We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$27
US$21
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asawann Hotel(Nong Khai)
US$30
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Baan Mae Rim Nam(Nong Khai)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
BB House Hotel(Nong Khai)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
9
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
5
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Located in the cute little Sangkhom Mr & Mrs Toy's Buoy's Guesthouse is such a relaxing place to stay, both speak great English and are beyond helpful - after walking the wrong direction and getting somewhat lost Mrs Toy came and picked us and our luggage up, helped us hugely with getting my boyfriend to the hospital coming to the bungalow to make sure he was okay and being him one of her amazing fruit shakes. What more can you ask for - bambook bungalow, your own bathroom, hammock all by the mekhong riverside - just perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As all reviews say this is one of the best places to relax. The town and the guesthouse and the river just instantly relax you. There is nothing remarkable about this place, but the slow pace and friendly people make it probably my favourite stop in 3 months around Thailand.

Tip; most reviews say that the only decent rooms here are the rustic riverside bungalows. These are truly amazing but small and only suitable for couples. There is suitable and good accommodation for family's.

My family of five stayed in the new concrete fan bungalow in the front of the resort. It was big (for a one room bungalow) and comfortable and only 300 baht per night. Obviously no hot water and no air con, but we didn't miss it. We spent most of our time in the restaurant which has the same amazing views as the small bungalows. The air conditioned bungalow is much smaller and not as nice and much more expensive.

The family are amazing hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely place,owners and bungalow. Overlooking Laos and the Mekong river.Comfortable outside seating including a couch on my bungalow deck.Ok food at the restaurant but better options along the street with the Market and riverside restaurants.Best to eat at least one meal a day at Buoys (the bungalows are reasonable) they would like that.

Note that the bungalows are bamboo and basic with essentials.toilet paper,mossie net,warm clean blankets,western toilet,cold water.there are also solid rooms available closer to the owners living area and restaurant.Great sunrise sunsets. 250baht nothing wrong here in my opinion suited me fine whilst on a bicycle tour of S E A.
Wifi available if weak at my bungalow better in the restaurant.advise to book ahead at least to check there are is not a party of people occupying several bungalows as was the case when I visited.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank RayPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is a great place to chill out . We had a smashing time . Very basic which just adds to its charm . The owners are so friendly ,you feel part of the family . I would go back again great. they have small self contained bungalows the face the mekong river which can be reached over a small wooden bridge . It is within walking distance to village .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We always hear about that special place...that "hidden jem" as it were. I have lived in Thailand for several years and have finally had the chance to stay at such a place.

Buoy Guest House is basic nearly rustic and that is the biggest part of its charm. Located in Sangkhom a beautiful little town nestled against the Mekong half way between Chiang Khan and Nong Khai makes for a natural spot to overnight.
Beautiful gardens, very friendly owners and staff, one of the most relaxing spots in this area of Thailand.
In busy season it is always best to reconfirm a room as it can be hard to get into. Room prices between 200-400 baht make it more than affordable.
Almost hate to spread the word on this place but if you find yourself traveling along the Mekong stop for the night you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Reconfirm ahead of time during busy travel months, limited number of rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rct99q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews