We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
12
9
7
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
9
7
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2015 via mobile

Complete waste of time and money. Everything is over priced in this tourist trap... As soon as we arrived a 20bhat fee for entering the island? Which isn't advertised at all even on the boat over to the island. It's a beautiful island that has been completely ruined by westerners (I'm English) it's basically Benidorm island full of "booze crews" and more westerners working here than natives

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Initially we planed to go to Mama beach resort which IMO is the best 3 star hotel on the island but as there we no rooms available we book the neighbor hotel Popular Beach Resort. The resort is a small business run by a local family. We stayed in room no.9 in one of the bungalows next to the reception. The room was big but tired with cracks and holes in the walls, old furniture and a dirty bathroom. Cleaning was performed daily; clean sheets and towels were provided so for this we were grateful. Breakfast was OK but very basic, everyday the same eggs...we would have expected more for those almost 100$ /night. Anyway all of this didn't matter too much because the location compensates for everything. The resort is located to on the same beach with the pier but far enough not to hear any noise or to be bothered by the boats. The other beach on the other side of the island is very nice as well but during the low tide which comes around 2Pm and ends when dark comes you will need to walk between rocks for 200-300 m to be able to take a swim plus during the night is so noisy from those bars on the beach that you won't be able to sleep. IMO the location is the resort's atuu and for this I'm reviewing the hotel as average although it's well below the standards

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristian46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This place is Heaven and that can't be said for many places on Phi Phi, we had the room nearest the reception no6, it was massive with a large comfy bed and a large bathroom, five steps from the room is your own virtually private beach with free sunbeds, as this is the last place before the cliffs there are no passers by, one drawback is the sun goes behind the cliff at about 1.00pm but you only have move 20 mts along the beach and its ok, breakfast was good with eggs ham and frankfurter ( how anybody eats them I don't know ) help yourself to tea coffee and toast, town and the ferries are 5min walk away and 15min to 30min to the other beach according to route taken, go first left after the big hotel for quickest or zig zag through town for longest, lots of bar/restaurants in town but the best nightlife is on the other beach and well way from this resort, good bars Ciao Bella for drinking food awful, and woodys and slinky's for the partying and fire show, I was last here the year before the tsunami so there have been lots of changes some good some bad, it was a lot quieter back then, the island is still suffering with lots of rebuilding work, went to long beach by longtail boat, looks ok but not much shade and no sunbeds, half hour walk back to town, we are 4 very young at heart 60 year olds, anyway back to Popular beach resort a piece of heaven on a mad mad island.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

When I first inquired they told me 3000 baht a night, then after deliberation we booked (with a different receptionist) and he told me 3500... which is frustrating that everyone tries to take advantage.
However, the place is literally on the waters edge (and the at the end of the beach). This side of Phi Phi has no night scene, party is on the other side so its good for relaxing. There are a million boats on this side so not too much swimming can be done, but it was nice that it was tucked away in the corner , although it is about 10min from the center.
Rooms are huge and are a bit old but has everything you need. Bathrooms need a bit of work. There are signs not too feed monkeys but I didn't encounter any and a little overrun by ants but not too bad.

Breakfast is very basic. There is also a lovey bar/restaurant on site but we never tried it out. Great stay for relaxing - but not for partying.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justindp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at room number 9 which has a larger shower than the other rooms and it was a very nice experience . The rooms are right on the beach ( the better beach near the ferry) and located next to a cliff. Amazing view, new aircon, hot shower and very comfortable bed! Location was great for us but could be problematic to others because it's about 10-15 min walk from the center.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dali1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews