We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveller rating
374
327
169
68
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
327
169
68
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjansom bayelvis barstarlight restaurantprivate beachmae haadoutdoor bathroomsteep hillmosquito netamazing viewsjungleresortbamboorocksthailandislandvilladiving
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Pro's:
- Very nice luxurious room with a great view and a great open bathroom.
- The bed and pillows were vey good.
- It has a private beach with some coral.
- The service is good, they pick you up from the ferry (for free) and deliver your baggage.
- The breakfast was great. You have a great seaview.
- They take the environment into consideration.

Cons:
- You have to hike through a rocky environment to get around (it's about 20 minutes to the village, and depending on where your cabini is located about 5-10min to the beach)
- The beach sucks if you ask me. Very small and rocky (not a white powder beach) and the bar/restaurant on the beach is expensive. Though it offers divers, of the beach activity.
- The small village is just boring. Maybe some people like it but we didn't that much. There is not much to do except diving and driving around on scooter.
- Lots of bugs and other animals (sea lizards / spiders etc. in your room). I did not care about this too much but reminder the bathroom is open so you have alot of bugs and animals in your room.

All in all, this hotel is NOT for people who have a bad leg. Or for people who do like a nice beach but do not dive. You do have a great room and you can walk to some nicer beaches, also the service is good.

When you book at Charm Churee, make sure you visit Sensi Paradise (an other hotel closer to the village) for a dinner. You have a perfect sunset, you are basicly dining on the beach so you hear and see the waves, and the food is GREAT (and so is the price).

Room Tip: Because there is lots of hiking to do to get around depending on your needs ask for either a hotel near the beach (if you want to lay on the beach all day) or near the village (if you want to go to the village a lot).
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bramvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Really this is a little piece of heaven. Very hard to leave. right in the luch jungle, right on the water's edge of amazing snokelling and diving. Views are way too pretty. The value is so great. Staff do so much to please. The breakfast is quite good and very beautiful. If you have found this resort, dont look any further. walk in town in 15 minutes. beautiful walk. kayak rental , snorkelling equipment available We stayed in villa 35B quite exquisite

Room Tip: 35B, view of water and close to beach and rocks is very lovely
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoriatraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Booked two nights here but decided to extend to a third.

Upon arriving to Koh Tao the hotel had someone waiting for us at the pier without even asking for it...so nice (and we booked the least expensive room)!

A great place to feel like you're in an adventure: Walking paths through the jungle, hidden beaches, huge boulders, etc.

My only complaint is that when we asked the front office to extend our stay for an additional night, they would not honor the same price we paid to book only 3 nights prior. They originally tried to charge us 75% more, but we then negotiated it down to about 20% above our original price.

Despite being slightly annoyed by the price, our overall experience was excellent as was the staff, and I highly recommend if you're looking for a non-traditional hotel. Probably the best hotel we've stayed in over the past 2 months.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattLenahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We loved our long stay in charm churee. We were lucky to stay in lovely sunset cottage with private sun deck, outdoor lounge and access into the water for snorkeling. The room was spacious and airy - and quirky and rustic having been built into the rock. The staff were lovely too. We didn't mind the walking but it did take some getting used to at first. Food was good, breakfast generous and tasty and starlight restaurant was uniquely romantic.

Room Tip: Sunset villas are the go if you can!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CKenny_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Pros: -rooms have unique designs and can be fun. - It can be a cool experience to walk miles in the dark forest on narrow path if you are physically capable of doin it every second while staying here. -Jamson Bay is great for snorkeling. -View from the breakfast area is beautiful and lovely.

Cons: -delux room below the reception area is so humid. the bed was almost damp and wet. - standard room is a little better in terms of humidity but still humid. - rooms have no sunlight so they are dark and humid. - the resort is in the jungle so lots of moist and mosquito. -it is a mile hiking to anywhere you want to go. very dangerous when it is raining. - bed matress is beyond being hard. I can feel the springs hurting my head. -Pillows are very hard too. -no free shuttle service to the village. -breakfast is bad. - the resort has NO swimming pool.

Seriously, it is a bit ridiculous that you have to hike up hills to go to the bay, beach, restaurant , or anywhere. I like walking but this was too much.

I could not sleep at all during my stay here because the bed matress was just poor quality. This was the worst bed Ive ever slept on.

The humidity just would make everythig damp. I spoke to few people at the resort and found out that the resort is located in the jungle so it is inevitable.

There is no beach at Jamson Bay. You need to walk( more like hike) about 20mim to get to the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrangeKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews