We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible - Not what it looks like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible - Not what it looks like”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We checked into this hotel with enthusiasm after seeing the pictures on the internet, and lets just say they are a little misleading.

The rooms are tiny, very run down and had a funky smell to it. The door to the room couldn't close properly as the wood around the handle was broken...but that wasn't the biggest surprise.

That lay in the bathroom which was just disgusting. When we checked in, there was a dead Gecko on the toilet seat with ants eating it...which suggested they obviously hadn't come through to clean it in a little while.

The sheets had stains and as far as "Sea View" goes, well I guess if I twisted my neck out from the balcony then I did get a glimpse of about 1m of the sea.

We stuck around for all of 5minutes before walking down the beach to find better accommodation, which we did at almost every other place we looked at. Some of the other hotel owners even laughed when we explained our predicament and said that they quite often get people coming from Baan Panburi looking for other accommodation.

They refused to refund us anything since it was during full moon period, so we were stuck paying for the 3 nights...but was happy to wear this cost if it meant we could get out of there asap. We found a nicer place down the beach and checked in their immediately.

Look, I'm sure if you are traveling on a budget and are used to Hostel/backpacker accommodation then this place might appeal...but anyone looking for a nice beachfront bungalow...steer clear!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    69
    37
    22
    17
See reviews for
24
116
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We checked in looking forward to the stay pics on Internet looked great. When we got to our rooms they were disgusting. They smelt, sheets had blood stains on them and the bathroom was absolutely disgusting. The view is great but it is a long way out from Thongsala and there really isn't much to do. Would never ever stay here again or recommend it to anyone. When we checked out 5 minutes later they refused to refund us as it was full moon period and they were apparently booked out and had to cancel ther people for us!! No apology at all and extremely rude. The pictures in the Internet are false advertising!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyBillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

this place is great crew, great views, great restaurant, great room and only 1000 bht (for room with AC). we will Definitely come back when we will be again in koh phangan.
thank you for your nice and warm host !!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orli a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is my first time at the Yai Beach and second time at the Koh Phangan. Stayed for 3 days with a friend during the full moon party and it was pretty ideal since it was away from all the noise. The beach wasn't even that crowded which is what we were looking for.

The room is a basic layout and decor. This bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Firm and very soft form-fitting. I honestly slept the best. The AC is unnecessary during the rainy season since it's already pretty cool.

The bathroom was not on par with the room. It's simply a shower and a toilet separated by a moldy shower curtain. The dark blue bathroom didn't really match the room. The water pressure has to be kept low since it's connected to a water heater in order for the water to be hot. I also found a bunch of tiny water bugs on the sink, so keep your toothbrushes covered. I felt that I might have been a bit overcharge for the room considering the amenities.

The service was very nice. The library is pretty limited, but I guess no one really comes here to read, heh. The dining room was swarming with flies. At one point during breakfast there were 12 flies swarming my table. It made me wonder where the stink was coming from for them to concentrate on one area. The food taste ok, but I did get a bit sick. We only ate at the hotel and my friend got really sick. She eventually had to take an imodium so she could still walk around the island.

The place is located at the end of the beach and the view is calming. The beach is quiet and clean. It's 35-45 minutes away from the pier. It was both good and bad, but I'd probably try a different location if I went back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelingamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This was my 2nd trip to thong nai pan yai and first at baan panburi. Inam hesitant to say what I really feel because I don't want the secret to get out about the beach or baan panburi. Yai is the best beach I have found so far in Thailand and baan panburi is awesome. It's not fancy but the location is great, the swimming is great and I fou d the staff to be super helpful especially banana. Maybe it was because I got engaged there that I am a bit jaded,but everyone on the staff went out of their way to be helpful. I am a food snob and I though the food was excellent, the BBQ was great, the breakfast was one of the best I ever had and the traditional Thai food was great (mainly the seafood dishes, didn't care for the pad Thai). I would highly recommend this place to someone or a couple who is looking to chill out, relax, sit on the beach and eat good food. Being next to the dolphin is the best o both worlds so you can eat at both places and drink in the dolphins cool vibe at night like I said maybe I am jaded because their staff went out of their way to help make my girlfriend and my special day even more special but we can't wait to go back. Just don't let the secret out to everyone.

Only complaint is matress is a bit hard and small since I'm 6"3 but you can sleep on the beach during the day

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troble733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 km away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#52 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.6 km away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#14 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.7 km away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Nice Beach Resort
Nice Beach Resort
#93 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 km away
Dolphin Bungalows
Dolphin Bungalows
#45 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 km away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#20 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach

Property: Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach
Address: Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach | 2 Moo 5, Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Thai huts located on famed Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach. Traditional Southern Accommodation with great prices and unbeatable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Baan Panburi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing