We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will lure ya back to Moorea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We found this resort to have the best location in the entire island. The beach at this resort is excellent and a great place for snorkeling. Our flight from Papeete landed early at 8.30 am, the lobby initially informed us that the check in time is 2pm as they need time to clean up the rooms. However the staff was accommodating enough and we were given possession of our room much earlier at 11am itself. The resort is just few minutes away from the main town of Maharepa and the main dock. The staff at the resort was friendly and courteous, and our garden bungalow at the hotel was nice and spacious.

Got few mosquito bites in the evening sitting at the deck and we also got tired of eating the same food for breakfast, but the breakfast is complimentary so cannot complain much when you compare the costs with other hotels in Bora Bora.

Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,156 of 3,014 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

On a trip that included stays at the Manava Suites Tahiti (2 nights), Sofitel Bora Bora (4), and the marvelous Vahine Island Private Island Resort Taha'a - have posted reviews of each - the Sofitel Moorea was our first four night stop after our one day, two night stop on Tahiti after flying in from LAX.

We chose the Sofitel for three reasons - we like Sofitel in general; as we live in mountainous country - New Mexico, USA, we wanted an unobstructed view of lagoon and ocean; but we didn't want a property that would be over-crowded or with too many attractions for families. So, after looking at a lot of resort maps, we decided to pass on the garden, beach and inner OTW bungalows at other, more centrally located resorts, and opted for a "luxury beach bungalow" at the Sofitel. This faces east, toward the sunrise rather than the sunset but you get the bonus of looking at Tahiti about ten miles or so across the water.

[Side note - while "interviewing" a number of travel agents to find the one with whom we most wanted to work - turned out to be Laurel Samuela of truetahitivaction.com - we eliminated one - based on Tahiti - who told us how he enjoyed going to the Sofitel Moorea to have a drink and watch the sunset. Figured, with the entire island between the resort and the sunset, that would have either been quite a trick - would love to see the mirrors that would take - or perhaps he was more interested in a sale than making sure we - the customers - would have the best experience....]

i share our reasoning because, when we arrived at the Sofitel, we were quite surprised to be led not toward the beach bungalows but into the small maze of OTWs. The staff person took us to an OTW that was completely embedded in a small flock of other OTWs. The view, in fact, from almost everywhere was of the backsides of all the surrounding nearby OTWs! (You could see out into the lagoon from an open space between other OTWs from the lower dock from which you would slide down into the water for a swim.)

We explained this was not what we had booked and politely - but firmly - said "sorry but no." We were invited to relax in the OTW while they found us a room more appropriate to our reservation and desires. The young woman was quite friendly and handled the situation as well as could be done. (A note on the "interns" in a moment.) After a wait of a bit more than an hour - while they no doubt were getting a beach fare (bungalow) cleaned up and ready for occupancy, she returned with a bellman and led us to our bungalow which was exactly what we had paid for in the first place.

As our travel agent lives on Moorea, i was fully prepared to call and get her help with this as indeed we had to do at our next stop on Bora Bora. It wasn't necessary, the Sofitel taking care of it, but we did discuss this with our travel agent trying to figure out what was up with this. On Bora Bora it was no doubt simply a matter of the resort having over-booked (a regular process with airlines and hotels to cover themselves for no-shows and changes in plans on the part of guests). On Moorea, i'm really not so sure about that. Perhaps it was simply wanting to avoid having to get the booked-fare ready in time for the arrival of the guests. Or it could have been wanting to sell the higher-priced fare twice rather than just once. i don't know and it all turned out okay, but the lesson is be sure you know exactly what you booked and be sure also that you get what you paid for and that your travel agent is ready and available to back you up if necessary.

(The young woman who helped us was one of Sofitel's small army of delightful European young people working at the various hotels as part of their college studies in hotel management or related fields. From France, Switzerland, Austria - they were, if not always as knowledgeable as the permanent employees, nevertheless uniformly friendly and quite focused on being sure the guests they served were well cared for and happy in their stay. They were fun and always ready to help - actually a real plus.)

The beach fare, once we got it, was fine. We had the very first one #401 - step off the porch onto the beach, an unobstructed view across the lagoon, over the reef, to Tahiti across the way. It was spacious and clean. My only complaint would be the decorative wood extension at the top of the cabinet behind the bed that separated the living/sleeping quarters from the bathroom and shower behind it. The back side contained drawers, the coffee maker and cabinets. It was very useful. However, at the top was an extension that protruded a couple or three inches or so above eye level (i'm about six feet tall) so you simply didn't see it as you moved forward to use the drawers, cabinets, coffee maker, pick up your loose change, whatever.

After hitting your forehead on it a couple times, you will of course learn to duck or reach farther than you're used to reaching when you use it, but hopefully, having read this, you can avoid all that in the first place. (It's an example imo of people designing something without actually going through the experience of using it - walking through the steps and thinking it through - what if the user of this is actually 6 feet tall instead of 5'6" or less? It's like when the paper towel dispenser is hung up at head height in a bathroom, meaning that most customers have to reach up with wet hands to get a towel - while the water runs down your arms....)

Breakfast, as it was on Bora Bora, was a buffet - very nice - not made to order but you could order up an omelet and the choice was extensive. For us, anything we could want was there. The French tend to avoid over-sweetening and over-spicing foods so everything - from the yogurt - the local made in Tahiti yogurt was quite good - to deserts, it was all quite good.

The dinner buffet wasn't so great - nice selection of options but the food was - well, it was buffet food if that makes sense to you - it was made to be left awhile, selection trumping freshness. Anyway, there were other restaurants on the island and going to them provided a broader experience of Moorea anyway. [Note: the more upscale restaurants will send a car - cab - to your hotel to get you and to return you after dinner. Not all will go all the way to the Sofitel - some other resorts are more centrally located.]

We used the concierge services to rent a car and found that very satisfactory. The AVIS operation is quite near the ferry boat dock - we opted - based on trip advisor customer reviews - to take the fast ferry over from Papaete rather than flying and found it well worth the slight extra cost (we bought air passes for our trip and could have used our air passes to fly over at no extra cost). Arriving at Moorea from the sea is a magnificent sight. The Sofitel is just up the coast a bit from the dock and the car rental is right there.

Driving around the island takes about an hour and is a beautiful trip. And no one should miss getting up to the Belvedere lookout - magnificent. We had a marvelous lunch at the Snack Mahana at our travel agent's (Laurel's) recommendation - in the yard behind the restaurant just at the edge of the very short beach and the water. We had planned to go on an excursion while there but the weather didn't cooperate - the islands, which had been seriously short on rain, got about a week's worth of showers and thunderstorms courtesy of a late season hurricane (guess that would be a typhoon in the Southern Hemisphere but it's the same thing) off New Zealand. We instead visited our travel agent and her famous husband who is the only tattoo artist in the Society Islands who still does tattoos the old, traditional way. The Samuelas have a lovely large bungalow they rent out and it was also a way to see more of the island. In any event, the guest services desk was very helpful throughout our stay.

So - the room (once we actually got it) was comfortable, the bed was fine, the beach was excellent, there's a Padi Dive operation that was actually quite near our fare, there's a spa - and if it's like the one at the sister property on Bora Bora which we actually made use of it's in all likelihood quite nice. The staff is warm and friendly. The room - while not serviced until rather late in the afternoon - was clean and well cared for.

Internet access was by paid-for time card; machines provided, costly and could be somewhat intermittent.

Now, here's the question - would we book here on a future trip? It's not a bad choice - especially if you want to be on the beach or over the water without a view that is blocked at least in part by a pier and OTWs out there. For the criteria we applied to our search, the La Ora Beach Sofitel filled the bill just fine. On our next trip - especially if Moorea was not our final destination (meaning we can't conceive of returning to French Polynesia without ending our visit with a stay at the Vahine Island Private Island Resort, Taha'a -- nor can we conceive of NOT returning to Tahiti etc. as soon and as often as possible), i really think it is more likely that we would choose a garden bungalow at a more centrally located property - perhaps the Hilton or the Pearl resort.

The Sofitel was nice (once we got past the bait and switch greeting tactic) - the view was great - the staff was quite good - if you go there you will enjoy it - not a doubt in my mind. It all depends on what you want. If you do go, i would recommend renting a car - the little Ford product we had was small but big enough; it was peppy, the steering was tight - it was actually fun to drive and the drive around the island - past the stray dogs, the zillion or so roosters and chickens and the one stray pig we saw - was easy and the sight-seeing is great - beautiful island.

i guess the answer is to visit a number of times and work your way around the resorts yourself. The luxury beach bungalow at the Sofitel is very nice and the view is as advertised! Can't imagine NOT liking a stay here but note the comments above

Room Tip: Lux Beach Bung. is a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Sofitel on Moorea after an 11 night cruise with Paul Gauguin.

We did have to wait a bit for check-in, but not bad & we had use of any resort facilities during that time. We had lunch & then were able to get into our room.

We had a garden bungelow. The couple we travelled with had an over the water. Both rooms were beautifully appointed & this gave us the best of both worlds.

Our shower was large and had a great glass door wall to a small garden space. I wish there had been screens on the windows so we could have enjoyed the fresh air instead of the air conditioning. The bungelows are staggered so that everyone has an ocean view, but we really could not enjoy our porch due to biting bugs. This was not a problem on the deck of the over the water.

Initially we did not have all the towel sizes, but this was fixed as soon as we talked to reception.

The snorkeling here was the best we experienced on our entire trip! Lots of great fish in a beautiful setting.

The rooms came with breakfast. The dinner buffet was expensive, but you can order from the menu & control your costs. The pizzas, hamburgers, and quiche are all good & more reasonably priced. Make sure you have the croissants at breakfast!! For some reason, the rest of the bread products are not good. The rooms have refrigerators. If you come by ferry, there is a grocery store about a block to the left as you face the main road. You can stock up on water, snacks, & wine to save by creating your own happy hour! I suggest having the taxi stop there prior to taking you to the hotel. We walked back which is about 2.5 km one way.

We had to vacate the room by noon, but again had full use of the resort until it was time to catch the ferry. There are 2 outdoor showers at the dive shop & 2 nice individual shower rooms in reception. This allowed us to snorkel until 2 pm.

Learn some basic French. It is the language of choice on the islands so if you don't want to be the ugly American make an effort.

Room Tip: #203 over the water = great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2togoNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Moorea is a beautiful place, with some great places to see and things to do. This hotel is well located and the staff are friendly and helpful. Only negative is the food price.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterBarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed at the Sofitel Moorea the week of April 13th to April 17th before departing over to Bora Bora. We stayed in a Luxury over the water Bungalow. The rooms were very spacious and nice - exactly what the pictures and the descriptions were on the resorts webpage.

The room itself was nice, had a king sized bed, separate closet for you to hang your clothes in along with a safe to keep your personal belongings in. The bed itself had a mosquito net around it which I thought personally was for decoration but my husband begs to differ for the following reason. The windows are covered with wood shades that you can crack open for fresh air, but the problem is that the windows do not have any screens or glass on them. So when you crack the shades open, your opening up your room to the fresh air along with all the bugs that are outside your room. What we did notice was that the rooms that are a category lower that ours actually had glass over their windows - didn't quite understand that. We had the air conditioning cranked up all the way and had to make sure that the wood shades were closed at all times in order to avoid losing the coolness of our room - which frankly was never an issue. The rooms overall were very nice, but if we revisited again, we may stay in a category lower or possibly in a beach bungalow since we have experienced the over the water bungalow once already.

We loved the fact that we had our own private deck where we could sunbathe and swim instead of going to the beach all the time. We were able to snorkel off the room where there were lots of beautiful fish all the time. There were even sting rays in the area - so beware if you go in the water off your room or at the beach itself that they are around.

The spa was very nice, we both went and got massages, which were quite comparable to other resorts we have stayed at before. We had breakfast included daily in our stay which was the standard American breakfast, fresh omelet’s, fruit, cereal, breads, etc. The chocolate croissants are to die for! We only ate dinner once at the resort, which was very overpriced. You can get great quality food out of the resort for less money, most restaurants offer free pickup as well. Ask the excursion desk for recommendations of restaurants, they were always very friendly!

Overall our stay in Moorea at the Sofitel was exactly what we wanted. We wish we would have stayed in Moorea a bit longer as it had so much more to offer than Bora Bora. Being able to explore outside the resort and try the local cuisine was everything that we could have asked for.

During our stay at this hotel, we also rented a car through Avis (they pick you up at the hotel). It’s cheaper to rent a car on your own for 5 hours than to get a taxi to come pick you up. We rented a car for half a day, drove around the complete island (I think it was 40 miles all the way around?) and were able to stop and see the scenery, the sunset, etc. The cost was around $90.00 (USD) for 5 hours.

One thing I will make note of, make sure you have some basic French speaking skills. Mostly everyone on the island speaks French (along with English too) but it helps if you know a little bit more of the island language to help you get around, etc.

Also, apparently it’s not customary to tip at restaurants, etc. They don't expect it, which we learned from someone while on our trip. We talked to others as well who said the same, just something to keep in mind when visiting the island.

FYI... we got an internet card to contact those at home and the rates are incredibly high. Its approximately $11.00 (USD) for an hour and the internet is constantly down on the whole island. If you plan to bring your laptop for internet - be aware of the high rates.

Great trip - great resort. Would definitely stay here again! (Miss it already!)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jenny311_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
4.7 km away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
19.6 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
14.2 km away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
303 reviews
15.9 km away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
727 reviews
8.6 km away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range: €298 - €522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort Maharepa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing