We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
9
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
5
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We had a lovely time at Buoy guesthouse. The place is a little hard to find, but once you are there, you will be assured of a peaceful place to spend a night or two. The owner Toy was lovely and very helpful.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank jlkey1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

The stories from 2012 or 2013 are not up to date. The houses bear the river are deserted. What's left are a 3 houses in the garden. Good enough to sleep a night, but not my idea of paradise. You have to pay extra for the breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janmC2191XK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

You find Buoy guesthouse in the small village of Sangkhom. Sangkhom lies 3 ; 4 hours from Nongkhai upwarts the Mekong river. Time of bus depends on how many times it has to stop along the route between Nong Khai and Sangkhom. The bus goes three times a day from Nong khai ( 07.30 / 9.30 / 15.00). Please ask at the busstation as times can change!
Buoy guesthouse is in Sangkhom. Its well signed at the street. Also the busdriver knows the place. There are 5 bungalows over a wooden bridge along the Mekong. They are making a new footpath before the bungalows to walk along the Mekong. These bungalows are spartan. Double beds with a moskito net and they have a shower. There are also 4 bungalows in the garden. Bungalow nr 1 was very humid.( july) . We changed to nr 4 and this was very big and we liked it a lot for the 400 baht. It has a good aircon and good shower. The " restaurant" serves good food. Drinks you can get by yourself.
The owner,a very friendly and always singing and laughing lady, has to do a lot of work. Her husband passed away four months ago. We hope she gets a lots of guests so she ears the money to do some maintanance. Wifi is available in the restaurant.

Room Tip: The best rooms if you want aircon are room 3 and 4.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berendino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Located in the cute little Sangkhom Mr & Mrs Toy's Buoy's Guesthouse is such a relaxing place to stay, both speak great English and are beyond helpful - after walking the wrong direction and getting somewhat lost Mrs Toy came and picked us and our luggage up, helped us hugely with getting my boyfriend to the hospital coming to the bungalow to make sure he was okay and being him one of her amazing fruit shakes. What more can you ask for - bambook bungalow, your own bathroom, hammock all by the mekhong riverside - just perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As all reviews say this is one of the best places to relax. The town and the guesthouse and the river just instantly relax you. There is nothing remarkable about this place, but the slow pace and friendly people make it probably my favourite stop in 3 months around Thailand.

Tip; most reviews say that the only decent rooms here are the rustic riverside bungalows. These are truly amazing but small and only suitable for couples. There is suitable and good accommodation for family's.

My family of five stayed in the new concrete fan bungalow in the front of the resort. It was big (for a one room bungalow) and comfortable and only 300 baht per night. Obviously no hot water and no air con, but we didn't miss it. We spent most of our time in the restaurant which has the same amazing views as the small bungalows. The air conditioned bungalow is much smaller and not as nice and much more expensive.

The family are amazing hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kanefisher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews