We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
St.Helens, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best ever!!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Well there's not much more I can say about this hotel that hasn't already been said. It is truly amazing. My wife and I have been to many places all over the world but have never stayed anywhere that offers the kind of service and surroundings as Layana.

Upon our arrival at Koh Lanta via ferry from Phi Phi we were greeted by the hotel minibus and taken to the resort. When we arrived at the resort we were made to instantly feel like movie stars. The manager, Stefan, greeted us and introduced us to his staff who throughout the stay were, polite, friendly, courteous and helpful. Everyone from Stefan to the gardener and security guard were superb. We were taken to our beach side bugalow (which we were told on Tripadvisor was worth the upgrade) and we were amazed. Large room, spotless, lots of storage space, outside shower and sunken bath. We were brought complimentary drinks to our patio and sat and looked out across the sea, perfect.
As mentioned by people before we had drinks at happy hour and watched the sunset, the coco loco was lovely.

Our first night we went for a stroll down the beach (turn right) where there are lots of bars and restaurants at very reasonable prices and the food is of a good standard. The second night we ate in the hotel. Wow, the steak was to die for, not a bad price either as it was the special for the evening. We ate in the hotel restaurant again on our fourth night and again it didn't disappoint. My wife is quite a fussy eater but even she found the food amazing. Stefan was there both evenings making sure we were enjoying our stay and that everything was up to standard, which it was.
The breakfasts in the morning were fantastic. Lots of choice with a different styles of how you want your eggs each day from benedict to royale which were brought to your table once ordered, no standing around waiting.

The pool area is beautiful, again looking out across the sea. We spent most of our days on the beach as we literally came out of our bungalow and stepped on it. We didn't even have to put our towels on the loungers. As soon as the attendants saw us they would come over, place our towels on the loungers we wanted and put up the parasol. We literally didn't need to lift a finger to do anything. All day complimentary fresh ice cold water would be brought to us on the beach along with cold flannels and frozen pineapple on a stick, this was the life. The beach in front of the hotel is kept clean by the hotel staff which is good as the rest of the beach is quite dirty, and if there were any bad points about our stay in Koh Lanta this would be it. This, of course, has no reflection on the hotel as that was superb, but if your looking for an absolutely stunning beach then it wasn't the best.

Overall our stay at Layana was faultless. We were so disappointed to leave (via the hotel speedboat I may add) and really wish we had stayed longer than four nights. I generally don't like to return to the same place as the world is such a big place and there is so much of it to see but I would definately, definately return to Layana.

A big thank you to Stefan and his team for making us feel like royalty. XX

Room Tip: Beach bungalows 2 or 3 are well worth the upgarde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,294
    98
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
68
1,136
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our 3 nights stay at Layana has been absolutely brilliant from A to … let’s say X. Like many previous reviewers, my wife and I joined the Kanin fans club. The director of rooms is a priceless added value for the resort. He is around night and day, greeting all guests arriving or leaving, and making sure that everyone is enjoying their stay. Thumbs up to the beach and pool staff too, the “blue men”, doing a really great job anytime, taking care of absolutely everything guests would need, i.e. regular refill of fresh water glass, a complimentary service. We had a very nice Garden Room, modern and well furbished, close to the beautiful infinity pool. Layana is located on the lovely Long Beach, an uncrowded 4km long stretch of white sand and crystal blue water.

I did the Ko Phi Phi Tour, a really great day with nice people (guests and staffs). I would anyway suggest to update a bit the program, dropping the stop at uninteresting Ko Phi Phi Don to let guest spend more time at Maya Bay, Bamboo Island or any other paradisiacal spot. While I was off to the islands, my wife went to the spa and the staff managed to provide her a very nice tailored massage as she’s pregnant.

The restaurant offers a very nice view over the beach, it’s where we enjoyed every morning the very good breakfast buffet. But that’s unfortunately the only positive aspect about drink and food at Layana. Both service (very slow, including pool bar) and food (average) were globally disappointing, far to match the high standard of the resort. Therefore we went out in the evening, and we had two cheap and delightful dinners at Klapa Klum Bar, a lovely beach restaurant just 200 meters on the left from the resort. Highly recommended !

There are so many positive thinks to highlight about Layana then I can’t completely condemn it for the mentioned failure. But food and drinks being a key point to me in a resort, Layana don’t deserve a 5* review. Anyway, we had a very nice stay, it’s a very good hotel, and with some improvements, it could really become a true gem. Unfortunately, we won’t be able to return for a while as we gonna become parents soon and it’s an adult only resort…

Room Tip: There is free space next to the property, why not extending it and build a family area ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AuldCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We decided on Layana because of the adults only deal. If you are a couple looking for some quiet time with no screaming kids, this place is ideal. On check in we were met by the GM and served refreshing drinks and shown to our room. Since it was our first anniversary our room was beautifully done and complimentary sparkling wine. The pool was gorgeous. We did'nt get into the sea much because it was quite rough. The beach was the only disappointment as it was like any other ordinary beach. The breakfast every morn by the sea was fantastic. We rented a bike from the hotel at a very minimal rate and roamed the island. The Spa was another disappointment. I have been several times to thailand and this was the worst. The girls giggled amongst themselves and whispered loudly. Not very five star!!!! Look for guest relations manager Ai. She was very helpful and looked after us the whole time. Very relaxing and beautiful hotel. Well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenbraganza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My sister and i visited Layana for our sister trip on 18 to 21 Sep last year. I decided to write this review because i have yet to encounter another resort that is as good as this!

The staffs were extremely friendly and greeted us whenever we go. They got the timing right for making up our room. The environment of the resort sent you to full tranquility away from the busy city-life. There is a library which they have a public computer, free to use whenever you want. Plus free DVD rental as well! I love their complimentary daily fruit basket too.

We went during the monsoon season and most of the adventure activity couldn't be carried out. But we manage to join the elephant ride tour, which made us regret. The trip was disappointing since the engaged company's elephant was not cooperative during the ride we only took a 5min ride instead of the 40mins stated and paid a full B$900+ each. It was sad to see how the trainers are treating the elephants for tourist entertainment. However it's not Layana fault at all.
Since it has been raining throughout our stay, we were really please to hear from them that during monsoon season, a complimentary voucher would be issued if it rained for 6Hrs continuously. You can use the vouchers for dining or spas treatment! But we didn't manage to get the vouchers since it didn't rain long enough.

Since this is a spa resort don't worry about going out of the premise for spa treatment! Well, we did tried their massage for 2 days since it has been raining daily. The first day we had Swedish massage and deep tissue massage. The following day we tried hot stone massage and herbal massage each. Ambience is good, relaxing and with sufficient privacy.

We had all our meals in their restaurant daily, breakfast is the same daily with the wide selection of western food. Dinner we chose their thai food set meal with reasonable price for 2.
If there's a chance we would definitely visit again during a non-monsoon season and join in their other outdoor activities.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This place is really excellent. The rooms are wonderful. I suggest you go with the garden suites where you're more likely to have quiet and privacy. They're a very short (30 second) stroll to the pool. The Ocean Suites are right by the pool, with pool-goers looking over you. The beach suites are (erm...) by the beach, but again, you'll have people walking by all the time.

The service is impeccable, from arrival to departure. To sit by the pool here is luxury enough, but to have the towels laid out for you, cold flannels brought, ice-water continually topped up, frozen pineapple pieces on sticks brought to you, etc...well-pampered!

The food in the restaurant is very good, though the atmosphere is a little bland. It's good value for where it is, but I really suggest you wander the short walk to other places too. There are a few within very easy walking distance, with the beach cafes nice to sit in, but the better food by the road (try Krua Kritsana, also reviewed by me!).

We tended to do activities away from the hotel, so did diving with Palm Beach Divers (2 minute walk along the beach to the north from the Layana) which was excellent and is a 5* PADI centre anyway.

Visit the Layana if you're fortunate enough to have the opportunity. You're highly unlikely to regret it!

Helpful?
Thank KarlPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
3.4 km away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
12.9 km away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
682 reviews
0.4 km away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
13.7 km away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,048 reviews
4.0 km away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing