We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort but still some comments to be made...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We arrived at Santhiya on 2nd January and were warmly welcomed. We booked a room with access to the pool on top of the hill, but the lady said that we were upgraded to stay in a villa with private pool. We didn't argue with that, the villa was superb and not far to walk to the restaurant as well as the main entrance where our scooter was parked.
We booked for 7 nights and have another 3 nights to go. The first night on our arrival we decided to stay for the buffet. It was very nice but the food that was meant to be hot was cold. A little disappointing.
The next day, we wanted to try down by the beach the restaurant, next to the big pool. The menu was very booring and you didn't have much choice to choose for BBQ. We decided to choose the seafood basket. It was average.
Next day, we explored outside the resort through the secret passage along the beach. That was great. When you first arrive on the beach, the first BBQ restaurant was packed with people (lots of them were from Santhiya) and everything is charcoal grilled. Very nice. Service was also great and they spoke english fluently.
Back to Santhiya, we have seen their menu. It is rather disappointing to see it with pictures. Basically, the menu looks cheap. My STRONG RECOMMENDATION for the chef at Santhiya, "change the menu, remove the pictures and make it look like a normal menu for people to read" trust me, it will make a difference. Because we think, we don't trust ourselves to try, a menu with photos looks like canteen food or on the street. Change it ASAP. It will uplift your restaurant.
With the buffet, it is our 4th breakfast and still looks the same. It is a little rather booring, especially for guests like us that are staying for 7 nights.
Otherwise overall, it is a wonderful resort. No doubts about that and very friendly staff going out of their way to help you.

Room Tip: We were in room 202, not far from the restaurant and also the entrance. Handy to access to our scoot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,326 - 1,330 of 2,620 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon. We arrived by speedboat from Koh Samui and as soon as we saw it it took our breath away.

We stayed in a hideaway villa. The hotel is set in the hillside and there are little carts that can take you from your room to the pool or main part of the hotel. Luckily ours was in walking distance.

The hideaway villa was simply amazing....it was decorated in teak like the rest of the hotel with a four poster bed, an outside bathroom and a seperate living room where you could step into our own private pool. We also had a jacuzzi bath out the front of the villa which was already full and topped with rose petals when we arrived. Very impressive.

The hotel itself was beautiful...very open and the staff were very nice and friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurant once which was very nice as was the breakfast selection. However on the next beach over from the hotel there are a few more beach restaurants to choose from which were cheaper. In order to get to this beach however you have to climb over some rocks so take sturdy shoes. Also the sand that is on the hotel's private beach is quite stoney and can hurt your feet so best to wear shoes. The sand on the beach over the rocks however is lovely powdery sand.

If you walk about 3/4 of the way down the sandy beach (just passed the hotel with the white flags on the beach) you will notice a little gap between two bars which leads to a little shop on the left hand side. Here we stocked up on beer, water, juices, crisps etc as it was cheaper than getting it from the hotel. If you walk further up this road it will lead you to a little village with more restaurants and little spa's. I would recommend that instead of using the hotel spa you use one of these ones in the village as they are a lot cheaper. We had 10,000 THB credit to use at the spa in the hotel which me and my husband used on a full thai body massage each. This was lovely and very relaxing. We also had massages at the little spas in the village and they were just as good but for a fraction of the price. The hotel with the red flags on the beach was the hotel that Katie Price and Alex Reid stayed at on their honeymoon.

On the sandy beach you can also get a taxi/boat taxi to Haad Rin where they hold the full moon parties. These were 200THB per person when we went but I can't recall if that was for each way or for a return. They tend to leave around 10pm and come back for around 5am.Unfortunatly we did not make any full moon/half moon/black moon parties. There was one the night before we arrived and one the night we left.

Whilst staying on the island we did a day trip to Ang Thong Marine park which I would thoroughly recommend. It was beautiful.

We stayed here for a week in September for the last part of our honeymoon. Usually no matter where I go I will get bitten a hundred times by mosquitoes. However I never got bitten once the whole time I was in Thailand. The hotel were very good at spraying the grounds however at which point you have to stay in doors or leave the hotel premises as a white cloud descends across the grounds.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone especially the Hideaway Villa - definately worth splashing out for. It was great for a romantic getaway and I am now going to find it very hard to go away and not have my own private pool.

I never used the main pool at the hotel as there was no need with our own pool attached to the comfort of our villa however every time we walked passed it looked very clean and inviting. I can't wait to stay here again.

Please note however that there is no 'night life' on this part of the island. It is very quiet with plenty of places to eat but thats about it at night time. If you are looking for more night life then you may want to stay nearer to Haad Rin.

Room Tip: Splash out for the hideaway villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroundtheworld080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I have been in this resort with my friends for the full moon party. The hotel is amazing, it offers very nice rooms and high quality food at every hour. On the other hand you should not underestimate the transportation cost in choosing this hotel: to get to the full moon beach or to the most famous beach you need to take the boat (if the sea is ok) or get a ride with the car. It takes almost one hour, the street is one of the worst I have ever seen and it cost at least 1000 baht for a single ride. In some cases some taxi refuse to bring you home since it is too far... So if you are going to stay in the hotel enjoy the amazing experience, if you plan to visit the island choose something closer to life!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baronz_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Superb rooms! We had the hideaway villa with its own splash pool, the outdoor bathroom is fun and private enough, the bedrooms beautifully decorated in teak with a really nice sitting room and patio.

The hotel location is a both a blessing and a curse, the tropical jungle location is really great if you are looking to feel away from it all in your own private romantic jungle hideaway but it comes with the inevitable
Mosquito issues. The hotel take all the steps they can to keep them under control but you will get bitten, it isn't a problem though and nothing to spoil a wonderful 4 nights over Christmas.

The food is great, expensive when compared to the easily accessible local village but very reasonable when compared to home. The swimming pool and sea front bar are great, service is mostly excellent and I would recommend this place in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craggy1sland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Santhiya was worth every penny spent for a 5 star luxury resort. We bought the 'hideaway' package and added an extra night so we had 9 amazing nights in a hideaway sea view pool villa and we could not have asked for more. It was so private and luxurious, having your own pool really makes a difference to your summer holiday! The service was first class, the staff so very friendly and the authentic Thai decor is really special. We ate in the restaurant every night because the menu is amazing, a great mix of authentic Thai food (which was what we were after) but also a Western menu if you fancy a night off Thai. The restaurant staff surprised us with our own special table and a card signed by all staff on our last night + a complimentary cocktail. I have never felt so special as a guest before. The facilities are great, especially the spa and the library where you can borrow a summer read. My only criticism is the activities. If you happen to get bad weather like we did (it was hot but a lot of rain and turbulent waters) then all the water activities are out, leaving you with not much to do if you want to fill your days with some activity. It wasn't a problem for us as we were happy to relax but my advice is if you're after some adventure, this isn't the resort, or in fact island for you. Although, you can take a short stroll to the local village and hire a motorbike to explore the island, like we did!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
11 km away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
12.6 km away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
683 reviews
10.6 km away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
738 reviews
0.7 km away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,593 reviews
0.7 km away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa

Address: 22/7 Moo 5 Bantai Koh Phangan | Thong Nai Pan Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: €103 - €455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus is second to the highest villa category in the resort with 115sqm floor area and a truly unique character to show. Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus boasts its own personal infinity pools and a mini waterfall, picture-perfect panoramic sea view vistas along with a living room and open-air bathrooms. Perfect for newlyweds and honeymooners. Get lost in your very own luxurious private villa, the Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santhiya Resort And Spa
Santhiya Hotel Thong Nai Pan
Santhiya Hotel Ko Phangan
Santhiya Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing