX4G#915262859_gzNG3

I'm glad that we decided to stay at Thyesza guesthouse!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kboese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We spent 3 Nights at Thyesza Guesthouse and really enjoyed it!
The Toba lake is already a quite place, but if you want to be for yourself you don't go to the backpacker busy palce Tuk-tuk but to the Guesthouse Thyesza!

You can swim alone on the large lake or have a delicious dinner, cooked by Ibu Thyesza.
The Guesthouse also provides a tour arround the island of Samosir.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VincentU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

My hubby and I visited Samosir (may 2010) and had a awesome holiday staying at Thyesza Guesthouse. Thyesza is located next to the lake. You can practically just jump in for a swim. The water is clear and cool - wonderful to cool down on a hot day. In front of us is this massive volume of clear cool water and behind us are the mountains - what a sight!!! For the more adventurous, you can go hiking or trekking, then follow by canoeing/snokerling in the lake.

The nite the best time with its cool breeze and watching the clear skies, drinking cool BIntang beers and fresh BBQ fish from the lake. The nite is cool so you do not need air-cond in the room. However, a fan will be nice in the room.

The price is fantastic and the whole 3 days/2 nites - real value for money.

On the 1st nite, we were treated to a BBQ with fresh fish from the lake. The sauce that came with the fish ( slightly spicy) was heavenly. On the 2nd nite, Mama Thyesza prepared satay and it was delicious. Don't forget to try the french toast with honey for breakfast.

To reach Samosir you need to take a boat or ferry from Parapat. Parapat is est. 4 hrs drive from Medan. We recommend you hire a private car to pick you up from the airport and go straight to Parapat and then a boat or ferry to Samosir. Can or email Mama Thyesza and she can arrange for someone to pick you up at the pier to the guesthouse. I recommend taking the boat rather than the ferry - which is faster and ore comfortable.

99% of the people leaving in Samosir are the Batak folks who are Christians. They are warm, friendly people. They sings beautifully as e hear the music and singing coming out of the many churches around Samosir on Sunday.

Samosir is a place to relax with friends and loved ones, enjoy nature - one of the few place on earth that had yet to be spoilt by too much development. If you looking active activities - disco/karaoke/shopping, then this is not the right place for you.

We going back to Samosir and staying at Thyesza again in July 2010.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimchinglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We discover the beautiful place when we round island by motorbike after visited The Stone Chairs & museum at Simanindo having stop at guesthouse for break. Mama Thyesza was great chef & nice person preparing cake, tea & all meaks- feeling like stay at home! View of lake was fantastic really have a great stay on following day!

Pohye from Penang, Malaysia

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pohye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

The great thing about Theysza Guesthouse are actually two things: the owner and the location. The owner, who calls herself Mama Theysza, is the type of manager that wants to make sure you're fine. If it rains she'll run out wiht an umbrella to guide you from the lakeside tables to the homey inside of the guesthouse. The location is as easy and silent as you can imagine and wish it to be. It's close but not in the middle of the most touristic places around lovely lake Toba. We had some days to remember with smiles on our faces.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADutchCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews