We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nature Zone Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nature Zone Resort
Ranked #7 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I had the worst experience in this resort. It is not even a 'Resort'. We paid Rs. 6500 for this hotel in June 2011 thinking that it will be an experience to stay in the Tree house. But to our dismay, we had the worst experience and was just not the price paid. The rooms are very poorly managed. the tree in which the room was built is just not well kept. there were no mosquito nets, which should have been the bare minimum item as the hotel was in the middle of a jungle. To top it the batroom was awfull. very small in size, the cover of the WBC would fall on you, when you sit on it.Come on, i understand that its a tree house, and that we wont get the luxury of the business hotel. But atleast after paying Rs. 6500, we expect some minimum services and cleanliness. they dont have much options for the meals. and because its so far from the city, you are bound to have meals from here which are also very expensive. the property though is interesting. May be cause they dint have to do anything and left it to nature. my personal suggestion is just DONT go for this hotel . Its a total waste of money.At 6500, i could have booked a Taj hotel with 5 star experience.

Room Tip: DONT opt for this hotel. A terrible experience we have ahd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    93
    26
    8
    25
See reviews for
95
173
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The treehouse was a great experience, a huge tree went right through our room and we woke up a few times in the night from the noise of the various animals and birds around. The setting was great and felt very natural, so we were fine with that, it beat traffic noise anytime. The food was excellent. The jeep ride to the site from Munnar was unexpected and rough, so clients may need to be aware (e.g. for those who suffer from car sickness, back trouble or who are pregnant). We went for an early morning trek with one of the guides. It is an easy walk and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Treehouses and tents are available. I would choose the treehouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed for one night in a tree house. The trip in the jeep to the Nature Zone was great fun as was the trek we took on our own from the Nature Zone to town (you do not need a guide, this was one of the best treks we've ever gone on). Although it's special and the view is great, this lodge is over priced and the food was inedible. I asked for a vegetarian dinner and they served me potatoes, rice and bread (crazy considering what an incredible vegetarian paradise India was).

We went on the great hike in the morning and asked them to drive our bags to us in Munnar. When the bags arrived, we went through them to get out a tip from a wallet, which was wrapped in an unlikely wrapper and stuffed in the bottom of the bag (they have no safe and we always carry our valuables with us but the staff seemed very trustworthy). We discovered that our wallet had been emptied of several hundred dollars. We called the manager and he found out immediately that the bellboy had helped himself to all of our money. He was able to recover all of it and drove it down to us in Munnar. Alls well that ends well, but we lost several hours of our day dealing with this and it left a sour taste. We spent one month in India and this was the only time we were ripped off.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blangro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

THE GOOD: This place is interesting, it has the most beautiful views and setting. The food is delicious too. But it is in no way a resort, it's camping! But camping in beautiful surroundings! THE BAD: The staff leaves more than a little to be desired! I can't say that about everyone, Joby was a wonderful asset. He was in high demand as he was the only one who actually seemed to care about the guests. We arrived at night which I don't recommend at all, it was hard to find our way around and cold. The staff did not tell us but there was a dinner at 8, breakfast in the morning, and a campfire at night! Wish we would have known instead of figuring things out on our own. Nature walks were also offered but we didn't find that out until the night before we left!! Thanks to Joby who took us on a short walk and showed us the cardamon growing and a beautiful sunset. There was one other employee we met in the kitchen/dining area. I can't remember his name but his English was good and he seemed very interested in helping us enjoy our stay, but they seemed to be short handed and he wasn't able to talk much only serve food and run other earrands.
THE UGLY: Also if you're looking for a clean place to stay this isn't it. The tents, while they have a beautiful view, are moldy and dirty. I'll attach pictures, our floor was filthy and the tent as well as shower curtain had mold on it. Our bedcovers were torn and stained. There was a spider and someting else crawling on our tent. When a guy stopped by to bring luggage to the room I pointed it out and he said, that's not a harmful spider, grabbed it and threw it on the floor and stepped on it!!
One other note ... while we were there two guests had money taken, that's something you have to be careful of everywhere though.

Room Tip: the tents closest to the edge or near the front have a beautiful sunset view and are a little quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texastravlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, U.K
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

This was a real highlight of our tour of Kerala. The views and setting are just stunning . The road up to the nature zone can only be travelled in a 4x4 but the staff collected us for the very bumpy jiourney up there from Munnar. Its more than worth it. Just completely peacefulwith the best views. We arrived in time to have lunch and also enjoyed dinner there too. The food was the best we had in our whole trip. Just make sure you're hungry when you take dinner because the portions are very generous. Abihlash & his team extended a very warm welcome. The treehouse was a really lovely experience & one of the highlights of our trip. You will not be disappointed. It can be a bit chilly as its high up & doesn't have heating so go prepared!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariley2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
6.7 km away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.0 km away
Jungle Jive Tree House Munnar
5.7 km away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
21.9 km away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.5 km away
KTDC Tea County Munnar
KTDC Tea County Munnar
#11 of 95 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Zone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Zone Resort

Property: Nature Zone Resort
Address: Pulippara, Pallivasal, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Nature Zone Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Nature Zone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Zone Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing