We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
241
291
121
52
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
291
121
52
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tanote bay eco cottages taxi service shared bathroom no air conditioning lovely pool breakfast was included scuba diving beach bar beach front fan island pier bungalow taxis thai instructor
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

For the cheap price, the resort is ok. The service is not as friendly as normally in Thailand. The room was clean, the beach is very nice and offers good possibilities for snorkeling. An idea for dinner: the Mountain Reef Resort restaurant at the other side of the beach was great; tasty food + friendly service.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ThorbenM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We only stayed at Montalay resort for one night, but we would have happily stayed more. The cottage we booked was very basic (as we paid for the cheapest available) so no air-conditioning, TV and a shared bathroom. But this was no issue, the fan kept the room cold at night, the bathroom had hot water, but importantly due to the lovely pool, restaurant and beach, you spend very little time inside. The beach was so beautiful, the water was clear, perfect for snorkeling or diving, and also very empty, only really other Montalay guests on the beach, making it an ideal place to spend the day. The resort is quite secluded, but they run taxis 4 times a day across Koh Tao for very reasonable prices. The resort is ideal for a family holiday, especially for those with young children. Would recommend staying here instead of closer to the Pier, the added peacefulness will make you want to never leave.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Big plus: beach snorkeling is safe and lovely. Warm water. Fish close to shore. Also huge meal portions compared other Thai restaurants. We had garden view bungalow which would have been fine except for lots of steps. And steps were very high ones. Not good for elderly or small children. Lots of mosquitos.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosyshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

So we arrived at Koh Tao.. First of all there was a guy standing there with my name on a small whiteboard. I didn't arrange any pickup, but he was there waiting for us to take us to the resort. +1 for service!
There's a brand new road to Tanote Bay, but still it's a difficult road to drive yourself, so I would recommend the taxiservice from the resort.
Montalay Beach Resort is clean, staff is friendly, the room (fan) is pretty big with a nice spacious balcony and the pool is great!
Location: directly at the beach at Tanote Bay and a little remote. But remote is good! Not much to do but great for snorkeling and relaxing.
The restaurant is good, well priced and big portions.
I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MartinM381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Very nice hotel, modern.
The only thing that they would add to the services is a free shuttle, cause the hotel is a little far of everything. We rent a motorbike at RPM, but if you never ride one its not the place to ride for first time.
The resto is very good and it has a great swimming pool.
:)

Room Tip: We stayed at Superior room - Double Bed with AC and it was perfect. it doesn't has bay view, but it was very well.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews