We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveller rating
190
258
152
75
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
258
152
75
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong beachbeach frontbeautiful beachbeachfront villabaht per personlong tail boatmaya baymain townmodern roomsair conoutdoor bathroomboat ridesea view roomtonsai piershark pointhotel restaurantthai massage
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 741 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in a Deluxe beachfront room for which we paid 2500THBper night.

We had the same experience as previous reviewers trying to arrive at this resort. We came from another resort on Phi Phi Don and ended up in Ton Sai due to lack of communication. We believe the reason that we couldnt go to long beach was due to the tides, however after waiting three hours we were still unable to be taken to long beach due to the "very big waves" as they called it (subjective opinion...). They would only take us to viking resort, and as a previous reviewer stated, the trek was steep and muddy (esp after we had had a lot of rain!) which was very difficult to navigate with a large amount of luggage.

However, once we arrived, check in was fast and our room was clean and appeared new. The real asset of this property is the view across to Phi Phi Le which is simply spectacular.

This was our second trip to long beach after staying at Paradise Pearl in 2010.

One definite tip for anyone considering staying on Long Beach is to check out the beach resort restaurant and the Lets Sea Bar- both located at the other end of long beach.
We ate lunch and dinner at this restaurant 3 nights out of 4. The food was cheap and good value for money and the service was excellent.
The fire show at the Lets Sea Bar starts around 9pm and is absolutely amazing. The guys who run this bar are some of the friendliest people on the island who love to party with locals and tourists alike.

Overall, the room here was a base from which to work from.

The staff were friendly and the only real down side was that we could only buy Wi-Fi in 10 min blocks. The laundry here was the cheapest on the beach (70THB per kilo) and they also do an item count which is good.

It is possible that it would be nicer in high season when they serve breakfast there, but overall we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckoIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed in a Standard Bungalow for two nights at 1300 THB per night. The Bungalows are ok: clean, A/C, TV and hot shower, nothing more.
The location is AMAZING; less than a minute to beautiful long beach and even though it's a bit of a walk to Phi Phi centre (ca. 30 minutes) - I cannot imagine a better place to stay (if you are looking for a relaxing beach holiday without party).

The staff at paradise Resort is really friendly and funny; but still: we left after two nights and moved to Paradise Pearl Resort just next door as they offer bungalows for 1000 THB at a higher standard (rooms are more spacious, nicely decorated etc,)

So - all in all: Paradise Resort is great for its location and because the staff is so friendly, but concerning the room: Paradise Pearl is a lot better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

So we arrived in Phi Phi after a long Ferry over from Phuket... You can get the hotel to do a transfer, but you have to call the reception.... I figured that the long boat would cost less than the international phone call, so we just hopped on a long boat. Fixed prices from Koh Phi Phi, so no need to negotiate. 100 baht p/p.

When we arrived I was a little confused as the beach looked nothing like what I expected... Luckily a fellow traveller was there to advise us that Long beach was the other side and due to the season, we would have to walk over.... This is where the experience begins!!

I am so surprised that this was not in any of the previous reviews. By partner and I are both quite fit and we even found this a challenge, so if you are not fit, do not even think about booking anything on Long Beach in monsoon season!!

You have a walk up hill with your luggage (we had rucksacks, do NOT bring a suitcase to Thailand!!)... This wasn't too bad, muddy, but just a little hike.... You then get to the top of the hill and have to go down the other side to Long beach.... This can only be described as an assault course.... steep climb down through the tree roots with a rope draped down the side to provide limited support so you don't fall.... If you meet people coming up as you are climbing down its a bit of an issue as the steps/tree roots are narrow, so it's hard to get out of each others way....

Anyway, despite being young and fit, in Thai heat, by the time we got to the beach we were exhausted..... No one at the bottom, so then a trek down the beach to try and find your resort.... (BTW, paradise Pearl staff all up this climb and on beach to meet and help their arrivals with luggage!) Eventually found the reception, no apologies are asking how the travel was as we are both drenched in sweat.....

The only thing that made all of the above tolerable... THE BEACH.... WOW!! This is such a beautiful beach and is really quiet!

Rooms - clean, nice bathroom, comfy bed.... everything you would need.... Although couldn't get the right temperature in the shower, either boiling or cold, so have to keep changing t so you get the cross over temperature.... annoying!

Reception service closes early in this season and all of their facilities are shut, so you have to go to the Paradise Pearl for dinner etc.... Their food is great, but I have never experienced service like it.... They barely acknowledge you.... My partner and I both agreed that if they just smiled a little, they would make so much in tips as the food and view onto the beach is amazing!

Getting into main Phi Phi is a bit of a journey as you have to climb up that ridiculous hillside trek, using the rope to pull yourself up the steep climb... We chose to walk in, rather than get the boat... takes around 20 minutes from where the boats would otherwise pick you up.... Again, it isn't an amazing path, but we preferred this to the boat.

FYI - Do not take children to this resort, the paths/climbs are just too dangerous!!

I've been to Phi Phi before, so we had wanted to go in to experience the night life.... We saw some people taking a torch and doing the climb and trek in, but we just decided that it wasn't worth the risk. If you want more than one restaurant at night, in monsoon season, I recommend you just stay in main area and just travel out to Long Beach in the day to enjoy it.

All in all, accommodation in Koh Phi Phi is pretty restricted... I have friends who have stayed at the Holiday Inn/Zevola, resorts are amazing, but there is a slight snobbery, its massively expensive and no traveller fun atmosphere....

Walking to Long Beach, if the tide is out, it is tempting to climb over the rocks between the beaches to save time and avoid the scary paths.... Don't do this, I slipped on a rock as it was covered in some kind of sapp or oil which wasn't visible to the eye.... Shell penetrated into my arm and lodged under my skin.... had to take a trip to A&E!.... Just use the path!!

Excursions.... we took the trip to Maya Beach, Monkey Island etc... So with the half trip, if you pull up to the side of the cliff to see the monkeys.... that is your monkey island stop! Be warned, they will climb on the boat and steal from you! Maya beach.... So because of the season, they can't take you round to the beach... You stop at the back of the cliff, have to jump into the water, swim up to some rope climbing frame and climb up.... all whilst strong waves are crashing into the sides of the cliff and pushing you under the water... Most of our boat wouldn't attempt it as it looked like a death wish and most people were in tears by the time they got to the top. I consider myself a confident swimmer, so decided to attempt this.... I wouldn't do it again.... This was scary as hell!! - As a final note to this, if you get a speed boat, they can take you round the front, so check with the trip people whether the long boat will take you round the front, if not, upgrade to the speed boat as they should be able to.

Snorkelling on this trip was good.... The fish go mad for banana, so if you bring some and break them up, they will all swarm around you.

I invested in an underwater camera at the airport and it's great for snorkelling and for Maya beach (having had to go through water to get there!)

Anyway, sorry for the essay, but all the above information is stuff I was looking for when I booked. I hope you find it useful!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KPummell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We paid 1300 bhat per night for a big, clean room which seemed reasonable for phi phi in the monsoon.  Hotel standards (e.g. New towels, free bottled water etc each day) made a nice touch. The setting is amazing, and one of, if not the most beautiful beaches on phi phi. You are only 12 steps from the beach so cheap considering that!

Bad points... the restaurant was closed and on Long beach there were only 2 expensive options for food, unless you want to go to town by walking or boat (100 each person in day, 150 for after dark)!  We were happy with our stay except for when we left and the 'free taxi service' to the pier included with our ticket to Phuket fell through because of bad weather, so we agreed to walk to town. The manager organized 2 boys to carry our bags, but instructed us to give a tip (we would've anyhow, but shouldn't be instructed to). We arrived at the next bay and a long boat was there and offered to us so we hopped on board. At arriving at the pier they demanded 200 baht for the boat, and after explaining to the staff, then on the phone to the manager, who was completely uncompromising and rude, we were forced to pay despite the free taxi being included - apparently as it wasn't their hotel's boat.  Felt that the whole situation could have been avoided, and that some hospitality is missing at paradise resort. However the location, setting and rooms are nice.

Tip: can go to end of beach and walk over to beach lo ma di for awesome snorkeling (all the tours stop there!) takes 15 mins to get there... you can hire mask and snorkel for 50bhat per day from resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 91LiviR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

One of the best located hotels in Phi Phi Don. Lovely view of Phi Phi Ley with beautiful beach; perfect for swimming; not crowded as there are only two resorts in the locality. We stayed in a beachfront superior room which was well maintained. We could see the lovely green sea right from our room. The staffs were helpful and courteous. The restaurant was closed as it was lean season and so we have to visit Paradise Pearl Resort (200 metres) for food. But there is a warning: during monsoon period long tail boats could not approach the resort due to high waves and so you may have to walk from the jetty which is more than a kilometre and it is not a easy trek considering you have to carry your luggage though they provided a staff in our case to show us the route and carry some of our luggage. The resort deserve 4 star rating but got 3 star as they kept us waiting at the jetty for more than 2 hours in the rain and only sent a staff after a lot of persuation and innumerable phone calls to reach the resort. They should have informed about this problem beforehand so that we would have plan our itinerary in a different way and without some anxious moments.

Room Tip: Go for the beachfront deluxe or superior rooms with lovely view of the sea and Phi Phi Ley right from your room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calcutta1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews