We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$48
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Booking.com
US$42
View deal
Agoda.com
US$32
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Hotels.comUS$48
PricelineUS$40
Trip.comUS$51
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
46
82
71
49
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
82
71
49
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wi fi rooms are nice min walk pools pier sairee fan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights as a couple - mid July 2017

A generally nice hotel undergoing modernisation throughout - let down by some BIG failings.

Positives:

1.) Location really is right next to the beach
2.) Very close to Mae Head pier which is the main ferry to/from Samui - (tip) Don't bother getting the taxi pick up/drop off when you get the ferry its literally a 2-3 minute walk down the beach
3.) Close proximity to the pier also means close to the main tourist information where you can buy tours etc. Moped rental for the Island is a must if you want to explore and Oli's bikes is just a short stroll up the hill from the pier (fantastic and very reputable - check Tripadvisor!) Also close to the major dive operators.
4.) Bathroom very nice and modern, probably one of the nicest during our extensive trip throughout the Thai mainland and Islands.
5.) The reception staff are kind and helpful, despite a severe lack of English (but then, it's their country so can't fault that).
6.) 2x bottles of free water in the fridge every day left by cleaning staff - a nice touch.

Negatives: Ok here we go...

1.) The first night we arrived close to 8pm due to ferry timings etc. Once we'd showered and dropped items in our room we went to the restaurant of the regal resort (can't speak for the beach club which is just next door - same company apparently). Anyway the reception staff informed us the restaurant was open until 10pm... we arrived at 9pm and promptly ordered some simple food - pizza. There was a group of around 12 Irish lads also in the restaurant with a few plates scattered on the table. We assumed they had finished (oh how wrong we were). Time rolled on and it becomes clear the kitchen staff are simply unable to cope with preparing anymore than one meal at a time. 10pm comes - still no food! At this point we are told by the same waiter in very very broken English that the kitchen in fact does not have anymore pizza :/. Simultaneously the Irish group stated that they had in fact been there also waiting for the majority of their food since 8pm and that they were leaving and cancelling their remaining food orders as they couldn't be bothered waiting anymore. As fortune would have it they had ordered a pizza and a calzone which we told the staff we would eat instead, as by this point we were starving! Whilst the waiter was apologetic it was simply a waste of our time - he spoke enough English to explain there was no pizza so could easily have told us the issues with other customers waiting for food and we would have gone elsewhere initially! Long story short - food arrived at 10.30pm which we ate and paid for despite it being someone else's order and different to what we wanted (lucky dip dining to add to the fun of this shambolic restaurant). Paid for IN FULL with no discount offered - not so much as a free drink of water, nope you can pay for that please whilst you wait an hour and a half for food you didn't even order in the first place!!!

2.) Room service and security is a joke. Honestly if you have anything of remote value please please leave it with the reception staff in their secure drop box service that they offer. Key cards for room are left on the reception desk when you go out for the day and you can look through these and pick whichever one you want without being challenged. This would be a thieves paradise and now that I think of it, I'm sure a lone female would love to go back to her room late at night and find a potential rapist who has been kind enough to collect her keys and let himself into her room awaiting her arrival.
On our second day we returned to the room to find the cleaning staff had left the door to the room open...oh and they had also unlocked the sliding balcony door, perhaps they don't want any opportunist thieves damaging their door locks?

3.) General cleanliness of the room is substandard but by no means terrible. Ledges in the bathroom windows full of flies, dirt behind bins not cleaned prior to our arrival etc. No biggie here but could be improved on.

4.) Swimming pool was having improvement work done and was frequented by dive students. Wasn't an issue for us as we were out exploring and never used the pool - but this would certainly be a problem if we had wanted to use the pool.

Summary: The Hotel is, generally speaking, nice. However, it has the feel of a place that needs 5 years or so to bring it up to standard. In hindsight, there are other places on the Island that for a little more money appear (at least on the face of it) better run and with better facilities.
If we were to stay again and wanted to be closer to nightlife we'd pick somewhere nearer Sairee beach. If not, we'd pick another resort as everywhere on Tao is only a very short taxi ride from the main pier anyway and seem to offer complimentary pick up/drop off for the ferries.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank richuk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights. Basic but adequate room, very clean and spacious. Great location and very good value for money. Pool area needs a lot of work, very dirty and run down. Apart from that, it was a great stay.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. On arrival we were upgraded to a pool room (balcony opened onto pool) which was a bonus. The rooms are lovely and ideal for couples. The Wi-Fi isn't very reliable if you need to use it for work etc. It constantly drops. The pools are lovely however the reason I'd fault this hotel is that the pool is always occupied by scubadivers practising their techniques. Hence, you cannot use the pool which is very irritating when you've paid for the hotel facilities. Another fault was the house keeping. Often we'd be left without toilet roll, and the floor wouldn't be swept. The hotel is literally on the beach and is a 5 minute walk to the pier and restaurants. Overall our stay was average considering the price and this hotel was probably one of the nicest within the area. However I was very disappointed in the way we couldn't use the pools when we wished.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sunnysunshine31
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2017

I have stayed three times for a total of more than thirty nights at the Koh Tao Regal, and I am going back for another week next month (this time in a beach bungalow). Typically I just have the standard room, which has a comfortable queen bed, plenty of room for me and my 75L backpack, my 25L daypack, and my scuba gear bag (which is 130L). Each room has an LED TV (though not sure why you would watch one, you are on a beautiful island, next to the beach).

The staff are very friendly and helpful; they speak very little English (well, those who were there during my stays), so be prepared and always be patient, and try to learn some Thai while you are there. They helped me arrange land transport, helped when I needed to get to a clinic (I needed stitches in my foot), arranged for my laundry to be done quickly at a very reasonable price, provided recommendations for places to eat and places to go on the island, and arranged for the fast ferry to Koh Samui for me.

It is only 200m or so up the beach, north, from Crystal Dive (if you are thinking of diving, Crystal is one of the top four dive schools in the world for PADI, look it up); Crystal and the Regal have the same owners. The pool is great, albeit they are not really trained in pool maintenance so they don't measure water chemistry every day and adjust, they often toss chlorine in to keep it clear and free of contaminants. It is always safe to swim in, and Crystal even does some dive training there. The pool is huge, certainly large enough to swim laps, with a separate deep end.

The restaurant and bar (separate) are very good with reasonable prices, but there is so much good food on the island I always suggest wandering and finding where you like. There is a spa on site, next to the pool, which is clean, air conditioned, with trained staff; massages are a bit more expensive than other local shops, but it is a higher end facility, too.

Overall, if you want better quality than a local hostel or homestay, there is no better place to stay on Koh Tao than the Regal.

Room tip: The pool or ocean rooms provide the best view; other views are just toward other hotels or rooming houses.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ProfessorScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Very nice resort situated on the beach and includes a pool. Room was spacious and cleaned daily. A little upkeep would improve it but it was one of the nicer hotels we stayed in in Thailand. Beds were comfortable and AC worked well. Nice hot showers. We had a main floor room with a porch which was great. Wifi was spotty but it is a smaller island so it is to be expected. Restaurant has decent breakfasts. Resort is about a 20 min walk to the Sairee beach area. It is situated almost right beside Crystal Dive school, if you walk along the beach.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mical31
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews