We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
18
25
19
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
25
19
5
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked this place through one of the local Thai travel companies, and based on prior experience with these types of bookings expected something quite basic, especially since the price was so cheap. However, upon arrival we were blown away by the beauty of the place! The resort has it's own private beach with a beautiful swing going over the water, and the bungalows are very tidy, spacious, and air conditioned. I would definitely recommend this resort to everyone travelling to Koh Phanghan, whether you plan on attending the Full Moon Party or not. It was right on the edge of the main area, so took about 5-10 minutes to walk to Full Moon. However, noise or other disturbances were no issue at all; from our bungalow you wouldn't even guess that there was such a large party nearby! It is fantastic value for money as well, we paid 1500THB (about 50 AUD or 40 EURO) per night but prices change depending on the season.

Room Tip: The Garden View Bungalow we stayed in was lovely, although probably not quite nice enough to qualify as a 5-star honeymoon retreat. However, if you are looking to have a more luxurious holiday, the Sea View Bungalows are more expensive but have breathtaking views and slightly newer facilities.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matkakucing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here for the full moon period in Feb 2012 for 5 nights, In a garden bungalow. The rooms it self were nice, clean and Big.

It is walking distance to the Full moon party but far enough away that you can sleep at night without hearing the party.

The staff were nice and friendly and even woke up early so we could have an early morning check out.

The hotel it self doesn't offer breakfast or dinner, but you're only 1-2 mins walk away from a burger joint and a dozen restaurants. So it it bother us.

Looking at staying here again if we come back for another Ful moon.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rattyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Blue Marine was in a good location for those looking to stay in Haad Rin. Initially we were put on the back foot when we arrived as two seperate staff made it quite clear to us that we must shower before bed if we use the flourescent body paint infamous at full moon parties otherwise we would pay damages. We were quite surprised that this was the most important thing they had to get across to us. The room itself was nice, clean and in a decent setting with an oblique seaview. The bed was a decent size but it came with two single size duvets so it was a bit bizarre having to have duvet each. The resort as a whole was pretty tidy but there was the odd bit of debris around like an old toilet cistern lid by the side of our bungalow. I did really like the beach itself. Although a bit coral strewn and quite thin it is nice and quiet and a contrast from sunrise beach across Haad Rin. Now I understand that Haad Rin is a party place but the resort didn't seem to have much of a policy towards noise at night. A couple of nights people were loudly drinking on their balconies past midnight. I had a few nights out myself but I kept the noise in town. It would of been nice if people were told to take their parties out past midnight. All in all I have to say the accommodation and resort were really nice its just the shame the service was very impersonal. I understand that they must suffer people getting fluorescent paint everywhere but its nice to treat each new guest as a possible good one not expect the worst and make it obvious.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The resort is in a beautiful location, a few steps from the beach in a quiter area of the island. The beach at resort very small, the main beaches which were more suitable for swimming are a short walk away. The beach huts were basic but nice, clean and well maintained. We had a beautiful view of sea and gardens from our sea facing balcony and enjoyed watching beautiful sunset in evening. No pool but not needed with beautiful beaches so close. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definatley recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATIEnSHAUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Hotel: Located at the not so pretty Haad Rin Nai/Sunset Beach which is not suitable for swimming due to broken corals, rocks and proximity to the Haad Rin pier where the ferry docks. Walking distance to the following: Haad Rin Pier (8 mins), town area (8 mins) with restaurants, money changers, gym, travel/internet/clothes/massage shops, convenience stores and it is 18 mins walk to Haad Rin Nok / Full Moon Party Beach from here. Resort consist of brick huts surrounded by gardens. No swimming pool and no gym. There is laundry service, motorbike rental, tour booking desk with internet. There seemed to be a restaurant but I hardly saw anyone eating there during my stay.

Room: Basic room with aircon, TV, mini fridge, verandah area with a hammock which is the only highlight of the room. The pillows are dirty, the mattress is uncomfortable with springs falling apart and the hot water is unreliable, so be prepared to take cold showers. Safe deposit box is available at reception but you have to provide your own padlock for added security. Being a party destination, the pillows and mattress were probably trashed by inconsiderate drunk travelers returning from the parties organised nightly at various location on this island in addition to the Full Moon Party.

Additional info: While the room is average, it does the job of providing a quiet place to sleep away from the noisy party beach. If you are planning travel to Koh Phangan for the monthly Full Moon party, book your accommodation early as all hotels, good or bad, are booked out during this period. Some last minute travelers paid big bucks for makeshift shared dorm accommodation. Then again, they probably were not planning to sleep anyway, just a place to put their bags as all the parties go on overnight until sunrise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabaiwanderer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews