We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
53
127
85
44
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
127
85
44
38
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed 5 nights at Tropicana Resort in September 2011. It cost us 400 Baht for a double room with a fan and an en-suite (cold shower).

The room was large and clean, with a comfortable bed and nice balcony. The balcony included clothes lines, which is handy after a day in the sea.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is great - right on the beach and fantastic for diving - next to many dive companies.

We recommend hiring a motorbike to explore the island.

The restaurant was okay, but not exceptional. Unfortunately there was no wi-fi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have mixed reviews about Tropicana.

The perks: great location, close to the beach and surrounding nightlife on the beach is wonderful. Breakfast area was very nice along the water.

The downside: the standard A/C room had an unfortunate bathroom situation. With traditional Thai toilets in the middle of the bathroom it made it challenging for both toileting and showering. They also did not clean the rooms at all during our multiple night stay (to change garbage etc). There was also no toilet paper which caught us in an unfortunate situation. Upon arrival, we found out we mixed up our booking on Agoda. The staff made it difficult to fix this mix up, and we found ourselves apologizing profusely for a simple mix up (we had 3 people instead of the 2).

Overall we enjoyed ourselves, however it was a mixed review!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrotterr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The room was cheap,clean,rather small, with fan and a balcony. The location was great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geiahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

i travelled for about 3 month through south east asia and stopped twice in koh tao... i loved this place. the tropicana is located in chalok baan a little bit out side of the crowded places.. but there are still some cool bars around the corner.. or at the beach. take a motorbike to travel from chalok to sairee beach and back.. mae haad, go to the bakery.. love it!

i had a bungalow directly in front of the reception.. it wasn't that loud, the bungalows are well sound-proofed.. the 7-11 store is right arround the corner. in total.. i recommend that place!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Koh Tao Tropicana is a good choice for the area. The price seemed a bit high but it's typical of the area. The rooms & bathrooms are a good size, with fan and balcony...great for drying clothes after a day of diving or swimming. Even with the fan, the room can be quite stuffy. They provide a towel and toilet paper and clean the room every four days. Not bad if you're a neat freak, but being near the beach and a spot for divers, the frequency could be raised a bit.
'

Room Tip: if you can afford one of the bungalows near the beach there might be more breeze to cool the room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdetata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews