We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kaveka(Maharepa)(Great Value!)
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$374
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Village Temanoha(Cook's Bay)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$742
US$724
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$514
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$584
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Les Tipaniers(Moorea)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Poerani Moorea(Maharepa)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,247)
Filter reviews
3,247 results
Traveller rating
2,040
819
225
99
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,040
819
225
99
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden bungalowour honeymoonfishfrench polynesialuxury overwater bungalowvue barrented a cardinner buffetoutdoor showerbeach bartravel agentlagoon viewbeautiful propertysnorkel geardream come trueentire stayclear water
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 3,247 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

pro's:
+ Magnificent location, truly something special with beautiful view on lagoon and Tahiti, and nice private beach
+ Spacious bungalows, incl. satellite TV, large screen, daily complimentary refill of minibar
+ Service throughout the resort is excellent, everybody very attentive and friendly
+ Breakfast selection is great, and resort restaurants in general of good standard (although some might consider pricy)
+ We did an island tour booked through the hotel with Safari Tours which was awesome, can recommend

con's:
- WIFI didn't work in our bungalow during our stay

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Martijn_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

What a Magnifique comment ! This is an extremely touching comment, which makes the Sofitel team so proud and happy.
We can not have a better reward than so beautiful a comment. The whole team is very delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, very touched and happy that you enjoyed their service, which comes from the heart.
You can be sure that we will take your feedbacksin consideration in order to improve our guests experience: we do our best to improve the wifi, which stay a problem in the islands.
We were very happy to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Spent 4 night in this beautiful resort, our bungalow was in the garden but in first row, just in front of the lagoon and was really perfect: room is big and well furnished, nice bathroom and walk-in closet.

Beach is the top in Moorea, never crowded and with many sun beds available.

What let us a bit down is the buffet restaurant, I think they have to improve a bit in quality as the cost for the bungalow is not cheap at all, fortunately we decided to have dinner in the K Restaurant (in the resort as well), where we found an excellent service and kitchen staff.

If you like diving the service is available as well, but I suggest to contact some of the diving centre in Moorea, they will pick you up at the reception.

Strongly suggested!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Ia orana and Mauruuru as we say in Tahitian, for taking the time of such nice comments and for having stay with us.
The whole team is very delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us !
You can be sure that we will take your feedbacks about Pure restaurant (buffet) in consideration in order to improve our guests experience.
We were very happy to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week as part of our honeymoon to French Polynesia.
We came here straight after landing in Papeete so this was our first taste of the South Pacific - how exciting!
We arrived at 7am and were greeted with the customary flower lei. The check- in process was a little slow and felt a little laboured. After, we were offered a complimentary continental breakfast, which was a nice touch. Our room wasn't ready until 1pm so we spent the morning by the pool (which was very crowded - not many sunbeds available here!).
We had a garden bungalow which was lovely. Only a few steps from the beach, with a nice terrace facing towards the ocean. Inside, a large room with a large comfortable bed, a shower that opens to a backyard and his-and-hers sinks.
The great thing is that you have a free stocked fridge (water, sodas, juices and beer) which gets restocked every day free of charge!! When you see the prices for drinks in French Polynesia you will appreciate this!!
The beach area is very nice, with hammocks and sun beds scattered around. Be aware that because of the location of the Sofitel, the sun disappears at about 4 in the afternoon.
The water is not deep so great for wading in (bring reef shoes!). They have a very nice coral garden just off the beach which makes for some good snorkelling. You can get all the snorkelling gear from the dive centre for your entire stay (we made a lot of use of these and took them on most of our excursions). They also offer free non-motorised water sports, i.e. Kayaks and paddle boards.
They have free roaming chickens around the resort which can get a little annoying at night time, as they can be rather noisy!!!
We had breakfast included in our stay, which is a large buffet every morning with a very good selection of food and drink. For dinner we usually ventured outside (most restaurants on Moorea offer free pick up from hotels). Once we dined at the hotel K restaurant, which was nice. And once we attended the Polynesian night, with a buffet and Polynesian dance show etc.
They have happy hour from 5-6 every day, which makes the cocktails more realistically priced! Don't expect any night life - after dinner, guests simply retrieve to their bungalows.
The hotel is located quite isolated on the east coast of the island, so it is difficult to get to other places. We hired a car one day to explore the island which was nice. I am a keen runner and went out for a run a few mornings. You can head out towards the beach, around the airport, up to the lookout and back down to the hotel, which is about a 6km loop. One afternoon we fancied a walk and headed up north to Lollipop, a little ice cream shop, a round trip of about 5km.
To get to the other hotels/ activity centres can take time - for example to get to the IC (where the dolphin centre is) takes 40mins or so. On the plus side - it's only 5mins to the airport and maybe 10 to the ferry terminal!
Moorea is great to get involved with lots of activities (both on and off the water). We used this week as our active week, and then followed by going to a more relaxed, smaller island after. On Moorea we participated in flyboarding, snorkelling, swimming with whales, a sunset cruise, car hire, a hike from Belvedere point, a jet ski tour. We had organised most of these excursions prior to arriving.
The concierge at the hotel helped us with confirming timings and also making restaurant reservations. I would recommend a trip to the Moorea beach cafe, which is not too far!
I think my main gripe is how commercial the hotel felt at times. After booking our honeymoon through the travel agent, when we arrived at the airport, we were given a voucher booklet by the local travel agency. At the Sofitel we then constantly had to hand them vouchers (it is nice to give us a bottle of champagne for our honeymoon, but the surprise is dampened considerably if you have to hand over a voucher first!). They also advertised we would receive a free Tshirt and pareo. Again, we had to hand in our voucher first! And then the tshirt was an XL size (way too big!) and branded with Sofitel all over. I feel like they made too much of a show of this gift (had they just given it to us, it would have been a nice gesture, but given the whole Spiel around it, it was just a bit overkill for nothing really). I guess I was under the illusion that we would be treated special because we were here on our honeymoon. But of course so are about 60% of the remaining guests - so don't expect any special treatment, it can all feel a little run off the mill.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank londontravelbug2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

A great MAURURU for sharing your experience with us in detail, we are happy that you found your part of paradise at the Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort.
You can be sure that we will take your different remarks in consideration (voucher, etc.) in order to improve our guests experience.
We were very delighted to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Great place to stay about 25mins from the main ferry wharf. 5 star resort in our oppinion! Resort staff very friendly and knowledgeable. We stayed in a luxury beach view bungalow which was no more then 20 steps to the water with an uninterupted view of the overwater bungalows to the right and of main island straight ahead. Room was clean and had everything we needed - king bed, tv, fridge (fully stocked), shower, toilet, and outdoor deck with furniture. WIFI in room a bit hit and miss but worked fine in restaraunt/main areas. 1 main restaraunt open for breakfast, lunch, dinner. Ala Carte restaraunt (K) open a few nights a week for dinner only. Beach bar open all day (pending weather) for drinks only. Main bar open for lunch & dinner. All great places to eat with many different options. 1 large pool. Beach is also very good to swim or snorkel. Concierge available through the day and very knowledgeable. Meals are quite expensive (for what we are used to) so ask for a half board meals inclusive package (breakfast & dinner included). Will def come back!

Room Tip: For best view ask for a premium beach view bungalow.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

What a Magnifique share of experience Craig ! This is an extremely touching comment, which makes the Sofitel team so proud and happy.
We can not have a better reward than so beautiful a comment. The whole team is very delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, very touched and happy that you enjoyed their service, which comes from the heart.
We were very happy to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We spent the 4 last days of our tour in polinesia after bora bora and rangiroa. The hotel is in the best beach of the island. It is the standard luxury place with everything overpriced and nothing around. You need a car to escape for a dinner or asking other overpriced restaurants nearby to send a pick up. They gave us a room equipped for disabled people without asking. If i ll be back to polinesia I will skip Moorea and thia hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank luca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Ia Orana and thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, your feedbacks are very important to us.
Being full at the moment, all the rooms are assigned and we are sorry that your room did not meet your expectations
You can be sure that we will take your feedbacks in consideration in order to improve our guests experience.
We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again ! Maururu !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews