We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was clean but not much else..”
Review of Silver Sands Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Sands Beach
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Clean rooms and spacious but only allowed one toilet roll a day and no kettle in room. Very basic but ok. Good location. Also says that it has a pool - which is true but this is used for the DJL diving school so therefore awkward to use and also no sun beds so we didn't go in it once. Checked out early to find somewhere with a useable pool. Cleaners lost an item of ours as well.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank NatashaV21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

The room was clean but lacking space to unpack things. We had a small tv stand and a clothes rod but that's it. Staff is great and helped us book a ferry back to Phuket and arranged for our laundry to be cleaned. AC worked and had hot water.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a room opposite the DJL bar and pool. The room was small for 3 people. The safe didn't open, the shower was basically on top of the toilet, and there were ants everywhere. However the A/C worked great. We didn't spend much time in our room so we didn't mind too much besides the ants. And having a bar right across the street was pretty nice so we didn't have to go far at night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one week as part of an all inclusive diving trip and to say the least we weren't impressed. We were in the "bungalows" aka sheds. Their version of air con is a fan that blows the air that is hotter than outside all around the room; bearing in mind it's nearly 40 degrees outside, it's not that comfortable. However if you manage to fall asleep in the sweat-box you'll be promptly woken up by the hundreds of dogs which try to reenact fight club in the early hours of every morning. Then when dawn finally breaks you'll find yourself covered in mosquito bites despite the window covers which have holes around each side and the holes in the floor... yes holes in the floors!
The tone was set by turning up at lunch time and the room hadn't been cleaned and then after a quick sweep and wash down with the shower apparently it was. I would advise not having any rubbish because only a miracle would mean the abundance of lazy staff actually do their job and empty the bins. If I could give it no stars I absolutely would and only if they paid me would I stay here again!
Unfortunately being a student on a tight budget meant that I couldn't change rooms so I endured the torturous nights.
The only positive from the experience is that I will appreciate any other hostel... ever.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Cameron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

When we got there the room was not clean, the beds had not been changed but they did correct it though. There was only a fan so the room was hotter than outside which was 35 degrees C. The shower and bathroom are right next to each other.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 km away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
2.1 km away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
286 reviews
0 km away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
3.6 km away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 50 in Koh Tao
325 reviews
3 km away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach

Address: 14/102 Moo 2, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: €25 - €47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Sands Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Silver Sands Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing