We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AOWD with Matee - recommendation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

I did my Advanced Open Water Diver with the instructor Matee here at Ban's Diving Resort. The staff was super friendly and helpful and help me immediately with everything. Matee is a super nice and friendly person! He showed me a lot of techniques to improve my experiences under water and showed me special places underwater. He is a experienced instructor and know what to do! I recommend him and would like to dive with him again! The underwater experience had a lot to do with the right instructor and with Matee you can have a good time underwater! Thanks again Matee for the good times :)

Room Tip: The course includes a room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eSudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 2,421 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

We were here in Nov/Dec 2016. I just passed OWD+AOWD+Nitrox back home and could train with 2-4 dives/day with experienced DMs that knew the dive sites and were always looking out for us.

Because the massive storm the visibility was not good (~5m) most of the dives but I feel like I learned a lot, especially how to dive safely in choppy conditions and pay attention to my buddies because you'd lose them in 5 seconds. I heard that this storm was quite unusual and the diving is usually much better. I still saw lots of cool stuff.

My friend was doing his Rescue Diver course and they let me stay in his room for free. We also enjoyed the good food, beer pong and live music with good mojitos at night.

My friend was also very happy with his Rescue Diver course (and instructor), except for that they put him (200+ dives) with people who just passed AOWD and were obviously not very skillfull. That delayed our travels to other parts of Thailand, because the course began 1 day later and ended 1 day later. So I dived with some other dive shop and saw whalesharks!

The only reason for the 4 instead of 5 stars is the delays. But that's also just Thailand. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Other than that it seemed well organized by westerners, the boats are run by Thai people.

Room Tip: Fan rooms are usually enough and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rpschultz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights with our 5 months old baby.
The location is the best in this area.
The service was awesome as well.

At weekends, there's a bit too much noise next to the rooms, but that's Koh Tao ;)

Great restaurant BTW!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

If you ever consider to do one of the Padi courses definatly do it at Ban's resort! It's a amazing resort with great staff! I did my advanced course recently with Neil Giblin, he is really proffesional and at the same time you will have a lot of fun with him he will definatly make sure you're comfortable in the water! Thanks for making me a advanced diver Neil!
Manon van der Kemp

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Manon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

My wife and I stayed in deluxe hill top double room for three nights. The price was 2500 bahts for two persons including breakfast. It was very nice room with nice view including normal standard breakfast. The staff who cleans the room are amazing, very helpful and smiling, the staff at the reception are not smiling, not answering, seems that they are bored to work. To the hill top, they have free pick up just till 20.00. They have swimming pool, market and other facilities. I had four dives there, their dive masters arethe people who works there part time and not local people. Diving part are not super good, they are young people and it is like lets party lets dive. Seriously I would prefer another dive center. I had seen turtle in one dive, in another dives batfish, parrot fish, groupers and few others.

Room Tip: very nice hill top rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Utku T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.8 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,301 reviews
3.1 km away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,576 reviews
1.2 km away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.7 km away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
548 reviews
3.2 km away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Address: | Sairee beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: €34 - €62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by a local family Ban’s Diving Resort has a very special family oriented hospitality that keeps customers coming back year after year. Within our resort are all the amenities needed to make your holiday on Koh Tao both comfortable and fun. Our facilities include a dive center, beach front restaurant, Darawan Restaurant, spa and hair salon, 24 hour mini mart, 4 swimming pools, and the Fish Bowl bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing