We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$291
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$385/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Kaveka(Maharepa)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$771
US$684
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$304
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Hibiscus(Papetoai)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$478
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Poerani Moorea(Maharepa)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,196)
Filter reviews
3,196 results
Traveller rating
2,011
806
220
98
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,011
806
220
98
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden bungalowour honeymoonfishfrench polynesialuxury overwater bungalowvue barbeach barrented a carbreakfast buffetoutdoor showertravel agentlagoon viewbeautiful propertysnorkel gearentire staydream come truedive shop
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 3,196 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Let me start with the positives/pros:
- It's close to Tahiti/Papete and an easy ferry ride over
- Hotel is close to the ferry drop off and airport
- Hotel is close to some of the best restaurants (Rudy's and Le Mahogany)
- The snorkeling around the over water bungalows is amazing and teeming with fish
- The breakfast spread is amazing with lots of options!
- The mini-fridge restock is a nice perk (drinks only, 2 beers, 2 sodas, 4 waters)
- The water/lagoon around the hotel is very nice and possibly the best on Moorea
- We stayed in on the rooms right on the beach looking out on the over water bungalows and I would actually recommend this. Golf carts drive up and down the over water bungalow walkways and numerous couples in them complained about the noise which we did not have on the beach bungalow. On some of the other islands we stayed on they used bikes/bicycles which were much quieter.
- We thought the staff was amazing. Reception was always extremely helpful and pleasant as were the staff at the restaurants. Tama, the pool/towel guy, was extremely friendly and outgoing and truly loves his job.

Although these were relatively minor issue, here are a few of the cons
- Our room was not ready until almost 1:30pm which put us on the beach for 4 hours following our day of travel. They prepared us for this possibility so I cannot complain too much regarding this.
- The room did not really lock. All of the inside locks were broken and did not engage/lock. In addition the key card lock just barely latched. I could easily pull and open the door without using the key card. In fact, I quit using the key card on the second day.
- The air conditioner drain line plugged and overflowed into the bathroom (maintenance service was very quick to repair and clean up this issue once notified).
- Depending on how you may look at it, the internet was very slow here and did not work in our room even though it showed a strong signal. The good was that it allowed us to disconnect very quickly but when we wanted to check in it was very difficult.
- The beaches can be a bit rocky. Be sure to have reef shoes or something similar.

Overall we enjoyed our time and the people at the Sofitel. The issues we had were minor but these were just enough to keep me from giving it 5 stars in comparison to the other places we stayed while in the French Polynesia.

Room Tip: Golf carts noisy on over water bungalow walkways; Bring alcohol from duty free and mix with mini bar beverages (drinks are VERY expensive!)
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mklsu1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience !
We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique stay in our little piece of paradise.
Tama is very touched by your comment and thank you greatly.
Check-in is from 2pm, but our teams do their best, as far as possible, so you can have them before.
In recent days, the swell is strong which brings back a lot of corals on the beaches, despite a daily maintenance of our teams.
We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Stunning location, clear waters, friendly staff, beautiful grounds, would come back here in a heart beat. Totally relax and unwind here. Great food, awesome cocktails! Lovely people to talk to, nice shop.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 599bec72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your Magnifique experience at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort ! We are delighted that you found your part of paradise with us: hotel, staff, food ...
We were very happy to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Better than I had hoped. Trip is was to celebrate my spouse birthday. This resort is magical. Excellent onsite restaurant and staff. Gorgeous beach and setting. Newly refurbished rooms. One of the best vacation. We enjoyed this resort and beach better than Bora Bora. Go for the premium end OW bungalow. Horizon view and deep snorkeling off deck. Also, complete privacy. a dream.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank TMicahT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

What a Magnifique comment ! This is an extremely touching comment, which makes the Sofitel team so proud and happy.
We can not have a better reward than so beautiful a comment. The whole team is very delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, very touched and happy that you enjoyed their service, which comes from the heart.
We were very happy to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Beautiful hotel with outstanding customer service! We stayed 4 days & 3 nights for part of our honeymoon on the over water bungalows; it had spectacular views and was very relaxing. The room was fully equipped with everything we need - a/c, bar, mini fridge, ice, USB drive, wifi. Breakfast was included and the buffet had an excellent variety. Everything we ate at their bar was also very good. Find out about complimentary shuttles to near by restaurants in advance so that you can plan accordingly. Taxi are expensive mostly at night. This is a place to simply relax as the island is small with not much to do. The pool area is small but not needed with the breath taking ocean and the amazing snorkeling you can do. We were thankful for the amazing staff - I had an infected scab one night and member from the lobby were so helpful in curing the area & placing a band aid; on another day my husband got splinters in his hand and when a member from the bar noticed she removed them herself. We were very welcomed and extremely please with our stay their. We definitely recommend to stay here!

Room Tip: Over the water bungalows are expensive but well worth the view, private sun deck, and breakfast at the restaurant included.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

A great MAURURU for this Magnifique sharing of experience. The hospitality and the Polynesian kindness are our strength and what a beautiful reward to see that you have been touched by this.
We are delighted that you found your part of paradise at the Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort: superb bungalow, delicious food ...
The staff is also very touched by your comment.
Once again a great THANK YOU for your comment that goes straight to the heart and we hope to see you very soon at Sofitel Moorea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

pro's:
+ Magnificent location, truly something special with beautiful view on lagoon and Tahiti, and nice private beach
+ Spacious bungalows, incl. satellite TV, large screen, daily complimentary refill of minibar
+ Service throughout the resort is excellent, everybody very attentive and friendly
+ Breakfast selection is great, and resort restaurants in general of good standard (although some might consider pricy)
+ We did an island tour booked through the hotel with Safari Tours which was awesome, can recommend

con's:
- WIFI didn't work in our bungalow during our stay

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Martijn_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

What a Magnifique comment ! This is an extremely touching comment, which makes the Sofitel team so proud and happy.
We can not have a better reward than so beautiful a comment. The whole team is very delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, very touched and happy that you enjoyed their service, which comes from the heart.
You can be sure that we will take your feedbacksin consideration in order to improve our guests experience: we do our best to improve the wifi, which stay a problem in the islands.
We were very happy to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews