We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
12
9
7
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
9
7
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This place is far enough away from the tourist mess (it's actually the furthest west hotel on Tonsai and bumps up against the side of a steep karst/mountain) that you can't hear the noise from Woody's or Slinky's and there are only a few bungalows so you can sleep. The rooms are large and the bathrooms were decent. The modest cafe they have served great breakfasts, which were included. The lady that owns this place is the coolest Thai person I ran into on Tonsai and was very nice. Eating at the cafe one morning we saw monkeys try to get into the trash and the chef's daughter ran outside with a slingshot to scare them away lol...it was cool to stay in a place on Tansai that was still pretty "Thai" and maintained by locals. The drink hut in front is great too and it's beachfront - you really can't beat it!

Room tip: Book in advance - not many bungalows and they fill up.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler2985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The location of this hotel might have been good some years ago. Today Tonsai Bay is nothing but one big harbour. Boats all over, and the beach and water was dirty and uninviting.
We had the cheapest room in the hotel, and it was very tired and worn. The bedlinen was probably clean but with stains that seemed to be permanent. The fridge was smelly.
Our room was in the building in the back of the hotel, and it looked like a construction site because a new staircase was being build, practically on the porch of our room, so not much privacy when the builders were working.
The pros:
Very nice receptionist who spoke very good english. Nice laid back atmosphere. Pretty good breakfast: you can choose something from the menu (eggs etc.) and there is also a buffet - basic but good - with yoghurt, müsli, toast, coffee, tea and fruit (pineapple and watermelon).You can use as many beach towels you want. Free luggage transport to the ferry when we left.
Price: Seemed overpriced but that goes for most accomodation on Phi Phi Islands.
We chose the hotel because I read from earlier rewiews that it was quiet, which turned out to be true. Actually the location was a little boring, but it was only a 10-15 minutes walk to the village center.
My husband and I didn't like Tonsai Village much although the promenade along the bay was quite nice with restaurants overlooking the sea. But the "maze" (village center) which we had to walk through to get to the wiewpoint was dirty, smelly and boiling hot. Seemed to be geared towards the backpacker crowd.
Beach: We avoided the hotel´s beach and went to Long Beach instead. It is quite a nice walk once you have passed by the village. It takes about 45 minutes from the hotel. Long Beach is beautiful and I would have prefered to stay closer to it or maybe on Long Beach although I think the path between Long Beach and the village is difficult to walk at night.
The receptionist warned us of the monkeys.We only saw a monkey once, as the staff chase them away, but we forgot our sun lotion on the porch, and in the morning we found the bottle open and the lid on the floor with toothmarks on.
I wouldn't stay in this part of Phi Phi again as it is too touristy.

Room tip: The rooms on the beach seemed better but for the price of those you can get a better hotel.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enjoyyourholiday_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Seriously, if there is a better location for accommodation around I want to see it!

Recommended and booked for us by the guys at Krabi Konnect, I fell in love with the photos on their website, but upon our arrival, those photos do not do the location justice!

Genuinely ON the beach at the very, very end of the beach under the limestone cliffs with no passers by.

Our room was large, and clean. Ok, let's be honest, the bathroom probably needs an upgrade but it was clean. Windows from bedroom looking straight out onto the bay like a picture postcard.

Balcony right outside the door over the sand with uninterrupted views - a perfect place to sit in the afternoon and have a few beers or cocktails.

Right downstairs they have their own cocktail bar right on the beach as well, with beach chairs aplenty.

Breakfast was basic but certainly adequate and the staff seriously fall over themselves to help out. Sure there are monkeys about, but common sense means they won't harass you.

Several restaurants and bars (loved the Deaf Gecko about 50metres away) along the beach front, or the centre of the action of Phi Phi is 10 minutes easy walk.

If it is about location, and getting away from it all, this is the place!

Room tip: They are all brilliant facing the bay !
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mullos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Incredible views and location. We absolutely loved it. We loved how laid back and quaint it was and we loved the monkeys as well. Really great experience. The receptionist was very kind and helpful. The rooms are simple and clean with a/c and you can't beat the location. Perfect place to finish our trip. Half the price of Mamas next door.

Room tip: We had one of the two rooms that was closest to the beach and loved the location. It felt like we had our own little beach.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chibby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

The place and the beach is beautiful... But then the room was dirty.. The sheets smelled bad and the towels had weird stains. Thy did not tell us that we had to leave the keys to have our room cleaned so we didnt have any room service doe. It was expensive for What it was. I would go next door at mama casa hotel!

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eloise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews