We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idylic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Like walking around in a postcard, just beautiful place to stay.

Just a couple of niggles for such an expensive spot :

Check-in was an unpleasantly drawn out experience, we arrived with a bus-load off the ferry, so I'm sure dealing with so many people in several languages doesn't help. Seemed to take ages during which our check-in registration got lost and ultimately loaded incorrectly. Unlike other reviewers, didn't find any special treatment for it being our anniversary.

To "book-end" that our last night was a Saturday and they had a famous (in France) singer preforming. He was ok but the follow on act was a DJ who played from 10 till midnight with the bass volume cranked up to point that it shook the walls of our bungalow. Industrial ear plugs was the solution offered - not really good enough. Also the locals party at the lookout above the resort on Friday/Saturday night, but that noise was tolerable by comparison.

In between times our stay was fantastic. Friendly staff, good food, great snorkeling right off the beach.

Be aware that the Sofitel does not have an ATM machine. The banks aren't far away, but more than walking distance and if you go out for lunch you do need cash (not many cafe's accept credit cards).

Room Tip: 1st row of Luxury Garden unit's look out between the Beach front unit's, nice view at a lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Ia orana & mauruuru for this sharing of experience.
We are very delighted that you had a nice stay in our little piece of paradise.
You can be sure that we will take your feedbacks in consideration about welcoming & DJ in order to improve our guests experience.
We were very happy to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 3,019 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Staying at the Sofitel Moorea was such a lovely experience. All of the staff were absolutely fantastic and made us feel so welcome. We arrived very early in the morning due to our flight into Pape'ete, and because we couldn't quite check in, we were given complementary breakfast vouchers for coffee, juice, and pastries. For those who arrive early (or need to hang around after official check-out time), there is also a shower / changing areas available. We were able to check in earlier than expected into our garden bungalow. Although there wasn't really a view to speak of (because we were behind two other rows of bungalows), the room itself was lovely, and we were constantly supplied with water. I will say that despite what appeared to be fairly constant spraying, there are still mosquitos in the lobby area and on the porches at dusk, so just be aware if you're particularly sensitive like I am. The beach is fantastic, and faces Tahiti so it's a lovely scene.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

What a Magnifique comment ! This is an extremely touching comment, which makes the Sofitel team so proud and happy.
We can not have a better reward than so beautiful a comment. The whole team is very delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, very touched and happy that you enjoyed their service, which comes from the heart.
We were very happy to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

My husband and I stayed here for the first leg of our honeymoon, before going to Bora Bora. We had breakfast included in our stay and when we checked in they gave us a complimentary continental breakfast which was very nice and pleasant. We didn't expect our room to be ready since we arrived around 9am? We wandered the property and checked in around 10am to get an estimate and our room was ready! What a pleasant surprise!

We stayed in a Garden Bungalow and it was so cute and intimate! There was a mini bar that was refilled daily which was a nice touch. Our luggage were delivered to our room during check in and also picked up during check out. It was so refreshing to not worry about little details - everything was planned out and thought through. They provided a letter the evening before we were to check out to provide us information regarding what time our luggage would get picked up and when our transportation to the airport would come by to get us.

Yes, the rooms could use a little weather stripping to keep a draft or insect away (we had a little lizard friend in our bathroom!), but it is the tropics after all and the weather can take a toll on the property. However, they definitely do their best to maintain the property as I've noticed the workers raking the beach the best they can before the sun even rises and before everyone wakes up!

The French Polynesias sometimes run on island time, so compared to the fast paced lives that we live in it may seem "slow," but it actually isn't. It's a different way of living and I loved it! I feel we are always in a hurry living in the city and in a world that is so connected via technology, we forget to enjoy nature, conversation, and the concept of waiting.

Thanks so much Sofitel Ia Ora for the wonderful and relaxing honeymoon. Every detail was thought out to a tee, the staff was beautiful and charming, the front desk was polite and helpful, the condition of the property was well maintained and breath taking.

This property is definitely recommended and I hope to persuade my husband to come here again for the (near) future!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ck1234wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

What a Magnifique share of experience !
Ia ora na and Mauruuru as we say in Tahitian, for taking the time of such nice comments. All the team is very touched by your comment.
We are very delighted that you had a unique stay in our little piece of paradise.
We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Overall great accommodations for our honeymoon. Few short comings but was made up for exceptional staff and amazing breakfast buffet

Pros:
Best breakfast buffet you’ll ever have. Croissants are amazing. Fresh juice! Mango juice! Coffee! Eggs are freshly fried/scrambled or whatever you want. I really didn’t
expect much because I’ve never had good complimentary breakfast from a hotel. Sofitel really set the bar high and really put my next accommodations in bora bora to shame when it comes to breakfast.

The staff here is great. Service is a+. The front desk staff are welcoming. The wait staff is friendly. They all seem to be in a good mood. Very up beat. Really lightens the setting.

The location is great. Private. Not with busy water activity like other hotels. The restaurant has a big open view into the lagoon. Breakfast. Lunch. Dinner always looks good because of this

Minibar daily refill is like gold.

Linen is legit. Heavy and quality. Real fluffy pillows.

Cons:
Wifi is slow or doesn’t work

Shower tiles are old with fungi or mold

Roosters are making noise through out the day

The hammocks are tied low so you’re suspended on the floor and not in the air

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Ia orana and Mauruuru as we say in Tahitian, for taking the time of such nice comments and for having stay with us.
The whole team is very delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, very touched and happy that you enjoyed their service, which comes from the heart.
We are sincerely sorry for the start of mold that are part of a preventive maintenance on a daily basis and which are due to high humidity.
Your remarks allow us to improve even more.
We were very happy to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We stayed at the Sofitel in August/September 2017. Agree with other reviewers - location was great - close to ferry stop and the airport which made getting in and out very easy. We stayed in a Luxury Beach Bungalow and our room was ready much earlier than the 1:30 stated time which made the travel day feel like a full vacation day. The accommodations were great and the view was spectacular. Loved being able to walk out to the beach, swim out a little ways and see some beautiful coral and fish. We were further down the beach (bungalow 419) but we didn't mind the stroll back to the restaurant and reception.

We did not dine at the hotel for any dinners. We found the complementary shuttles to and from nearby restaurants too convenient. I highly recommend happy hour at the hotel bar from 5:30 - 6:30 where drinks are BOGO. The few drinks I had at the hotel bars were delicious - especially the pineapple mojito which was made from freshly cut pineapple mint etc. We also appreciated the minibar restocking and took full advantage of it every day. We did shop at duty free and also made a quick stop at a grocery store as it was nice having everything we needed in our bungalow.

We also read about bringing swim shoes and our own snorkel and mask. We found both recommendations very helpful.

The breakfast was delicious and varied. The croissants are especially yummy at the Sofitel. We compared them with other hotels and Sofitel's were better by leaps and bounds. Almost always warm!

I can see how some people found the rooms to be dated. They probably could use a little TLC but I also tried to remind myself of where we were and the fact that everything did not have to be absolutely perfect for our stay to be perfect. Overall a wonderful place. We would definitely recommend it to friends and would come back again if we ever have the chance.

Room Tip: Room 419 was great, a little walk but we didn't mind. Very spacious and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jdgator919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your Magnifique experience aat Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort ! We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your bungalow, the view, the happy hour, the drinks and our croissants which "are especially yummy" !
We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
4.7 km away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
19.6 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
14.2 km away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
303 reviews
15.9 km away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
727 reviews
8.6 km away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range: €300 - €543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, TravelUp, ACCOR, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort Maharepa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing