We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,878)
Filter reviews
2,878 results
Traveller rating
2,171
427
147
85
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,171
427
147
85
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool mary jane hideaway pool villa our honeymoon outdoor bathroom supreme deluxe koh phangan main restaurant small village main pool nearby village sea view neighbouring beach traditional thai style speedboat transfer jip shop thong nai pan beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,385 - 1,390 of 2,878 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We've searched for the perfect combination of great resort on a great beach for years and have finally found it.
First, it's only half an hour by boat from Koh Samui - make sure you go to Koh Phangan's best beach, on the north-east coast at Thong Nai Pan Noi.

Santhiya's happy staff welcomed us aboard their speedboat and it was a breeze.

The resort is a Small Luxury Hotel and you can see why - the architecture and layout over many green acres is outstanding right down to its own sandy beach and with comanding views along the entire Thong Nai Pan beach.

Try to go for the higher rooms that have their own big infinity pool to fall into with gorgeous timber canoes to use as sun lounges. This was simply outstanding for us and you feel very contented indeed.

The timber Santhiya open mini bus was also gorgeous if you didn't want to walk up and down the gentle hill. The main resort pool area was fantastic and this resort is something more Australians should discover as a fantastic alternative to overcrowded Bali.

The beach in front of us at Thong Nai Pan Noi was the whitest we've seen in Asia with aquamarine water and no waves. The beach has just enough quality cafes and bars to keep you happy, but the best food we had was at the Santhiya resort in their restaurant.

The resort beachfront cafe was also fantasdtic just to eat casual food under the big shady tropical tree in your swimwear, while taking in the white beach.

The staff here are so beautiful...we thought Thai friendliness couldn't get any better till we went here and their unwavering happiness is something we can all learn from.

The resort general manager Panja is obviously the reason they're so wonderful...he was always there being so nice to us and we've formed a new friendship we value highly.

Thanks to Santhiya for the best resort experience we've ever had, all on a beautiful beach that's at a perfect stage of development.

Room Tip: All are good and the weather here in the Gulf of Thailand in July is good compared with the other side on Phuket.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Whereisjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

It was our second stay at Santhiya and it was another great 10 days there! Huge territory, tropical garden, empty beaches... The hotel is mostly villas standing so far away from each other that you cannot see anything but sea and jungles, many of villas are with private pool, so you hardly see many people around. The sea near hotel is not best to swim as there are a lot of sharp stones and live corals in the water, especially be careful at the time of low tide, but just a couple minutes walk you can find a very nice sandy beach, which is actually one of the best beached at Koh Phangan. If you don't have a pool villa, there is a gorgeous pool with 10 meter waterfall near the beach. All day long it's quiet and relaxing. In the evening many people walk to the neighboring beach and village for a dinner, it's possible to find any kind of food you want, we enjoyed Thai food, each day we had dinner at different place. We didn't have dinner at hotels, just had drinks in the bar, and the drinks were just perfect. Breakfast is outstanding, you'll be able to understand it only when you sit at the restaurant overviewing the sea and the beach and eat really delicious food.

We stayed during the second half of June and despite that it was rain season we didn't see rain at all.

Overall, this place is for people looking for relaxed and quiet vacations at the sea side in tropical garden at luxury place with nicest personnel. Just don't expect to see there glossy marble, concrete, metal. This place is for people who can to Thailand to enjoy traditional Thai style with villas and furniture are made of teak wood, sraircases made from old ships and a lot of flowers and trees around.

I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel-there-now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

If you get a private bungelow with your own pool, it is incredible. We were there a few weeks ago,in Early July. The staff is lovely and very accommodating. The food is geat too. What is not so great, is their ability to communicate or help you with trips such as to the marine parl. it took us a while to figure out that they were not asking us or other tours that could have fit us in. We did not get to go, but it's ok. We went Elephant rising (which we asked about as a private trip) and all was good.

Next, food is good except I warn you, if you are in the mood for a lunch time hamburger for a change of pace, don't go down the beach( forgot the name) to the hotel/restaurant with "pizza" written all over. Looks nice, but aweful.

We will go back to Santhiya.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank sdhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is by far the best hotel on the best beach in Koh Phangan.

The Santhiya speedboat only takes half an hour from Koh Samui direct to the resort on the beautiful, beautiful Thong Nai Pan Noi beach.

The resort manager Panja is such a wonderful man and epitomises the genuine friendliness here that is better than anywhere else we've seen in the world.

The resort architecture is superb...individual timber finishes and an infinity pool with indiviidual timber canoes for sunbathing on while looking down the coast to the beautiful beach.

Santhiya is a beautiful resort on many acres of greenery with a commanding view over Thong Nai Pan Noi beach. We had also considered the Anantara down the beach but it's just not in the same class for luxury or value.

Koh Phangan is a beautiful island...make sure you head straight to the north-east coast for the best beaches at Thong Nai Pan Noi and just around the corner at Thong Nai Pan Yai. There are quite a few restaurants on each beach but the stand-out luxury hotel is certainly the Santhiya.

Thanks again to the wonderful Santhiya staff who are genuinely concerned about your happiness. We'll long remember their inner peace that radiated out to everyone around them.

Room Tip: Try the upper rooms with infinity pool access...they're superb.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manager_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This was one of those places where you want to pinch yourself. "Is this real"?
Beautiful location, wonderful peaceful rooms, amazing jungle like gardens, very polite and friendly staff. Easy access to beach restaurants and small shops.
Fantastic holiday. Can't say much more, other then I want to go back.

Room Tip: For cheap local food. Walk over rocks past resort with red umbrellas, turn right and you are at the village. Cheap and cheerful food and drinks
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunloverAdelaide060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews