We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful Balinese style getaway with an environmental conscience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We were lucky enough to come across Tranquil Seas as we explored options for a couple of nights at the end of our week long visit to Roatan. From the moment we walked through the gates and into the tropical greenery we felt a sense of relaxation. Chris the owner was fantastic, very welcoming with a wonderful staff. It was clear after chatting to Chris that the 'ECO' aspect of this resort is not just a trendy title. He talked to us about his deep commitment to the island and specifically to the Roatan Marine Park ( we were delighted that he includes a small contribution to the Park in your bill). This would be the place to stay if you care about being informed about reef preservation & supporting the local community and environment. It is also the place to stay if you want to sit on your porch or at the Sunken Fish Bar with a great G&T and look out over the beautiful blues of the Caribbean. These two nights were a real highlight of out trip to Roatan.

Room Tip: Hummingbird was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smallack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 464 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2011

I went there for dinner (for their tapas night) & was very impressed at the high quality cooking, the stunning location & beautifully decorated resort. Diving school is also highly regarded and they have some great dive sites just off their strip. Given free rein with budget, I’d stay in a flash.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teirrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

My wife and I were looking for a reasonable but nice resort location for a few days on Roatan prior to our diving companions arriving and transferring to a more expensive place. My wife had a hard time finding a resort that had consistently good reviews on Trip Advisor and other websites. She found Tranquilseas Eco Lodge had great reviews so we decided to try it out. We ended up having a thoroughly delightful stay with Chris and Monica at their intimate and immaculately landscaped resort. If you are looking for a quiet alternative to the large high-volume diving resorts, this is it. With only 5 cabanas in operation, Chris and Monica provide personal service and custom activities while making you feel as welcomed as if you were family. Diving and snorkeling trips are provided whenever one or more guests want to go - no set schedule. Even with its intimacy this resort has the amenities of larger resorts. These include a full bar, covered and uncovered dining and cocktail areas, and deck areas with cushioned bench seats looking out over the Caribbean Sea. There is also a small but well-appointed pool, diving gear lockers, and great recommendations on places to eat and things to do around the island. You need not go far for great food, as the dining room is also open every night. You won't want to miss Tuesday Tapas night (Monica is originally from Spain and serves as chef extraordinaire) with live music with a small crowd of locals, or Burger Thursdays. In addition, with a one-day advance notice Monica will visit the local market and whip up a marvelous paella dish for your dinner. Breakfast (menu) is included with the cost of the room and I particularly enjoyed the large 16 oz mugs for my morning coffee, as I get so tired of drinking coffee from teacups in the islands! The rooms come with a kitchenette and a spacious bathroom with large open walk-in shower. All rooms have a private deck with hammock, table, and chairs. All rooms are non-smoking and guests are requested to conserve water and electricity by turning off the a/c when not in the room and ensuring faucets aren't left dripping. Chris is happy to tell you how he has engineered the resort to ensure water is kept pure, is conserved, and waste water is treated properly and some of it used to irrigate the beautiful landscaping which Chris himself designed (having learned horticulture in his original home in the U.K.). The overall effect of the intricate and detailed design of the buildings, furnishings, and the landscaping make it feel as if you were living in a very comfortable tree-house! As I read the above it sounds like I'm writing a paid advertisement, but I assure you, I am a casual sport diver who manages only about one trip each year and am glad to have found Tranquilseas!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARIAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

All of the great things you hear about Tranquil Seas are true: the cabanas are charming, Chris and Monica are great, and the snorkeling out front is superb! We loved having the honor bar available and the bar/lounge area was a wonderful spot to spend the afternoons lounging in the sun. We also did a full day trip to Cayos Cochinos with TS and I have to say that if you plan just one activity while staying on Roatan, this should be it. In addition to having lunch at the Garifuna island, we also spent a couple of hours on a deserted island that was the picture of paradise. The water was so clear and the island was so beautiful, I had had to keep pinching myself to believe I was actually there.

A note on location: Tranquil Seas is just a 5 minute taxi ride from town. It's super easy to flag down a taxi and you should be able to negotiate a ride for 50 lemps for 2 people to get to West End. It's very quiet at Tranquil Seas and while we were there, we almost felt like we had to place to ourselves. This is just what we were looking for: a little out of the hustle and bustle of a main area, but not too isolated. We also found that the water clarity was excellent.

Overall, big thumbs up. This is a place we would (and hopefully will) come back to.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minisuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

There are so many positive reviews here, that it is tough to add anything new. Everything everyone says about this place is true, there are no exaggerations. Our main reason for traveling to Roatan was for the snorkeling. We snorkeled almost every day from Chris' boat dock. The snorkeling is excellent and the water was always very calm. It is very easy to enter and exit the water from the dock. We stayed in the Tree Frog Cabana. It is the highest Cabana and has the nicest view. It is also the most private of the five. The bed was very comfortable. If I could change anything, I would recommend a small chair inside so the table could be used as a desk.

We had a couple of special requests for dinner - Monica's famous Paella, and lobster tails on our last night. As long as Monica has advanced notice, she can accommodate most requests. We did two tours during our stay. The first a tour by land. Chris recommended the two locals Alan and Richard, who drove us all around the island. We had a great time, and I would recommend them to everyone. The 2nd was a private island snorkel boat tour that was provided by Chris. This was an all day tour that stopped at several places including two uninhabited islands. The snorkeling was the best we have seen anywhere. Chris is very knowledgeable about the Island and knows how to navigate the boat around the reef. He is also very knowledgeable about the names of the corals and fish. I would highly recommend this tour. It was the highlight of our trip - don't miss it.

A quick pitch for some other places that have good eats: Blue Bahia has some of the best smoked pork and ribs anywhere. Anthony's in West End has outstanding smoked chicken. Celeste's Island food in West Bay has really good food, and Lily Pond across from Half Moon Bay Resort has great food and a very romantic setting at night.

Just a warning about personal safety....crime is on the rise on Roatan. Tranquilseas does have safes in the cabanas, as well as dead bolt locks. USE THEM! Don't wander around off the beaten path at night or alone. Use common sense. Don't wear expensive jewelry.

Here is a link to my slideshow:

http://tripwow.tripadvisor.com/tripwow/ta-0114-78d8-bc09?lb

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyBug929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
6.1 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 km away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
214 reviews
2.3 km away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
272 reviews
11.2 km away
Barefoot Cay Resort
Barefoot Cay Resort
#2 of 5 in French Harbour
622 reviews
5.9 km away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range: €143 - €261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Honduras/Roatan, Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing