We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,891)
Filter reviews
2,891 results
Traveller rating
2,182
428
147
85
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,182
428
147
85
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary jane private pool hideaway pool villa our honeymoon outdoor bathroom supreme deluxe teak wood koh phangan small village main restaurant main pool nearby village sea view neighbouring beach traditional thai style speedboat transfer thong nai pan beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,704 - 1,709 of 2,891 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2009

My partner and I had 3 days in Ko Pha Ngan for the Full Moon Party, and while we like a good time/party, we are not interested in staying in cheaper, more run down places that are supposedly "filled with character". I want to be assured I am staying somewhere lovely when I'm on vacation, and Santhiya in many ways lived up to that. It's also nowhere near Haad Rin beach, where the party is held, so you can be guaranteed of a secluded break away from all the crowds.

It was unfortunate that the rain was torrential half the time we were there, especially considering it was not the rainy season.

On arrival on the island (we had taken a speed boat from Koh Samui near the Big Buddha Pier to Haad Rin Pier which took approx 30 mins at a cost of THB600 each) the hotel kindly picked us up and took us on the 45 minute drive back to the resort (a cost of THB2000). Considering it was 8pm at night and pouring with rain, I didn't care about the cost. The drive was interesting in that you have to go over winding, unsealed roads through the forest, which is actually quite amazing.

The resort is made up of individual huts, which are spread over the hillside, and you are generally transported around in one of the hotels golf buggies. The night we arrived, the rain was unlike any I have seen before and we couldn't be shown to our room for over an hour.

The room itself was lovely, although no view of the ocean which we were expecting. We hadn't booked the lead in room type, we had paid for a higher room category. The layout of the huts takes a little getting used to, but the outdoor shower is certainly different - but in a good way. The only drawback is when it rains and you're taking a shower, the sensation of hot water from the shower mixing with cold rain water doesn't make for the most enjoyable experience. The same applies with the outdoor bath - water was running off the roof into our bath. The bed was very comfortable, and all the amenities, etc. were all lovely.

The food and drinks were always delicious, although I have to say one thing I noticed was the service was always very slow which is unusual and very different to the standard offered by other 5 star hotels in Asia.

We spent our few days just lazing by the pool, with it's cascading waterfalls and view over the sea, while we recovered from our full moon party experience. There isn't a great deal to do, but then I wouldn't suggest going to Santhiya if you are looking for things to do. You go to relax and forget about the rest of the world for a few days.

Our return to Koh Samui was much more seamless and easier with the hotels own speedboat transfer direct from their pier to Koh Samui, and then the short 7-8 minute drive to the airport in the hotels air-conditioned van.

NB: If you do want to go to the full moon party, the hotel offers a shuttle service at 9pm on the night of the party, returning to the hotel at 3am. We unfortunately missed this because of our late arrival, but the hotel was most helpful in finding us a taxi that took us on the "harrowing" 45 minute drive back to Haad Rin (cost was THB1200 for the two of us). I say harrowing because we were in the back of a ute with a tarpolin/cover over the top, and the lady was driving easily 100 km/h through the narrow jungle road and around the tighest of bends - my partner loved it though. All part of the adventure. The same lady also happened to take us and a group of others back to the hotel at 5.30am the next morning for the much cheaper price of THB500 for the two of us.

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathanj78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

A little bit of our recent trip on Koh Phangan and Koh Samui Islands in Thailand

My Fiance booked a few nights in the Santhiya Hotel as a suprise for me. It was absolutly lovely! The architecture is very beautiful. We got greeted with fresh towels and coconut drinks,and soon after we got escorted in one of the hotels cars to our Sea View accommodation - simply gorgeous! The views were amazing! The Thai music was on and made us feel very special! It is definely one of the most secluded resort on the Koh Phangan island, it is very posh and worth every penny!
We had breakfast included in the price we paid, we only dined there once - please note they charge service fee and VAT (they are not optional), this ads up considerably to he bill. However, this didn't stop us from enjoying other places on the beach.
Baan Panburi Restaurant and Resort have a evening BBQ, a wide selection of fish, and other meats such as ostrich or crocodile! They do a cocktail happy hour from 5 - 6.30, do recommend their special! Their BBQ is very nice, but not as delicious as the one from I Sea Bar, they do the best BBQ - recommend the red snapper! Delicious!
Baan Panburi have lovely and cheap beach hut accommodation. (around 1200 TB with fan and A/C) We know that as we spend a few nights there too, before we moved to Santhiya Resort. Their receptionists were very helpful, they can recommend you things to do or see, or can arrange a taxi. We asked them if they can get us a taxi to Haad Rin and paid 1000 TB for the fare, and also tiped the driver 60TB
From Haad Rin Budda Pier we took a private taxi and negotionated the price to 300 TB to Ibis Hotel. You can't go wrong with it, they are very nice, staff very helpful. We didn't had a reservation and took our chances, and we were right, there were plenty of rooms.
We went for dinner at a French restaurant not far from the Ibis Hotel, called La Flambee de Sana - the food O-la-la!!! very very nice! the owner, French prepared the most delicious food for us, we absolutly loved it!
The next day we hired a scooter - as you do - and explored the island a bit. We were stopped at a bar when opposite we spotted a VW Classic Bettle hire! We were so please to see them, that immediately went and asked what were the procedures. We negotiated the price and got it for 700 TB! We were so happy!!! We spend the next day driving it all around the island, it was superb!
I don't have words to express my happiness and gratitude for Thailand and its residents. Everywhere we went, everyone smiles at you! The Islands we stayed on both Koh Pahgnan and Koh Samui are worth visiting.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrullyBizaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Spent 6 nights at Santhiya in a Royal Pool Villa (their most expensive). The villa was not as good as the one in the brochure for the room class and had obscured sea views. The villa itself was wooden and had an outside bathroom which sounds good in theory but does result in multiple mosquito bites all over your body.

The hotel itself was very quiet. We often found ourselves eating alone in the restaurant. The food itself was of a high quality and tasty but quite expensive (about £15 for a fish main meal).

There is access to the adjoining beach where there are other restaurants and diving available. The Rasananda looks better and is directly on the beach for a similar price.

There is no internet in the rooms, only in the lobby area. All activities, including borrowing a DVD are chargeable.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_fiend_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I have just visited this wonderful place in Koh Phangan and i can say what a paradise it has been. I can really recommend this for couple in honeymoon and family's as it is really has a lot to offer for an adventurous souls such as diving, kayaking, sailing. the sailing that they offer was really fabulous we were able to visit several islands around the gulf not the typical beaches you see in other commercial areas in Thailand. I have visited many resorts before in Thailand as i have frequented many famous beaches as well before but i can say i am truly fascinated in Santhiya's beach and what it offers.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HammoBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in september 2008. We arrived from another resort on the island and we forgot our voucher and money and passports. A true nightmare.
The hotel suggested that they send someone the whole ride back to the other part of the island to get it for us. What an amazing service! In the meanwhile we got a fresh coconut and a lovely neck and head massage and we were impressed by the whole property. Everything in beautiful carvings and a very lovely lush nature and surroundings. The rooms are clean and you have stunning views of the bay I think almost from every room. The staff was fantastic and very helpful. Important for us is that you treat those people friendly also and you'll meet the true thai friendlyness. The diner and lunch, you have a lot choices from, if you do this every day you're stuffed. the presentation is marvelous, even the delicous tuna sandwich at the beach restaurant. The spa is very clean and the atmophere is very personal and some of the best massages we had in four years Thailand. Do them with your partner and it's an experience you'll never forget. The pool with waterfall is huge and very clean. The people who stay here, stay most of the time not for so long. It's a totally different "audience" then @ haad rin beach. The prices are higher than usual but normal for a good quality stay like this. You pay for what you get. It's thai management with international standards. Here you are to relax,eat, do the spa and go to sleep, the next day the fairytale just starts over again and again. A resort for the real enjoyers of good things in life.

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spipje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews