We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great rooms but excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 30 January 2017

The location of this property is amazing as well as the view from the balconies. We didn't have many meals there but the breakfast was good.
The room itself was a disappointment with bare minimum necessities. Also the waters directly in front of the restaurant/rooms was very muddy.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritu A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Some people decided to force people to pay to access the beach.

It feels like medieval times are back in Thailand with every small local potentate imposing illegal fees for whatever they please.

Avoid this place.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Yericus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

The quality of the room was disappointment. The room was really small and condition of the room and shower were bad, although the view from the balcony was great.

In addition, the beach wasnt that clean and sometimes the staff seemed unfriendly. Food was also disapointment, prices were too high and some foods of the menu wasnt available.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank teemu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed there 5 nights because we had already payed for the accomodation. We payed 900 bahts per night in "superior" (or whatever they call it) bungalow (not the wooden cheaper one).
At first it looked way better than our last accomodation but we discovered a lot of cockroaches inside the bungalow, not working wifi and RUSTY water. When I call it RUSTY I mean really rusty - look at the picture how it coloured my hair, how it coloured my tshirt when i washed it, also our skin and nails are orange!!! Almost all of our clothes seems demaged from our orange skin.
We politely tried to negotiate with the owner. At first he ignored us (as we werent there) and after long argument he gave us 500 bahts cash refund... but the hairdresser will cost much more of course...
So I recommend you to go somewhere else...

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kateřina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

I live in thailand and i can tell you that Freedom beach restaurant is not thai food at all.i took a massaman but it is all but massam. Nothing is cooked and it is just a microwave dish from 7/11.
Moreover price is twice the normal price: 150thb for a fried rice or 50thb for a plain frice. I you want to eat badly and loose you money, please go here.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank JulienDjoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.3 km away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
286 reviews
3.4 km away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
0.6 km away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 50 in Koh Tao
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
475 reviews
5.3 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
4.2 km away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort

Address: 20 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Freedom Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: €19 - €51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the last quiet beaches on Koh Tao. Friendly family atmosphere. Two private bays. Reasonable priced accommodation. well maintained, comfortable bungalows and friendly and attentive staff hopes to make your holiday an unforgettable and carefree time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedom Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing