We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$114
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$281
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$55
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Koh Tao Simple Life Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$40/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$142
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$51/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
US$423
US$188
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ananda Villa(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveller rating
1,021
22
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,021
22
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr bearthought of everythingmobile phoneour honeymoonwelcome basketcomplete privacyprivate poolfiltered drinking waterglass rooftext messagenespresso machinevilla numberbarracuda restauranttaxi driverprivate chefpre programmed numbersentertainment system
Filter
Updating list...
812 - 817 of 1,055 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Piling on the previous 5 star reviews - The Place deserves it. Wife and I (early 30's from Bay Area, California) absolutely loved our 4 night stay in March. We split 8 nights in the Gulf of Thailand between Koh Phangan and Koh Tao. We arrived from Koh Phangan on the Seatran Ferry (which Guy booked for us in advance) to be whisked away by Guy, Bex, and Mr. Bear (your personal taxi driver) right away from the pier. It was a well coordinated getaway from the chaotic pier parking lot, and we appreciated the two cold bottles of water Guy had for us on a blistering hot day. Cruising through the narrow, vibrant streets of Mae Had and Sairee en route up to the villa, we know we were going to love Koh Tao. Within 15 minutes of arrival, I had a cold beer in hand and was soaking in the infinity pool enjoying the gorgeous view.

The beauty of the villa blending modern design with classy Thai architecture is well documented. Very sexy bathroom as the wife would say. However, it's the thoughtfulness behind every detail that really set this place apart from the dozens of places we've stayed in across the world.
- personal cell with speed dial to Guy, Bex, and Mr. Bear
- welcome basket with provisions for breakfast and few meals
- stocked fridge with milk, sodas, beers, wine; mini bar
- a selection of recommended diversions/excursions coordinated by Bex that avoid the tourist traps
- delivery menus - on our last night we felt like crashing and watching a movie - so cool to be able to order a pizza (which was actually pretty good)
- 450 top rated movies on demand for free - we ended up watching 5

We loved having our own space without intrusion, but recommendations, help, and transport at a moments notice on call. Guy and Bex made us feel instantly welcome and we never wanted to leave. They seem like a fun couple and it would have been great to have drink with them. In short, if you haven't booked, better hurry up because it's probably already booked up for the next year.

The accommodation and level of service would easily sell for >$400-500 in the U.S. We though it was a steal, even in Thailand prices for about $200 per night.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong - we stayed in Villa 2
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooseptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

There is only one word I can use to describe this place - Stunning! That was the first thing that went through my head when we arrived. We arrived a day later than planned due to a string of delayed flights and missed ferries. Guy and Bex were there at the pier to greet us when we finally made it, both were so lovely and really welcoming - and provided us each with a bottle of water which was very much needed after the heat of the ferry journey! We were taken up to the villa by Mr Bear, their taxi driver for the villa. This was an experience! We came to discover that on Koh Tao a lot of the taxis area trucks where you sit in the back out in the open, so it's generally an experience being driven round in them - fun as long as you hold on tight!

The Villa - Absouletely stunning. Guy and Bex have decorated this place perfectly! It's very modern but also inviting and comfy. The bed was very comfy. Everything was really clean and tidy. The villa was a really good size, massive for the two of us! The pool area was lovely. Had stunning views, especially for sunsets! Pool was perfect for cooling off, wasn't too cold, was a nice temperature. The loungers were ridiculously comfy.

Diversions - There is a big list of trips etc you can book through the villa. We didn't do any of the trips as we were being lazy for this part of the holiday. We did book the meal to be cooked at the villa for us. Ed, the chef from Barracuda, came up on our last night to cook for us. He was really lovely and friendly and had been really good and offered us another option for our mains that wasn't on the set menu as I don't eat fish or beef so he offered to us a chicken in white wine sauce which I thought was really good of him. We had pate to start, followed by the chicken with garlic potatoes and then the most amazing chocolate tarte I have ever had for pudding! The only downside was that the pudding was too big for me to finish! The entire meal was amazing. Guy and Bex set up the table on the balcony for us with little candles and Ed left us to it once he had cooked the meal, it was a really romantic evening.

The other thing that was so useful about being here is that Guy and Bex give you a thai mobile with pre-programmed numbers like their own and Mr Bears in it. This was really handy to have, and provided us with a bit of extra security knowing we had someone to call if needed and a way of calling.

In the villa Guy and Bex have left a couple of menus for restaurants that deliver. We ordered up to the villa on a few occasions for lunch and dinner. We ordered lunch and breakfast from Zanzibars which was really good. Another night we ordered dinner from Farrangos, which again was great.

Mr Bear was also really lovely and it was so handy to have him available. He has set rates to go to certain areas - 200 thb to Sairee, 300thb to Mae Had and 400 thb to ChaoLak. We used him a couple of times and he was always on time and really friendly and chatty. He doesn't work past 9pm, but you can arrange later pick ups in advance. One night we went for a meal and he gave us the number of his brother who works later to pick us up once we'd finished, he also took us and introduced us to him so we knew who he was when we came out of the restaurant.

Location - The views are stunning from the villa because it is set up in the hillside and the villa feels really isolated and private. However, because it's set up in the hillside it's an interesting walk down to the town and back up again! The walk to Sairee takes about 10 mins, and another 5mins onto the beach. The walk down is fine - it's the walk back up that's hard! The hill is very steep when you get nearer to the villa, I did it once and couldn't face doing it again in the heat so the other times we got a taxi back. I didn't like doing the walk in the dark as you really couldn't see where you were going. We had the torches that Guy and Bex had given us so that helped, but I just hated walking down not 100% of where I was going and what I was stepping on - we didn't attempt the walk back up in the dark as decided it'd be better getting a taxi. I guess I'm just a bit lazy and found the hill too steep in the heat - but it wasn't a major problem as you could always get taxis in town at night or ring Mr Bear in the day. The local taxis charged around 300 - 400 thb to take you back up to the villa because of the hill and bumpy roads so just be prepared to pay a bit more if using local taxis at night.

I would definitely stay here again, we really regret not staying longer here as it was an amazing experience and Guy and Bex are so lovely and helpful - nothing was much trouble and Bex was even lovely enough to come and scare away a giant Gecko we found in the villa. We felt a bit pathetic calling about this so sent a text and Bex came straight round with a broom to shoo it away. We actually got used to the geckos after that and grew to like the giant gecko, was just a bit of a shock on our first night! I would recommend it to anyone coming to Koh Tao as a must to stay here!

Thanks Guy and Bex for the Fab stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Great location, fantastic villas. Guy and Bex are extremely helpful, have tried to think of everything and obviously care about there guests. Highly recommended. Can't fault the villas or service.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesshearer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Even before we made our final booking Guy was happy to e-mail us more details and answer all our annoying questions. Then after we booked he organised all our transfers for us. When we arrived he and Bex said they'd help us as much as we needed but would leave us alone to relax and did exactly that. They gave us a mobile so we could text/call them if we wanted a restaurant recommendation for example or wanted help choosing which dive company to go with. Other than that we didn't see them or the people in the other villa for our whole trip.
The villas are just gorgeous - so well kitted out and decorated that I wish they'd come and do up my house in the UK! It's so tranquil (apart from at dawn and dusk when the crickets are noisy) and the views are lovely.
The Place is up a steep hill which helps keep you fit but the cab driver 'Mr Bear' is always on hand if you're feeling lazy!
Can't recommend it more.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 2 and it was lovely - I think both are similar so either would be great.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehtonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Wow!!! What a stunningly beautiful place!! We stayed only 2 nights, which was way too short. My 40th birthday was a very special one here: we treated ourselves with private massages and a - oillamp lit - dinner, prepared by Ed from the Barracuda restaurant. The views are magnificent, the pool very nice to cool off in and the bathroom was one of the nicest we ever saw. Guy and Bex are the best hosts!!! We loved every minute of our stay!

We would highly recommend The Place to couples for a romantic hideaway!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews