We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fun host, filthy rooms”
Review of Zina Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zina Cottage
Ranked #15 of 161 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Grinnell, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, fun host, filthy rooms”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I wish I had read this forum before going to Munnar. Read about Zina in Lonely Planet, whose recommendations I will take with an ocean of salt from now on.

We took a quick glance at the available rooms, and decided to stay, despite feeling like the rooms were sort of dark and dank, because the location is right in the middle of a lovely tea plantation just outside of town and we liked the owner. However, by the time we got back from dinner and looked around the room, we realized it was worse than we had thought - not just "basic," but filthy everywhere. There was only one (not clean-looking) sheet, then blankets (also probably not washed) to put on top of us. There was no shower, only a bucket. We both slept in all of our clothes because we were afraid of touching anything (my friend even tucked her pants into the tops of her socks).

It also seemed that he charged us more than he had originally quoted for the room (RS 700), which at RS 950 seemed exorbitant for the value. We probably should have argued, but at that point we were in such a hurry to leave that we didn't put up any fuss.

The owner made us tea and drew a nice map so we could go for a walk before we left town, and the walk was perfect for us.

I wouldn't go back, but the location is great and the owner is friendly. It seemed like there was one room, the one facing the garden, that might be brighter and roomier (can't say about cleaner), so maybe there's someone out there it would be good for.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moontravelbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    35
    15
    13
    13
See reviews for
15
54
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

The owner Joseph was really nice and helpful. Really makes the place and also decent views of plantations.

Bad points are basic rooms (but at under 1,000 what you expect I guess). Worst part is the bathroom. No shower (bucket bath only) and hot water only from 7am to 9am. Also used toilet tissues need to be put in separate open bin. - I found this unhygienic and unpleasant.

Walk up hill is about 10 mins and not recommended when dark.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonadvisor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We were three people visiting Munnar for a night. We found this guest house, and it fit our needs well. The owner, Zina is a nice man who is (perhaps overly) enthusiastic about Munnar and its surroundings.

The place is just into the hills before you get into the city, and is surrounded completely by tea plantations, but still an easy walk into town. Our room was quite spartan, with only one tiny window. However, the price was great (1000 Rs for 3 clean single beds + bathroom). It seemed that some other rooms were more conventionally equipped, but I didn't get to look into them. Unlike many other guest houses in the region, breakfast is not included, but Zina is glad to point you to some good restaurants in town.

This is a good place to stay if you plan on hiking in the surrounding hills.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rescaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

We stayed here over christmas. We had a large room and warm bedding. The room and bathroom were clean although no shower (only buckets). But there was plenty of hot water.
The view is absoloutly fantastic and there are some cute birds flying about (I think they are called BulBuls).
The owners have a lot of character and will be willing to give advice on anything (as well as lots of tea).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. Big mistake.

Let me start out by saying that the place has one thing going for it: its location amid the tea plantations is truly stunning. At the same time: be aware that in order to get there you'll either have to climb an ill-maintained road after dark or pay a hefty price to a rickshaw-driver to take you up.

The owner (an 80-year old gent) at first view seems very quaint and friendly but make no mistake, he's a very keen businessman (with some memory issues but ok, he's 80) and every word he says is uttered with the intention to transfer rupees from your pocket to his. He will try to steer you to the restaurant closest to his place and is very helpful and ready to propose daytrips and call you a rickshaw. Be aware that the restaurant pays 10% commission to him and so do the rickshaw drivers. We didn't take one of his tours but I expect more of the same. On top of that, he tried to charge us more than was agreed upon when we checked out but by that time we saw right through his act.

About the rooms I can be brief: one is worse than the other but basically they're all dirty, damp, dingy, with shabby bathrooms and dirty blankets. They're also interconnected by doors (closed of course) but if you want privacy and don't enjoy the idea of basically being in the same room than the other people staying there and hearing their every whisper...run hard and far. The rooms look cheap on paper but once you're there you'll quickly realize that they're still way too expensive. Don't be fooled by the guidebooks who unanimously recommend the place. His marketing must be great and as I said, superficially he's a charming old man but if you observe him for a brief period, the varnish will grow thin indeed.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenophon2NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.2 km away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
101 reviews
22.0 km away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
6.5 km away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
485 reviews
6.8 km away
Moselberg Riverside Cottages
0.6 km away
KTDC Tea County Munnar
KTDC Tea County Munnar
#12 of 97 in Munnar
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zina Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zina Cottage

Property: Zina Cottage
Address: Old Munnar, Seven Mallay Est | near Lions school,moolakkada,munnar, Munnar 685613, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 161 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi, its a cottage in middle of tea plantation,from munnar town 2km far away to this place,very clam and quit place,everyone can feel the freshness of the nature ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zina Cottages Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing