We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice diving school PADI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montalay Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

I did my open water diver (PADI) in the dive school associated with the hotel. It was a really nice experience. If you stay in the hotel you pay 8300 baht. Teaching is in small groups, I just had a teacher for my own. Diving in the bay is really nice on the last two dives we drove a little away to two other beautiful locations (boat dives).
It was a great course nothing to be negative about.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Georg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

I spent 4 nights at Montalay resort, staying in one of the wooden beach huts. Took a PADI Open Water diving course with instructor Robert Coltrane, who was a very relaxed and responsable teacher, also for kids. He gave us all the time we needed to familiarize ourselves with the equipment and techniques and made sure that we were always safe and comfortable. Also took a guided dive with instructor Jane Mortensen who was very nice, attentive and professional and showed us the beautiful sea life around the bay.

Contrary to what I see many people write in reviews I found the staff very friendly and helpful. Perhaps it depends on the season and how crowded it is, I was there in May and it wasn't very busy.

The food in the restaurant is very good, especially the chicken satay is amazing. Indeed it is custom in Thailand that everybody just gets their food whenever it is ready, so some people will alreayd be finished eating while others are still waiting for their dish. If this annoys you you can ask the waiter beforehand to bring all the food at the same time which is usually not a problem.

All in all a very nice and relaxed stay, I would be looking forward to go back here.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tino K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

The accommodation is very good, nice clean rooms, good facilities.The bay is stunning and perfect for snorkeling and diving.
There is a diving school at the resort where we got our PADI open water. I did not plan on going for diving beforehand, but we decided to give it a go and it was really amazing! It was a very relaxed way to get the course, no big groups( when we were there) and very professional teachers. They have there own boat , so we went all over the island , during the course and after for some fun dives, because we couldn't stop the fun! Really recommend this place for diving and the resort!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mathijs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We stayed at the Montalay resort for 10 days and was positively surprised by the accomodation! Staff was friendly and helpful.

The diving center was great. I took the PADI open water course for 2-3 days and after that I could go diving at great locations. The lessons were very clear so getting my final PADI certification was fairly easy.

Breakfast (buffet) was also very nice and the food in general was very good. The resort offers the possiblity to take a taxi to visit other places on the island, but I recommend renting a scooter (so you can go whenever you want).

Will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Cottages are closer to the beach than the hotelrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leys_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Not sure why this has got bad reviews recently. Firstly it's the best food we've had in Thailand so far and reasonably priced. Plenty of helpful courteous staff. Cheap to get laundry done by the kilo which is useful when travelling As a family of 5! The snorkelling is EXCELLENT and really safe for kids as long as they are good swimmers. It's a beautiful relaxed place but dont come if looking for nightlife as service closes at 9pm. Which is fine by us.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rikke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.8 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
2.5 km away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
2.9 km away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
540 reviews
3.6 km away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 50 in Koh Tao
512 reviews
3.4 km away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montalay Beach Resort

Address: 53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: €28 - €64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montalay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montalay Beach Resort is a small to medium size hotel, locate in the eastern part of Koh Tao (Turtle Island) called "Ao Tanote". It is a beautiful secluded bay and is a great place for snorkeling and diving. Ideal for families with children or couples to chill and relax. All rooms, cottages and suites are close to the beach and nestled amongst the trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing