We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$369
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Kaveka(Maharepa)(Great Value!)
US$263
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Village Temanoha(Cook's Bay)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$827
US$724
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa(Papetoai)(Great Value!)
US$445
US$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$583
US$539
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Les Tipaniers(Moorea)(Great Value!)
US$177
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Poerani Moorea(Maharepa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,245)
Filter reviews
3,245 results
Traveller rating
2,038
819
225
99
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,038
819
225
99
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden bungalowour honeymoonfishfrench polynesialuxury overwater bungalowvue barrented a cardinner buffetoutdoor showerbeach bartravel agentlagoon viewbeautiful propertysnorkel geardream come trueentire stayclear water
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 3,245 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Staying at the Sofitel Moorea was such a lovely experience. All of the staff were absolutely fantastic and made us feel so welcome. We arrived very early in the morning due to our flight into Pape'ete, and because we couldn't quite check in, we were given complementary breakfast vouchers for coffee, juice, and pastries. For those who arrive early (or need to hang around after official check-out time), there is also a shower / changing areas available. We were able to check in earlier than expected into our garden bungalow. Although there wasn't really a view to speak of (because we were behind two other rows of bungalows), the room itself was lovely, and we were constantly supplied with water. I will say that despite what appeared to be fairly constant spraying, there are still mosquitos in the lobby area and on the porches at dusk, so just be aware if you're particularly sensitive like I am. The beach is fantastic, and faces Tahiti so it's a lovely scene.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

What a Magnifique comment ! This is an extremely touching comment, which makes the Sofitel team so proud and happy.
We can not have a better reward than so beautiful a comment. The whole team is very delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, very touched and happy that you enjoyed their service, which comes from the heart.
We were very happy to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

My husband and I stayed here for the first leg of our honeymoon, before going to Bora Bora. We had breakfast included in our stay and when we checked in they gave us a complimentary continental breakfast which was very nice and pleasant. We didn't expect our room to be ready since we arrived around 9am? We wandered the property and checked in around 10am to get an estimate and our room was ready! What a pleasant surprise!

We stayed in a Garden Bungalow and it was so cute and intimate! There was a mini bar that was refilled daily which was a nice touch. Our luggage were delivered to our room during check in and also picked up during check out. It was so refreshing to not worry about little details - everything was planned out and thought through. They provided a letter the evening before we were to check out to provide us information regarding what time our luggage would get picked up and when our transportation to the airport would come by to get us.

Yes, the rooms could use a little weather stripping to keep a draft or insect away (we had a little lizard friend in our bathroom!), but it is the tropics after all and the weather can take a toll on the property. However, they definitely do their best to maintain the property as I've noticed the workers raking the beach the best they can before the sun even rises and before everyone wakes up!

The French Polynesias sometimes run on island time, so compared to the fast paced lives that we live in it may seem "slow," but it actually isn't. It's a different way of living and I loved it! I feel we are always in a hurry living in the city and in a world that is so connected via technology, we forget to enjoy nature, conversation, and the concept of waiting.

Thanks so much Sofitel Ia Ora for the wonderful and relaxing honeymoon. Every detail was thought out to a tee, the staff was beautiful and charming, the front desk was polite and helpful, the condition of the property was well maintained and breath taking.

This property is definitely recommended and I hope to persuade my husband to come here again for the (near) future!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CKHA_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

What a Magnifique share of experience !
Ia ora na and Mauruuru as we say in Tahitian, for taking the time of such nice comments. All the team is very touched by your comment.
We are very delighted that you had a unique stay in our little piece of paradise.
We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Overall great accommodations for our honeymoon. Few short comings but was made up for exceptional staff and amazing breakfast buffet

Pros:
Best breakfast buffet you’ll ever have. Croissants are amazing. Fresh juice! Mango juice! Coffee! Eggs are freshly fried/scrambled or whatever you want. I really didn’t
expect much because I’ve never had good complimentary breakfast from a hotel. Sofitel really set the bar high and really put my next accommodations in bora bora to shame when it comes to breakfast.

The staff here is great. Service is a+. The front desk staff are welcoming. The wait staff is friendly. They all seem to be in a good mood. Very up beat. Really lightens the setting.

The location is great. Private. Not with busy water activity like other hotels. The restaurant has a big open view into the lagoon. Breakfast. Lunch. Dinner always looks good because of this

Minibar daily refill is like gold.

Linen is legit. Heavy and quality. Real fluffy pillows.

Cons:
Wifi is slow or doesn’t work

Shower tiles are old with fungi or mold

Roosters are making noise through out the day

The hammocks are tied low so you’re suspended on the floor and not in the air

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Ia orana and Mauruuru as we say in Tahitian, for taking the time of such nice comments and for having stay with us.
The whole team is very delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, very touched and happy that you enjoyed their service, which comes from the heart.
We are sincerely sorry for the start of mold that are part of a preventive maintenance on a daily basis and which are due to high humidity.
Your remarks allow us to improve even more.
We were very happy to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We stayed at the Sofitel in August/September 2017. Agree with other reviewers - location was great - close to ferry stop and the airport which made getting in and out very easy. We stayed in a Luxury Beach Bungalow and our room was ready much earlier than the 1:30 stated time which made the travel day feel like a full vacation day. The accommodations were great and the view was spectacular. Loved being able to walk out to the beach, swim out a little ways and see some beautiful coral and fish. We were further down the beach (bungalow 419) but we didn't mind the stroll back to the restaurant and reception.

We did not dine at the hotel for any dinners. We found the complementary shuttles to and from nearby restaurants too convenient. I highly recommend happy hour at the hotel bar from 5:30 - 6:30 where drinks are BOGO. The few drinks I had at the hotel bars were delicious - especially the pineapple mojito which was made from freshly cut pineapple mint etc. We also appreciated the minibar restocking and took full advantage of it every day. We did shop at duty free and also made a quick stop at a grocery store as it was nice having everything we needed in our bungalow.

We also read about bringing swim shoes and our own snorkel and mask. We found both recommendations very helpful.

The breakfast was delicious and varied. The croissants are especially yummy at the Sofitel. We compared them with other hotels and Sofitel's were better by leaps and bounds. Almost always warm!

I can see how some people found the rooms to be dated. They probably could use a little TLC but I also tried to remind myself of where we were and the fact that everything did not have to be absolutely perfect for our stay to be perfect. Overall a wonderful place. We would definitely recommend it to friends and would come back again if we ever have the chance.

Room Tip: Room 419 was great, a little walk but we didn't mind. Very spacious and private.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jdgator919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your Magnifique experience aat Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort ! We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your bungalow, the view, the happy hour, the drinks and our croissants which "are especially yummy" !
We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Let me start with the positives/pros:
- It's close to Tahiti/Papete and an easy ferry ride over
- Hotel is close to the ferry drop off and airport
- Hotel is close to some of the best restaurants (Rudy's and Le Mahogany)
- The snorkeling around the over water bungalows is amazing and teeming with fish
- The breakfast spread is amazing with lots of options!
- The mini-fridge restock is a nice perk (drinks only, 2 beers, 2 sodas, 4 waters)
- The water/lagoon around the hotel is very nice and possibly the best on Moorea
- We stayed in on the rooms right on the beach looking out on the over water bungalows and I would actually recommend this. Golf carts drive up and down the over water bungalow walkways and numerous couples in them complained about the noise which we did not have on the beach bungalow. On some of the other islands we stayed on they used bikes/bicycles which were much quieter.
- We thought the staff was amazing. Reception was always extremely helpful and pleasant as were the staff at the restaurants. Tama, the pool/towel guy, was extremely friendly and outgoing and truly loves his job.

Although these were relatively minor issue, here are a few of the cons
- Our room was not ready until almost 1:30pm which put us on the beach for 4 hours following our day of travel. They prepared us for this possibility so I cannot complain too much regarding this.
- The room did not really lock. All of the inside locks were broken and did not engage/lock. In addition the key card lock just barely latched. I could easily pull and open the door without using the key card. In fact, I quit using the key card on the second day.
- The air conditioner drain line plugged and overflowed into the bathroom (maintenance service was very quick to repair and clean up this issue once notified).
- Depending on how you may look at it, the internet was very slow here and did not work in our room even though it showed a strong signal. The good was that it allowed us to disconnect very quickly but when we wanted to check in it was very difficult.
- The beaches can be a bit rocky. Be sure to have reef shoes or something similar.

Overall we enjoyed our time and the people at the Sofitel. The issues we had were minor but these were just enough to keep me from giving it 5 stars in comparison to the other places we stayed while in the French Polynesia.

Room Tip: Golf carts noisy on over water bungalow walkways; Bring alcohol from duty free and mix with mini bar beverages (drinks are VERY expensive!)
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mklsu1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience !
We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique stay in our little piece of paradise.
Tama is very touched by your comment and thank you greatly.
Check-in is from 2pm, but our teams do their best, as far as possible, so you can have them before.
In recent days, the swell is strong which brings back a lot of corals on the beaches, despite a daily maintenance of our teams.
We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews