We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort!. I don't think so.”
Review of Blue Marine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Marine Resort
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Just why the Blue Marine would describe it's self as a resort is a bit of a mystery. A hotel, sure, but not a resort, no pool, wi-fi that either doesn't work or painfully slow, no facilities in the rooms, no coffee, no tea and very bad TV reception do not add up to resort standards.
We booked one of the new rooms up the hill a little and found them to be very nice rooms, clean and new with two showers, one outdoors one indoors and a little balcony with the standard unfriendly stool to try and sit on and relax.
There's a small little strip of very dirty sand in front ( or is it the back) of the hotel, lets stop calling it a resort from here on in.
You wont see anybody use it though, and you certainly wont see any staff venture out to pick up any of the rubbish that's strewn along the sand ( hello, that's what resorts do!).
It also bills itself as having a restaurant, it doesn't, there's two sad little tables in the foyer that seem to serve as a potential restaurant but, like the beach, you wont see anybody use it.
They don't provide any way to supply yourself with hot water in the rooms, so no coffee or tea, instead they had a jug and some cups and things in the foyer, they seriously expect guests to pay for it, like the beach and the restaurant, you wont see anybody using it.
I guess if you're in Haad Rin for the full moon party, it would serve it's purpose and quite frankly, why would you be in Haad Rin otherwise?.

Room Tip: Up the hill are better rooms, but if you're reading this you're probably a backpacker on a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_rossduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked this place through one of the local Thai travel companies, and based on prior experience with these types of bookings expected something quite basic, especially since the price was so cheap. However, upon arrival we were blown away by the beauty of the place! The resort has it's own private beach with a beautiful swing going over the water, and the bungalows are very tidy, spacious, and air conditioned. I would definitely recommend this resort to everyone travelling to Koh Phanghan, whether you plan on attending the Full Moon Party or not. It was right on the edge of the main area, so took about 5-10 minutes to walk to Full Moon. However, noise or other disturbances were no issue at all; from our bungalow you wouldn't even guess that there was such a large party nearby! It is fantastic value for money as well, we paid 1500THB (about 50 AUD or 40 EURO) per night but prices change depending on the season.

Room Tip: The Garden View Bungalow we stayed in was lovely, although probably not quite nice enough to qualify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matkakucing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here for the full moon period in Feb 2012 for 5 nights, In a garden bungalow. The rooms it self were nice, clean and Big.

It is walking distance to the Full moon party but far enough away that you can sleep at night without hearing the party.

The staff were nice and friendly and even woke up early so we could have an early morning check out.

The hotel it self doesn't offer breakfast or dinner, but you're only 1-2 mins walk away from a burger joint and a dozen restaurants. So it it bother us.

Looking at staying here again if we come back for another Ful moon.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rattyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Blue Marine was in a good location for those looking to stay in Haad Rin. Initially we were put on the back foot when we arrived as two seperate staff made it quite clear to us that we must shower before bed if we use the flourescent body paint infamous at full moon parties otherwise we would pay damages. We were quite surprised that this was the most important thing they had to get across to us. The room itself was nice, clean and in a decent setting with an oblique seaview. The bed was a decent size but it came with two single size duvets so it was a bit bizarre having to have duvet each. The resort as a whole was pretty tidy but there was the odd bit of debris around like an old toilet cistern lid by the side of our bungalow. I did really like the beach itself. Although a bit coral strewn and quite thin it is nice and quiet and a contrast from sunrise beach across Haad Rin. Now I understand that Haad Rin is a party place but the resort didn't seem to have much of a policy towards noise at night. A couple of nights people were loudly drinking on their balconies past midnight. I had a few nights out myself but I kept the noise in town. It would of been nice if people were told to take their parties out past midnight. All in all I have to say the accommodation and resort were really nice its just the shame the service was very impersonal. I understand that they must suffer people getting fluorescent paint everywhere but its nice to treat each new guest as a possible good one not expect the worst and make it obvious.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The resort is in a beautiful location, a few steps from the beach in a quiter area of the island. The beach at resort very small, the main beaches which were more suitable for swimming are a short walk away. The beach huts were basic but nice, clean and well maintained. We had a beautiful view of sea and gardens from our sea facing balcony and enjoyed watching beautiful sunset in evening. No pool but not needed with beautiful beaches so close. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definatley recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATIEnSHAUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.6 km away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Hat Rin
411 reviews
10.6 km away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
255 reviews
0.5 km away
The Coast Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
11.4 km away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,591 reviews
12 km away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marine Resort

Address: 110/6 Moo. 6, Haad Rin Nai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 413 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: €61 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Marine Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Marine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing