We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice guesthouse along the Mekong.”
Review of Buoy Guest House

Buoy Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nong Khai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buoy Guest House
Ranked #15 of 47 Nong Khai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2015

You find Buoy guesthouse in the small village of Sangkhom. Sangkhom lies 3 ; 4 hours from Nongkhai upwarts the Mekong river. Time of bus depends on how many times it has to stop along the route between Nong Khai and Sangkhom. The bus goes three times a day from Nong khai ( 07.30 / 9.30 / 15.00). Please ask at the busstation as times can change!
Buoy guesthouse is in Sangkhom. Its well signed at the street. Also the busdriver knows the place. There are 5 bungalows over a wooden bridge along the Mekong. They are making a new footpath before the bungalows to walk along the Mekong. These bungalows are spartan. Double beds with a moskito net and they have a shower. There are also 4 bungalows in the garden. Bungalow nr 1 was very humid.( july) . We changed to nr 4 and this was very big and we liked it a lot for the 400 baht. It has a good aircon and good shower. The " restaurant" serves good food. Drinks you can get by yourself.
The owner,a very friendly and always singing and laughing lady, has to do a lot of work. Her husband passed away four months ago. We hope she gets a lots of guests so she ears the money to do some maintanance. Wifi is available in the restaurant.

Room Tip: The best rooms if you want aircon are room 3 and 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berendino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2015

Located in the cute little Sangkhom Mr & Mrs Toy's Buoy's Guesthouse is such a relaxing place to stay, both speak great English and are beyond helpful - after walking the wrong direction and getting somewhat lost Mrs Toy came and picked us and our luggage up, helped us hugely with getting my boyfriend to the hospital coming to the bungalow to make sure he was okay and being him one of her amazing fruit shakes. What more can you ask for - bambook bungalow, your own bathroom, hammock all by the mekhong riverside - just perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As all reviews say this is one of the best places to relax. The town and the guesthouse and the river just instantly relax you. There is nothing remarkable about this place, but the slow pace and friendly people make it probably my favourite stop in 3 months around Thailand.

Tip; most reviews say that the only decent rooms here are the rustic riverside bungalows. These are truly amazing but small and only suitable for couples. There is suitable and good accommodation for family's.

My family of five stayed in the new concrete fan bungalow in the front of the resort. It was big (for a one room bungalow) and comfortable and only 300 baht per night. Obviously no hot water and no air con, but we didn't miss it. We spent most of our time in the restaurant which has the same amazing views as the small bungalows. The air conditioned bungalow is much smaller and not as nice and much more expensive.

The family are amazing hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely place,owners and bungalow. Overlooking Laos and the Mekong river.Comfortable outside seating including a couch on my bungalow deck.Ok food at the restaurant but better options along the street with the Market and riverside restaurants.Best to eat at least one meal a day at Buoys (the bungalows are reasonable) they would like that.

Note that the bungalows are bamboo and basic with essentials.toilet paper,mossie net,warm clean blankets,western toilet,cold water.there are also solid rooms available closer to the owners living area and restaurant.Great sunrise sunsets. 250baht nothing wrong here in my opinion suited me fine whilst on a bicycle tour of S E A.
Wifi available if weak at my bungalow better in the restaurant.advise to book ahead at least to check there are is not a party of people occupying several bungalows as was the case when I visited.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank RayPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is a great place to chill out . We had a smashing time . Very basic which just adds to its charm . The owners are so friendly ,you feel part of the family . I would go back again great. they have small self contained bungalows the face the mekong river which can be reached over a small wooden bridge . It is within walking distance to village .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nong Khai hotels
0 km away
Mut Mee Guest House
Mut Mee Guest House
#1 of 47 in Nong Khai
513 reviews
0 km away
Park & Pool Resort
Park & Pool Resort
#1 of 19 in Nong Khai
113 reviews
0 km away
Hop Inn Nong Khai
Hop Inn Nong Khai
#4 of 19 in Nong Khai
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Nong Khai Resort
Nong Khai Resort
#5 of 19 in Nong Khai
59 reviews
0 km away
Royal Nakhara Hotel
Royal Nakhara Hotel
#3 of 19 in Nong Khai
79 reviews
0 km away
Busayarin Hotel
Busayarin Hotel
#8 of 19 in Nong Khai
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buoy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buoy Guest House

Address: 87 / 4 Ming Mueng Rd. | Sangkhom, Nong Khai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Nong Khai Province > Nong Khai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Nong Khai
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing