We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$323
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/21
eDreams
Agoda.com
US$292
View deal
Booking.com
Hotels.comUS$323
TravelocityUS$323
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
90
141
70
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
90
141
70
31
19
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2019

Cabinds are very basic and in need of updatig, but they were very clean.Good food in the restaurant. Very friendly staff and great snorkeling off the pier.Resort offered interesting excusrsions on Moorea Island.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank PopeYvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2019 via mobile

The hotel is located in a beutiful bay surrounded by majestic mountains. My bungalow was right in front of lagoon filled with exotic fish. But if you decide to stay here, be prepared to lower your expectations. The rooms won't come with drinkable water or tea making facility. The room was dark (only bedside lamps available). Breakfast only consists of toast and coffee (pay extra 1000 CFP if u want buffet). Everything about this place makes you feel "cheated". Bed & room was clean and staff were hospitable, but I would rather pay extra and stay somewhere else.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank ThomasOki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and the little bungalow was very nice, spacious for our family of 5. Front desk staff friendly, and the over water deck is lovely to sit on. Unfortunately that is where it ends. A continental. Breakfast includes a small piece of baguette and one cup of coffee for $10. The hotel charged me for lunch and dinner, both of which I did not have. I argued with them and they removed the charge on checkout after I went to the office and spoke with the bookkeeper. I saw multiple live camera screens and I asked him to look at the footage to see who had been charging food to my room. He could not provide any information. After I left they charged my credit card. Pretty crooked in my opinion. I am disputing the charges with the credit card company. I would have stayed here again and written a decent review but after this fiasco I cannot recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank stahlhaang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavekaMoorea, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kaveka, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write this complaint concerning your grievances during your stay here at the hotel KAVEKA.

Nevertheless we needed to set the record straight with your insinuations and clarify a couple of points.

Upon your check-in you insisted that you had prepaid your lodgings via an internet provider, and since we could not find your reservation on any of the platforms, we insisted you show proof, which was an embarrassing situation for you, hence you showed some frustration and dissatisfaction, only to keep in mind that you were never able to do provide any evidence for a booking.

This of course created an initial conflict with the front office as we charged you for your lodgings.

Secondly we had great difficulty with your credit card (If you can remember it was declined on numerous occasions) – Eventually at the very last moment after a tense stand-off kind of situation 'out of the blue' you found a valid credit card!!!

At this stage of your check-out procedure, you then refused to pay a bar bill, 'insinuating' that we had made a mistake.

We said we would research this matter via our surveillance security cameras, however since your check-out procedure had been conflictual and strenuous for our entire staff, and furthermore you had already wasted so much time trying not to pay your stay, we hence let you leave as is.

Later we researched on the in house surveillance cameras and were able to identify your bar consumptions, and for this reason we charged your credit card as agreed upon as you left the hotel, panicking that the taxi was waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2019 via mobile

We stayed in one of Hotel Kaveka's garden bungalow for our 10-day visit to Moorea. While at first it seemed a bit "rustic" within hours we were charmed by the warm and helpful staff, the breathtakingly beautiful setting, and the comfortable bungalows. (The beds, pillows and sheets were perfect! King sized and with just the right amount of firmness.) The location was really central for the many activities we enjoyed around Moorea, including eating nearby in both directions - Aloo Pizza and Snack Rotui were standouts - but also for getting to "town" at the supermarket, atm, and coffee shops in Maharepa which you can easily walk, hitch, or bike ride to. We rented the hotel's kayaks, bicycles, snorkel gear, and appreciated their help arranging excursions, and eventually a rental car. While not completely neccesary to have a car is really handy to have for making trips to the dazzling Temae Beach or 2-for-1 rum drinks at the Hilton. Kaveka's wifi was super reliable during our stay too. If we were to do it again, we would spring for an ocean view bungalow. It would have been nice to have a better view of the water from our quarters. Also it would have been handy if there were a clothesline somewhere on the property to dry out wet swimming gear. Guests ended up draping stuff all over bungalow furniture which made the place look a little unkempt. But otherwise Hotel Kaveka is a very comfortable and attractive location to use as a base for exploring and enjoying this utterly charming island.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank L-Spi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2019

The hotel is in the very beautiful Cook's Bay and it's restaurant's deck enables you to enjoy a very nice view. Unfortunately the hotel is getting quite old and rooms should completely be redesigned ! You feel the owner must be stingy and is getting the money back from an investment done in the past century.

The shower doesn't work well (almost no water ! Important point in a tropical island), the curtains are too small, the bed is VERY uncomfortable. There is no boiler in the room. The "tiny beach" smells bad, whereas obviously the fishes are fed with the leftover of the restaurant, which is not very inspiring for snorkeling (actually nobody swims there).
Restaurant's food is one of the worse we had during our 3 weeks in Polynesia. Outrageous considering the price ! Cooking chef has zero skills. Frozen vegetables and overcooked fish - no taste at all. Forget about the awful breakfast buffet.
Very poor at giving advises on their own island.
On the positive sides : astonishingly very efficient clothes cleaning service done within a few hours & good at booking on time taxi.

Room tip: Don't chose the nearest room to the front desk as it's much more noisy.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews