We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful! A nice escape from the world”
Review of Buoy Guest House

Buoy Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nong Khai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buoy Guest House
Ranked #15 of 47 Nong Khai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I've visited here several times over the years on cycling tripsmand find it a lovely escape. It's peaceful, simple and Sangkhom is a nice enough town to visit. During my last visit no food was available, which wasn't an issue as thre are plenty of local eateries.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank LaosLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2016

We had a lovely time at Buoy guesthouse. The place is a little hard to find, but once you are there, you will be assured of a peaceful place to spend a night or two. The owner Toy was lovely and very helpful.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank jlkey1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

The stories from 2012 or 2013 are not up to date. The houses bear the river are deserted. What's left are a 3 houses in the garden. Good enough to sleep a night, but not my idea of paradise. You have to pay extra for the breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

You find Buoy guesthouse in the small village of Sangkhom. Sangkhom lies 3 ; 4 hours from Nongkhai upwarts the Mekong river. Time of bus depends on how many times it has to stop along the route between Nong Khai and Sangkhom. The bus goes three times a day from Nong khai ( 07.30 / 9.30 / 15.00). Please ask at the busstation as times can change!
Buoy guesthouse is in Sangkhom. Its well signed at the street. Also the busdriver knows the place. There are 5 bungalows over a wooden bridge along the Mekong. They are making a new footpath before the bungalows to walk along the Mekong. These bungalows are spartan. Double beds with a moskito net and they have a shower. There are also 4 bungalows in the garden. Bungalow nr 1 was very humid.( july) . We changed to nr 4 and this was very big and we liked it a lot for the 400 baht. It has a good aircon and good shower. The " restaurant" serves good food. Drinks you can get by yourself.
The owner,a very friendly and always singing and laughing lady, has to do a lot of work. Her husband passed away four months ago. We hope she gets a lots of guests so she ears the money to do some maintanance. Wifi is available in the restaurant.

Room Tip: The best rooms if you want aircon are room 3 and 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berendino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Located in the cute little Sangkhom Mr & Mrs Toy's Buoy's Guesthouse is such a relaxing place to stay, both speak great English and are beyond helpful - after walking the wrong direction and getting somewhat lost Mrs Toy came and picked us and our luggage up, helped us hugely with getting my boyfriend to the hospital coming to the bungalow to make sure he was okay and being him one of her amazing fruit shakes. What more can you ask for - bambook bungalow, your own bathroom, hammock all by the mekhong riverside - just perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nong Khai hotels
0 km away
Mut Mee Guest House
Mut Mee Guest House
#1 of 47 in Nong Khai
513 reviews
0 km away
Park & Pool Resort
Park & Pool Resort
#1 of 19 in Nong Khai
111 reviews
0 km away
Hop Inn Nong Khai
Hop Inn Nong Khai
#4 of 19 in Nong Khai
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Nong Khai Resort
Nong Khai Resort
#5 of 19 in Nong Khai
59 reviews
0 km away
Royal Nakhara Hotel
Royal Nakhara Hotel
#3 of 19 in Nong Khai
77 reviews
0 km away
Busayarin Hotel
Busayarin Hotel
#8 of 19 in Nong Khai
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buoy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buoy Guest House

Address: 87 / 4 Ming Mueng Rd. | Sangkhom, Nong Khai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Nong Khai Province > Nong Khai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Nong Khai
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing