We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
10
14
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
14
2
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were at this guesthouse for one day at the end of Aug during the Indonesia national long holiday. Most of the hotels and guesthouses in Tuk Tuk were fully booked in advance. This guesthouse charged us 5 times higher than normal. The guesthouse is far away from Tomok Jetty. We were first pleased by the owner to pick us up from the Jetty. The room has no TV and no air conditioning; and it has no hot shower as well; but, all these came under our expectations. Once we arrived, we found the guesthouse was too remote. There was nothing to do except watching other families playing in the lake. We asked the owner (the only available driver we were able to access) if he could take us to tour around the island; he did not want and indeed tried to organize a plan on the following day which we had to leave in the early morning with (what we think) a relatively high price. Such arrangement had already spoiled our trip. The upset eased a little bit with the good food provided by the cook of this guesthouse. The horrible part came at night. We found our room was between a family who had booked 2 rooms between us. The wall between rooms is very thin. In our room, we could clearly hear the children yelling and parents shouting and it is so thin that every corner of our room could hear the sound clearly until 01:00 in the morning. The worst part came when people using the toilets upstairs and next to us, certain odor came directly from our toilet and quickly spread in our room the entire night. We only had 2 options, stayed awake and outside the room or sleeping with the door opened. I had chosen the first option with a sleepless night after a long day of travelling from Barestagi.
Stayed in this guesthouse is my worst experience in recent years travelling regarding to the price I paid, the location, the room quality and the services this guesthouse provided. We found nothing to do in this guesthouse except viewing the lake for 24 hours. I would suggest people staying at Tuk Tuk where more guesthouses and hotels are available and more transportation facilities to choose. However, if you are travelling using your own car in low season, you may rate this guesthouse differently.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank KatNoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Booked this place after reading all the good reviews. Regretted staying here. Correspondance via email was slow. Though a pick-up was arranged by Thyesza guesthouse owner upon our arrival at Medan airport, an assigned driver who met us upon our arrival was trying to rip us off by asking for a much higher price than initially agreed upon with the guesthouse for a trip from Medan to Lake Toba on the next day. He even made up story that he helped us book a hotel where he took us to for a night stay in Medan, that he had paid some deposit on our behalf. He made us pay the 'deposit' to him and the balance to the hotel. We suspected he was fishy but we didnt want to complicate things so we gave him the money. We found out later that the actual room rates on the price list at the counter that the driver was trying to block it from our sight when we were making the payment to the hotel staff. Very honest people!!

The journey from Medan to Parapat was not too bad. Except I was totally uncomfortable that the driver was pretentious instead of being profesional, expecting us to pay for hi lunch. He just left us there at the ferry point and with no clear direction given to us at which point along Samonir Island we were supposed to get down to go to the guesthouse. We were trying to communicate with the locl but it seemed everyone was trying to get buiness from us offering a motorbike ride to the place. It was totally a waste of time n a mess going through the exerience. Some big sized man claimed that he was assigned by the guesthouse to pik us up with his motorbike! How on earth could he fit 2 girls with luggges on that beat up bike of his a the same time! We did not trust all his words no matter how much he was trying to convince us. It was a horrible experience trying figure out if those people really true. We walked away, the local men were staring at us, none really looked any genuine in helping us find a way to the guesthouse. Finally we got into a local bus that was stuffed with passengers and finally reached the guesthouse. And so we thought everything was supposed to be arranged, but we were wrong!

We were seriously upset with such service that was not professionally carried out. The dissapoinment did not stop there. It seemed like they liked to take their own sweet time to attend to our needs. Our stay in Lake Toba was short and it was further shortened by their laid back attitude. There was nothing much to do there. One of the nights the local guests who came with families and friends were partying, making loud noise, drinking and playing loud music and turned this guesthouse into their own home disco place. It disturbed our sleep!!

Avoid this place if you are a backpacker and want to get the best out of Samosir Island. Tuk tuk has much more to offer -- villages, paddy fields, beautiful views of the lake and hills. We moved to a traditional Batak style guesthouse. It is a bit old but if you like the experience of staying in a local Batak house, this is the place. And the family that runs the guesthouse is friendly.

Just some word of advice to female travellers, be very careful with the local men. Be firm and do not easily get too comfortable or friendly with them. Many tend to lure female foreigners and get something out of girls whenever they get the opportunity.

Lake Toba is a beautiful place. It is just a shame that the local people are somewhat dishonest and irresponsible.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LiyinYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We had a lovely stay with Thyesza in May - my husband, daughter and son-in-law. The location right on Lake Toba was beautiful. Thyesza and her family welcomed us and she spent time talking with us about the history and culture of the area. Meals were excellent! The rooms were delightful and the gardensand flowers on the grounds were so beautiful. She arranged for us to rent motor scooters to tour the island and we much enjoyed a scenic drive around Samosir (with some bumpy roads to navigate!). We would certainly return to Thyesza Guesthouse on beautiful Lake Toba.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stayed 4 days at the end of my 5 month traveling in South-East Asia, to relax before I flew home and had a great time.
The guesthouse hosts are trying to give you the a little bit the feeling like home, the food is great and they are very helpful with everything you planning to do on the island.
If you try to escape the busy Indonesian cities this is the place to stay for a few days.

Room Tip: Just send a mail and you get the same day a reply
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurgendhondt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Very nice ambience. Nice host mama Thyesza with nice food. Juz like the front pool. A bit far away from town so if u can get transport then it will be perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaofx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews