We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I was very happy to have been tipped off about Tranquil Seas. Although travelling alone I always felt comfortable and in great company.

The place lovely, such well designed cabana’s and complex. The rooms were individually hand crafted, comfortable and homely. Monica’s cooking was lovely and kindly avoided egg allergy :-)

I came away with my advanced OW thanks to Kent who is a great Instructor. Chris gave me some top tips on camera and photography skills and Paul & Danielle were great fun to dive with.

Every dive was fab, although relatively new to diving I can say this is some of the most spectacular reef and aquatic life that I would expect to see...I almost hope I've not been too spoilt, but have loved every minute of being very privileged.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 491 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

Myself and my girlfriend stayed for 2 weeks from end of August and the first week of September. We were greeted by Chris at the airport and from that point on the holiday was pretty much perfect.

We stayed in two of the Cabanas because of a last minute extension to our stay. The rooms are absolutely great, cosy, with all amenities needed including air conditioning. Hammocks outside each one which are great to chill and relax in.

We completed our Open Water PADI course with Chris which was absolutely amazing, so good that we then completed another 8 dives. Good value from Chris as the added bonus of the dive shop being on the premises and having an instructor and/or guide as Chris is invaluable compared to the other dive shops nearby. With most of the best dive sites straight outside the premises.

Tranquil seas is a 5-10 min $2 taxi from West End where there are bars and restaurants galore. A couple of recommendations are The Blue Marlin and Loster Pot, the first of which serves great food and great company in front of the marina. Opposite to that is a great pizza place which also serves wraps which a great cheap lunchtime snack.

The best food in town though is defiantly to be had at Tranquil Seas, Monica is an absolute natural of a cook. Tapas Night is a must, but also the Breakfast and dinners are out of this world.

The place has been beautifully built by Chris, eco friendly is the name of the game at Tranquil Seas and when you see the reef and how beautiful and delicate it is thats the way it should be to keep it like that.

All in all it was an unforgettable holiday and without doubt we will be back there is just so much more to explore, and Tranquil Seas is THE perfect base to do that.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenandMissMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Chris and Monica were wonderful. The best part of Tranquilseas is that even though there were other families staying there we hardly ever saw them. TS is not close to a beautiful beach, which means no crowds. TS does however have their own private dock and private pool which we took full advantage of. We especially enjoyed the view from our front porch. Monica is a great cook and Chris is a very experienced diver, they make a great team!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank toddo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Both Chris and Monica are wonderful. Chris is very knowledgeable about Roatan as he has lived there for a long time. He is current on all the happenings of the island, and has a lot of connections through which he can get you great deals and advice on where to go and what to avoid. Monica makes incredible meals. We recommend you have a few meals there at the restaurant, The Sunken Fish. She does not cook lunch, but does offer a good variety of breakfast meals and a set dinner menu by day. Each time we ate at the restaurant, we were very pleased and enjoyed everything! While they do not offer lunch, Chris made great recommendations for us. Convenience wise, at the end of the driveway, there is a local restaurant offering island food and a roadside pizza oven that we went to twice.

Good location for snorkeling; the reef was busy with beautiful fish. From the edge of the dock, the reef is about a 75-100 yard swim out. If you don't want to go too far, there is also a sunken dock right there which does offer some wildlife although minimal so we suggest the swim out to the reef. You can rent snorkeling gear from Chris if you do not have any.

Tranquil Seas is very secluded, and you feel far from the "touristy" parts of the island when you are there. There are a few resorts along the beach where the eco-lodge is, but I don't recall seeing any tourists. When we were out swimming, we were the only ones. Even still, if you want some night life or a nice restaurant, bars, shops, etc., popular West End is a 7-minute taxi drive away, which is usually about $5 for two people. The area is great for base tourism, especially if you want to avoid the cruise ship ports (which you do).

The rooms at the eco-lodge were adequate. Our only complaint is that they ask that you turn off your A/C when not in the room (unless you want to pay a surcharge) and it's quite humid and hot BUT the rooms do cool down very quickly to a comfortable level when you turn them back on. This is completely understandable as Tranquil Seas is ECO-FRIENDLY; thus they conserve energy as well as recycle their water.

If you are looking for a frilly resort, Tranquil Seas is not for you. If you are looking for a taste of Roatan culture and a beautiful beach, friendly and personable staff, amazing food, and plenty of adventure, it definitely IS for you.

We have no regrets and we wish to return to Tranquil Seas one day. Overall an incredible honeymoon! :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We have recently come back from a wonderful week at Tranquilseas. I traveled with my husband, two friends and two three-year-olds, so we looked for a place that could accomodate us yet was not touristy, and we found the perfect combination at Tranquilseas. First of all, the location was wonderful - not with other big box hotels and cruise ship passengers, yet just a 5 minute cab ride to West End if you need to go into town for any reason. We stayed in the Octopus cabana which consisted of 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, and was the perfect size for our group. The room has wonderful views of the ocean and was amazingly bug free (which is an incredible feat considering the no-see-ums in Roatan) and has a powerful AC which consistently kept the rooms cool. The other component of Tranquilseas that we truly appreciated is that since it is away from other big hotels, you get to see a bit of the local culture by just hanging out on the beach.
Another huge part of our trip that made it wonderful was Chris and Monica, the owners of Tranquilseas. My child has a serious peanut allergy, and Monica went out of her way to prepare and buy food that was completely nut free and safe for her to eat. In fact, after eating one meal with Monica, it was so good that we immediately signed up for breakfast and dinner for each day we were there. Her cooking is incredible, tasty and reasonably priced, and the tapas night is absolutely not to be missed! Wonderful!!
Along with ensuring that our daughter was eating safe food, Chris and Monica went out of their way to accomodate the kids, from getting them little life jackets for our snorkling trip, to setting up a movie on a rainy morning, to giving them a pool party one night after dinner, which made our whole experience that much more enjoyable.
Chris is a great resource for Roatan. We took his half day snorkeling trip which was an awesome experience. Be sure to have him take you on a half day or whole day tour, it's worth every penny. You can also snorkel right off of the dock and easily swim out to the reef, seeing many cool things along the way. Another day we rented a car and he sat with us for an hour and recommended places for us to go, which we followed, and got to see even more of the island and the culture.
Overall, Tranquilseas is the place to go if you appreciate beautiful surroundings, an independent hotel, a bit of local culture and wonderful hosts. When we return to Roatan, we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisa37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
6.1 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 km away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
214 reviews
2.3 km away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
272 reviews
11.2 km away
Barefoot Cay Resort
Barefoot Cay Resort
#2 of 5 in French Harbour
622 reviews
5.9 km away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range: €144 - €259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Honduras/Roatan, Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing