We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hillside retreat ”
Review of Chintakiri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chintakiri Resort
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Because of the steep climb up the hill and numerous stairs I would not recommend for very young children or the unfit. I had to use a taxi to and from the restaurants and shops etc.
Our room was clean and comfortable with tremendous view. The bathroom was up a further flight (5) of stairs with no supporting hand rail - problem in the dark or after a few drinks!
Very pleasant staff and good breakfast choices.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

We booked chintakiri because it was more expensive than the place we were originally looking at so we thought we would be getting a better hotel. We booked for one night with the idea to extend our stay if we liked it.
Pros
- amazing view! One of the best on the island. Waking up and seeing the view, or looking out while eating breakfast is priceless
- good size, clean rooms
- shower has good water volume and the water is hot.
- comfortable beds
- wifi ok
- has a (small) pool.
- villas have a good size balcony looking out to the view

Cons
- steep driveway and lots of steps. Walkways are narrow. Driveway is navigable with a scooter but I wouldn't do this with a passenger.
- outside door doesn't close well and there are gaps in the wood. A concern for bugs coming in at night but you can at least close a second set of doors to the bedroom to stop mosquitoes coming in.
- one staff member had a crying child onsite during our one night stay which was quite disruptive.
- some very noisy animals (that sound like a rubber duck) onsite. We were woken multiple times in the night by this animal.
- if someone hoons up the driveway while you're sleeping, and your villa is next to the driveway, it will wake you up.
- devices charge extremely slowly using their power points.
- the fridge in our room did not work.

We could have stayed more nights, but we went back down the road and viewed some rooms at another hotel. These were half the price compared to chintakiri and were clean and modern (no view though). We decided to change hotels to get better value for money and have just extended our stay there.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank NZKateNJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Very sweet place, hidden a bit up with great views. Bungalows are spacious and clean, internet is fast, service is friendly and welcoming. A smaller pool to chill were atmosphere is calm and respectful between guests. A truly tranquil place to rest. Great breakfast and food.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mach1an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with friends. We loved the location for the views and the area we were in as 2 of us were diving. Staff were great and so friendly. To sit in the pool at sunset was a memorable thing to do. Rooms were spacious and beds comfy. We all said we would stay here again! Only thing I could suggest is ceiling fans in the rooms so you don't need to sleep with the air-conditioning on.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Karan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are beautiful and clean, with an amazing terrace and beautiful view of the bay. The hill to reach the hotel was actually not so steep as we had expected - two short climbs only, which are perfectly possible for anyone in medium shape! We did not make use of the pool, but it seemed to always be very calm and had a beautiful view as well. We also made use of the hotel restaurant several times, which offered great food. The biggest asset of this hotel is most definitely the staff - a special note to the lady behind the reception and in the restaurant, who were the kindest, most sincere we encountered - and this is a country where almost everybody is very kind and sincere! Everyone of the staff went to great lengths to ensure that every problem or question we were was more than adequately addressed. We wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
4.7 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
0.4 km away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,558 reviews
3.5 km away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
3.6 km away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
540 reviews
0.6 km away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chintakiri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chintakiri Resort

Address: 19/59-77 Moo 3, Chalok baan kao, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: €52 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chintakiri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chintakiri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chintakiri Hotel Koh Tao
Chintakiri Hotel Surat Thani
Chintakiri Resort Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing