We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ameenjeerah Koh Tao(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
US$169
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$427
US$345
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$31/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$44/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Koh Tao Simple Life Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$42
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ananda Villa(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$132
US$118
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
267
147
40
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
147
40
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep climbhigh barchalok baan kao bayfreedom beachdeluxe pavilionbalcony overlookingan incredible viewstayed here for nightsshark baystayed longerrestaurants and shopshillscootertaxiislandpierbungalow
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

We booked chintakiri because it was more expensive than the place we were originally looking at so we thought we would be getting a better hotel. We booked for one night with the idea to extend our stay if we liked it.
Pros
- amazing view! One of the best on the island. Waking up and seeing the view, or looking out while eating breakfast is priceless
- good size, clean rooms
- shower has good water volume and the water is hot.
- comfortable beds
- wifi ok
- has a (small) pool.
- villas have a good size balcony looking out to the view

Cons
- steep driveway and lots of steps. Walkways are narrow. Driveway is navigable with a scooter but I wouldn't do this with a passenger.
- outside door doesn't close well and there are gaps in the wood. A concern for bugs coming in at night but you can at least close a second set of doors to the bedroom to stop mosquitoes coming in.
- one staff member had a crying child onsite during our one night stay which was quite disruptive.
- some very noisy animals (that sound like a rubber duck) onsite. We were woken multiple times in the night by this animal.
- if someone hoons up the driveway while you're sleeping, and your villa is next to the driveway, it will wake you up.
- devices charge extremely slowly using their power points.
- the fridge in our room did not work.

We could have stayed more nights, but we went back down the road and viewed some rooms at another hotel. These were half the price compared to chintakiri and were clean and modern (no view though). We decided to change hotels to get better value for money and have just extended our stay there.

Stayed: May 2017
2  Thank NZKateNJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Very sweet place, hidden a bit up with great views. Bungalows are spacious and clean, internet is fast, service is friendly and welcoming. A smaller pool to chill were atmosphere is calm and respectful between guests. A truly tranquil place to rest. Great breakfast and food.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mach1an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with friends. We loved the location for the views and the area we were in as 2 of us were diving. Staff were great and so friendly. To sit in the pool at sunset was a memorable thing to do. Rooms were spacious and beds comfy. We all said we would stay here again! Only thing I could suggest is ceiling fans in the rooms so you don't need to sleep with the air-conditioning on.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Karan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are beautiful and clean, with an amazing terrace and beautiful view of the bay. The hill to reach the hotel was actually not so steep as we had expected - two short climbs only, which are perfectly possible for anyone in medium shape! We did not make use of the pool, but it seemed to always be very calm and had a beautiful view as well. We also made use of the hotel restaurant several times, which offered great food. The biggest asset of this hotel is most definitely the staff - a special note to the lady behind the reception and in the restaurant, who were the kindest, most sincere we encountered - and this is a country where almost everybody is very kind and sincere! Everyone of the staff went to great lengths to ensure that every problem or question we were was more than adequately addressed. We wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravellerC2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

The only reason I've lost a rating on the Chintakiri is due to the problems we had when we first arrived. The problems (detailed below) really should of been addressed BFORE the arrival of guests.
OK, we were given a very warm welcome at Reception and showed up our bungalow I now call it a bungahigh), and I do mean "UP" in every sense of the word as Chintakiri Resort is built on a near vertical cliff face with steps not for the faint-hearted.
However, once in the bungahigh several things were either broken, missing or not functioning properly:-
1. The air-con in the bedroom simply blew out hot air with the temperature in there an incredible 41ºC.
2.The shower squirted water everywhere except downwards.
3.No kettle or tea/coffee making.
4. Missing chairs for sitting at the table on the verandah.
5. Lights not working.
Complaints made to reception resulted in pretty immediate attention and, I have to say, I was impressed that each and every one of the above problems were repaired or sorted within the hour which is impressive.
Th point I'm making here is that I cannot understand why these rooms aren't checked out before guests arrive. They knew to the minute almost when we were to arrive and it would have been a simple thing to switch on the air-con so the room isn't stiflingly hot and to check that fittings are present and that they work. The whole place needs a coat of varnish and a lot more TLC.
That's the negative part,
On the positive side our bungalow(high) had a stupendous view of Chalok Baan Kao Bay. Once one has walked from the main road up the 30º plus steep access road and then up numerous flights of steps and stairs... and that's before one gets to the bungalow(high); it really is a climb and a half and definitely not for young children or the infirm.
The staff are, simply, wonderful. Most are Burmese and are very smiling, helpful and caring.
Breakfasts are simple but adequate and, again, served with charm and helpfulness.
Once the air-con has been off for a few hours when one goes out for the day, the rooms are unbelievably hot to return to and even with the air-con on full blast it take an age to make the place 'habitable'.
We didn't eat evening meals here but I did get the impression that food quality would be good.
The "forestry" surrounding the resort is beautiful and well maintained (unlike the bungalows) but it does encourage mosquitoes.
The small swimming pool is kept clean although it's like jumping into a hot tub.
All-in-all I can definitely recommend the Chintakiri.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a family room with 2 bedrooms and 2 shower/toilet and it was worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews