We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
2
12
10
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
12
10
4
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017

This property must have had a period of greatness a few decades ago, but the owners seemed to have lost interest in the upkeep of the place and it is slowly falling apart. It now would fit well in a Twin Peaks episode, given its quirky state. Staff were nice but seemed unable to manage any request or solve any issue. For example after a small pool of water was created in the entrance of the room by a leaking A/C unit, housekeeping put some towels on the floor, but no one came to either stop the A/C or fix the leak. The last night of the stay the water stopped working in the hotel and no notice or help was provided. When asked about the situation, the reception staff simply confirmed that there was no more water, as if running water in the room in the previous days had been a special, time-limited perk.
Should that hotel be taken care of properly it would most likely be a great destination given its location, the views its rooftop offers, the large areas for banquet and restaurants. Right now it is unfortunately the kind of place you go if you need nothing else than a bed to sleep on and don't count on anything else, not event a toilet you can flush.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HugoDesro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I am a local resident in Nongkhai but this time im back home with 4 friends then we decide to book this hotel. The hotel changed name to The Grand Paradise Nongkhai hotel. We are stay 15-17 October 2016. The located if the hotel is just close to the main road. The lobby was just like one of traveller commented in tripadvisor that look like ghost hotel and in the room also, I agree!!. The hotel was very old and need to renovation urgently!!
- The shower broken!!
- The tap also broken but still water come out.
- The breakfast was terrible cause empty bowl, no more food fill for the buffet if you are came down late around 7.30 am and also your requirements will not effect to any staff.
- Last day no water in the hotel, we called to reception since 7 am and they said the pump broken, it will took 30 mins to fix it. We still call a few times to ask about that till they took out the phone line. Finally we decided not to wait for the water & no body can take shower then we check- out at 9.30 am.
- No any apologize or sorry from 3 those staffs That they are working at receptions. Only we gave to key back and one lady say " Everything is done". Even say thank you to stay their hotel, we never get that words !!
Very disappointed for the service and everything need to be improve. They should rebuild the hotel, not even renovation !!!
I am a traveller and I stay many hotelsand resorts, even small resort or home stay are better than this hotel. I hope my review could help all traveller who want to stay , going to stay or future booking. Please consider to don't book this hotel !! Terrible hotel in Thailand !!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Feb.2016 . This Hotel has changed the Name . The new Name : The Grand Paradise Hotel . The Hotel is nice and clean , but there were not many Tourists . Nice Room and Bathroom , only the Tap should be repaired . If you like to go to the Touristcentre , you need a Taxi or Tuktuk

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elmar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We stayed here for a couple of nights during which we crossed the friendship bridge into Laos for a day's visit. The hotel was better than we had expected after reading the previous reviews. The place appeared to heve been refusbished somewhat & the staff were excellent and could not have been home helpful. The restaurant had a reasonable variety on the menu and what we ate was faultless. We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Grand Paradise is an old hotel getting older. But, the rooms are good size. A/C is fine. Location is OK (although you need a tuk-tuk since nothing is walkable). Rates are too high for the what you pay for. Not very clean (especially bathrooms), but few places in Nong Khai are. Has a night time restaurant on open top floor. Breakfast buffet barely OK. I like it better than the Royal Nakhara Hotel (which is cleaner, newer, but rooms are noisier, and mosquitoes can be a problem).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tjced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews